We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Basic, decent value for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Pittsfield B&B and Inns
Milton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic, decent value for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

When I entered & found my name & room number tacked to the front counter, I thought, "how quaint!" The rooms are basically like dorm rooms. It had a tiny bathroom, stand up shower, no extra luggage space and well worn beds. The owners and staff were very friendly, and it was as though they opened their home to their guests. Service was impeccable. I didn't expect "housekeeping" service, but we came back to find the beds made & room tidied. Dinner was just ok, but breakfast was delicious. For the price, it was definitely sufficient for a place to crash for a night or two; it was not a picturesque, luxurious B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KScottboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I'm not a skier and I don't like the cold but I will be the first one packed when we head to the Swiss Farm Inn in Vermont again. Cozy rooms, crackling fire in the dining room, plenty of books and board games on hand and charming conversations with the owners (and their children) made my stay an absolute delight. "Home of the World's Best Breakfast" the huge sign in front of the Inn boasts...and they did not disappoint! Stuffed French Toast, Homemade Hash and Outrageous Omelettes, just to name a few. I've never written an online review before but this place is special - it captures the heart of Vermont and it's people. Thank you Swiss Farm Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family enjoyed another wonderful experience at the Swiss Farm Inn. The innkeepers, Roger and Joyce are warm and welcoming and make each and every guest feel special. They must really love their work, because they are so good at making certain their guests feel cared for. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate and the food is surprisingly wonderful. The inn is known throughout New England for their sumputous breakfasts, and even my finicky children remarked about how much they enjoyed the food (dinners as well as breakfasts). I would recommend this gem for anyone visiting the Killington area.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms with Queen beds and we always request one, but our kids like the rooms with twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is the place for warm hospitality and very good food. The owners are friendly. The shower was awesome in the room. The rooms are spartan however but the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fogerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We love b&b's and this was a disappointment. We were shown our room and wanted to cry. So tiny our luggage could barely fit. Zero climate control in the rooms, we had to sleep with the window open and it was in the 30's to keep it feeling decent in our room. Beds are old and like marshmallows. The bathroom is ridiculously tiny and run down. The sink was broken, the faucets didn't turn off all the way, there was cobwebs around the ceiling. There was no place to sit my flattening iron or toiletries and the trash was not taken out. We had one tiny trash basket located in the bathroom, and we then had to make our own trash sack for the rest of our stay. Totally bare bones accommodations in every way. When I asked to see other rooms and about their availability the innkeeper acted offended, then was unfriendly to us the rest of our stay. Unfortunately we were stuck here for 2 days for a wedding in Pittsfield. The wifi did not at all work because our room was too far away from their modem. The breakfast was mediocre at best, and we weren't given a lot of healthy options. When we ordered our breakfast without sausage and potatoes we then heard our waitress making fun of us to the person in the kitchen that we "didn't want this and that, any of the good stuff, and we needed fruit instead." It was if we had asked too much. Ridiculous. Fruit was substituted both mornings for us instead of home fries and for that we were grateful. The other male innkeeper was using profanity in the dining room to a local on our first morning which we found tacky and unprofessional...especially if there had been kids around. There was a strange unpleasant smell that lingered in the hallway to our room that we couldn't quite figure out. The walls were paper thin in the rooms and you could hear everything in the hall. All in all we simply were not impressed, at all. Worst B&B we have ever encountered. The only positive thing I can say is that the room was clean except for the cobwebs in the bathroom. The female innkeeper, Joyce, was short with me as we were loading to leave, asking me if she had our credit card info for any incidentals. I advised her we were only loading the car and my husband would be happy to give it to her before we left....as if there was anything to charge us for??
Basically I think we offended her by asking for another room available (because we were the only ones there when we checked in)upon check in b/c we were stuck in a room with a twin bed and a small full bed and I was hoping for at least a queen. Come to find out there is only one queen bed in the whole place!! Grumpy people, old basic, tiny, hot, boring, rundown rooms, ok breakfast. No fun.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dryfly412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsfield
25.1 km away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
14.4 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
8.5 km away
The Trailside Inn
The Trailside Inn
#1 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#3 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
12.7 km away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#12 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 km away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Farm Inn

Property: Swiss Farm Inn
Address: 4441 Route 100, Pittsfield, VT 05762-9785
Region: United States > Vermont > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,624 - ₹ 11,633
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Farm Hotel Pittsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing