We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
DSC02096
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DSC02096
1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
DSC02096
1
DSC03006
DSC03845
DSC00670
DSCN3735
DSC00756
DSC00753
DSC03844
DSC02615
DSC03168
DSC03360
DSC03521
DSC03834
DSC02594
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Moretown, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful time at this amazing cottage. Mela and Kevin were the friendliest hosts and their cottage on 5 acres of land is like out of a dream. Close to main towns like Waterbury, Stowe and Montpelier, we would go to hang out at restaurants but found ourselves rushing back to the peacefulness of their cottage. Perfect for star gazing, swimming in the pond and just relaxing the day away. We will definitely be coming back over and over again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndasue...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A peace oasis”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautiful cottage is situated in the green mountains of Vermont about 10 miles from Montpelier. The cottage has all the amenities one could want in a compact little cottage. My adult daughter and I just spent a week at the cottage. Unfortunately we were there during the biggest heat wave ever so where we might have stayed around the cottage more, we opted for driving in the countryside to a) have the wind blow on us and b) see the sights. Neither of us is a strong swimmer so since the pond was 10 feet deep we chose not to try it which was unfortunate as I'm sure it would be lovely to swim in. My daughter thought she'd be able to sleep in the loft but after one night up there opted to sleep on the futon in the living area as it was a little claustrophobic for her. I'm sure that children would do well up there though. We appreciated that our hosts, Mela and Kevin, were friendly and helpful but not "in your face". We were able to find them when we needed them and they were most accommodating. Kevin built the cottage and we were taken by all the little touches he included when designing it. It is a very airy, comfortable cottage. Although there was Wi-Fi, it was spotty at times; at other times it was great. But...you are in the mountains so I was pleased we had it at all. There is also a wonderful general store-restaurant a couple of miles from the cottage. We talked to the chipmunks, hummingbirds and other birds every morning. Very peaceful. Oh, and another fun thing...you have to drive through 3 covered bridges to get there. Oh Vermont, how I love you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The beds were not very comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cabin itself and seclusion Mela and Kevin provide.
Liked least: Not able to use jets in the hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hutch1970...
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Set next to the main house in 5 acres this is lovely, quiet place with loft for kids to sleep in. The cottage is well equipped and you can borrow snow shoes / sledges from the hosts. Monpelier is 20 mins drive - but be aware in the winter / early spring the back roads are sloppy and a 4 wheel rental car is advisable.
We would stop again at any time of year - it's confortable, warm and great value.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuvFoodnF...
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Perfect Cabin in a Perfect place.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you truthfully want to get away but still would like modern amenities, you must consider this cabin. My husband and I just stayed here and already miss it's quaint and welcoming atmosphere. Kevin and Mela have built the perfect cabin in the perfect place. Close enough to Montpelier,Waterbury and Stowe but far enough away to enjoy all nature has to offer. Kevin & Mela are there if you need them but you truthfully feel like it's your own cabin to enjoy.
Thanks so much for building such a Perfect little cabin.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Patrick and his sife very much seemed to like our custom-designed Guest Cottage with attention to artistic details. The serenity, beauty and quiet of the surrounding countryside was very much appreciated. They seemed to thoroughly enjoy their stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing