We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much more...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be so much more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We've been to Betsy's twice, once a couple of years ago and returned for a recent trip. We weren't bowled over on the first trip and tried to find another place, but it was the only available B+B in our price range...we had found it perfectly serviceable, but lacking in warmth and the breakfast was just so so. This time around, Betsy and her family and staff seemed friendlier, the breakfast was again, serviceable but nothing special, but the cleanliness had gone a bit downhill...the porch was dirty and hosted an overflowing ashtray, the sitting room was home to a recycling bin of Coors Lights (at least they're recycling!) and the towels smelled musty. That being said, it is a lovely house in a great location for exploring downtown Montpelier. We were comfortable and liked our room...it just seems like the B+B could be a lot better with a little more effort and that's kind of a shame.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
45
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We almost avoided this place because of the reviews but in reality found it to be perfect for what we needed, arriving in town in the late evening. Our room was spotlessly clean with a big comfortable bed. Terrific experience for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the house next to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffyduck75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Betsy's for 3 weeks while working in the area. She has some fully furnished apartments next to the B&B that she rents out for short term (i.e. month to month). Sounded perfect, but not to be! The Apt. was dirty when we moved in! The bedroom carpet was filthy, I would not even walk on it barefoot. There was a whole drawer full of personal toiletries from the last tenant left in the bathroom, as well as a bunch of black hair on the floor. There were dirty linens left in the bedroom closet. The Kitchen was dirty, and disgustingly enough, we found dirty dishes in the cupboards -- apparently the previous tenant did not turn the dishwasher on, and the housekeeper just unloaded it without noticing? Anyway, we had to wash all the dishes before cooking or eating anything. The refrigerator was dirty and still had some items in it from the previous tenant, as well as some in the cupboards. I had to wash down all the cupboards, too. It was a reasonable price for a decent apt, but this was not a decent apt! the stairs were also filthy, and when we mentioned it to Betsy, she didn't do a thing about it. The basement where the washing machine is was disgustingly filthy, too, with a million cobwebs in the rafters right above your head and hadn't been cleaning in who knows how long. I realize this is an old building, but that doesn't have anything to do with cleanliness. We won't even talk about the mouse that ran through one night and ran up the curtain.....at least it entertained the dog. I would not recommend this place to anyone regardless of price, even though it was in a good location. It is also very small for a couple, and not a good setup for business.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpelier hotels

Montreal QC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Neither great nor totally awful. One arrives and there is an inviting porch. The illusion stops there. The porch floor has not been mopped for a long time, the chair cushions are filthy, and, yuk, there is an ashtray that has not been emptied for days? weeks? months? All of Vermont hotels are non-smoking (a big plus for a non-smoker such as me), so why do I want my outdoor air polluted? Overall, everything is just neglected--the service, the decor, etc. The breakfast is fine and the other guests were lovely. In fact, the highlight was our fellow travellers and not the lodging. Doors are left unlocked--not reassuring, even in Montpelier. Betsy's lacks love and warmth. The welcome is lukewarm--reflecting the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Nothing special. This is not your typical B&B. The owner is not really around and there to talk to you, which might be fine for some. The decor is really dated and it did not feel all that clean. Staff is really nice. Breakfast was also nice with good coffee. Comfortable enough, but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jml41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 km away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.8 km away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
17.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
0.5 km away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 E State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3112
Region: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,730 - ₹ 9,891
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features victorian furniture and home-cooked breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Betsy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy`s Hotel Montpelier
Betsy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing