We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
984
37
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
984
37
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jay peak the main house hot tub northern vermont bed and breakfast phineas swan carriage house trout river dog bed northeast kingdom cookies every morning delicious breakfast living room french toast owners and staff charming b b
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Our stay at The Phineas Swann Bed & Breakfast Inn was everything we were hoping for and then some. Our hosts were wonderful - very welcoming and warm. Our suite was very spacious and had enough space for four of us. The beds were comfy and there was nothing we were wanting for. There was even a cozy dog bed left for our golden retriever! Our breakfasts were the best we have ever had - seriously delicious breakfasts! Our hosts helped us navigate eating dinner out and arranging our daily activities at Jay Peak. We even needed to purchase a winter coat for our son and they called ahead to the ski apparel store. We had crisp daily hikes with our dog who was thrilled to be there. It was an excellent visit and we highly recommend staying here!

Room tip: If you are bringing the whole family and your pup we recommend the Bulldog Suite.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolynjmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DarrenD767, Owner at Phineas Swann Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Thank you for all the kind words about your stay. We're so glad the four of you, plus your four-legged family member, found plenty of room to spread out. It's no big deal for us to help you out with finding a store for emergencies or the perfect walking trail for you and your golden -- helping guests is part of our daily routine here, and in our opinion is part of what makes a stay at the Phineas more special than staying anywhere else! Thrilled you enjoyed your breakfasts here at the Phineas and your dinners at our many wonderful local restaurants. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

Absolutely loved our stay at Phineas, I think maybe the best BnB experience we've had. Family of four, stayed in the Bulldog suite, plenty of room for us all to spread out as well as be together. Loved the fireplace, the hot tub, the general ambiance and friendliness, the hiking trails out back, and of course the proximity to the mountain -- but the beds stood out, they were more comfy than our beds at home, which is saying something! Have never slept so well in a hotel. Hosts were just lovely, and there are even some restaurants and a spa in walking distance. Recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 644pippaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DarrenD767, Owner at Phineas Swann Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

We love, love, love it when so many of our guests tell us they never sleep well when on vacation at a hotel or resort -- and then they rave that our beds gave them the best night sleep they've had in years! Thanks so much for the compliments. We're glad every part of your experience was memorable and joyous. We hope we get to see you again soon so we can repeat the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

Just returned from a two-night getaway to celebrate my hubbies’ birthday. Very sweet, kind hosts, comfy beds. Mascot Maple (Yorkshire terrier) was fun and lovable. Visited VT salt cave (great!), hiked a bit, talked with locals, enjoyed it all. Family friendly and nice for couples too. Highly recommend. Oh, and breakfast was great. Easy to recommend to others.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FedeVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DarrenD767, Owner at Phineas Swann Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thanks so much for your great review, and thanks for letting us be part of your husband's birthday. Maple says she loved playing with you. You're not the first to mistake her for a Yorkie, because she's a tiny, tiny Shitzu, We're glad you enjoyed breakfast as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Great place, extremely clean, wonderful hosts. Very cozy, homey place and very cute while still top notch accommodations. As a seasoned traveler, my expectations are high. The Phineas Swann met all of them. Highly recommend the Terrier Suite. Would definitely come and stay again for a long weekend.

Room tip: Recommend the Terrier Suite - not in the main house so more private but still close to run over for breakfast.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katarina1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DarrenD767, Owner at Phineas Swann Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

We're thrilled experienced travelers find the Phineas Swann such a great place to stay. Glad we met and exceeded your expectations and you created such great memories here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

My husband and I along with another couple recently stayed in the Green Mountain Suite over the long MLK weekend for a ski trip to Jay Peak. Phineas Swann is a wonderful place to stay - the room was spacious and clean, the beds feel like you are sleeping on a cloud, there is an amazing breakfast awaiting you each morning (and a staff and kitchen accommodating to all diets) all supported by the most pleasant, friendly hosts/owners Darren and Lynne. All while offering convenient access to Jay Peak (~15m drive) and some great restaurants right in Montgomery.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DarrenD767, Owner at Phineas Swann Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

What can we say other than thank you! We appreciate that you enjoyed your spacious Green Mountain Suite, as well as our breakfasts and hospitality. We hope we get to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews