We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Simsbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B,friendly,welcoming and clean. Our beds were comfortable, our doggie was comfortable too.
Jenny allowed a late checkout which was appreciated and helpful.

I would recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
158
545
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My fiancé packed up the car and our "dog-ter" and whisked us away to the tiny, charming town of Montgomery Center, VT. His first reason for choosing the Phineas Swann B&B was because they allowed pets. His decision was easily made as he spoke with Jay and Jenny on the phone. They offered so many ideas and were so wonderful in planning every detail of my surprise; even taking into account some of my picky eating...Driving north from Connecticut (a beautiful drive where the mountains keep getting bigger) we got to stop at Ben & Jerry's about an hour and a half before pulling into the B&B. The beautiful Victorian home right on main street draws you in. We were welcomed by Jenny, who seemed to already know us, and the resident pups. The place is just as perfect as you can imagine. Warm and inviting, the thousands of dog antiques and collectibles were carefully decorated throughout the house, so many things to take in. The common area was filled with treats, baked goods, soda, etc…Anything you may crave. There were puzzles, board games and books; all of those fun little things you never find time for at home. Jenny suggested that we stay in the River House-It was so special: Set behind the carriage house, it is another antique home with an apartment on the first floor and one on the second floor. We were happy on the first floor as our dog hates stairs. It was the same charming decor and it had its own living room, bathroom and full kitchen. Our dog had a bed with a huge bone awaiting her. The real surprise was the big deck outside that’s just steps away from the beautiful Trout river. The babbling of the river was so relaxing!! There was even a fire pit, where we later had wine and star-gazed. We were there in April and it was 65-70 during the day, although Jay Peak ski resort (10 minutes away) was still running. The serenity of the town made you feel so relaxed and disconnected (no cell phone service)-it was great to just breathe. There are nice areas to explore and walk your dog. For dinner the first night, we strolled across the street to Bernie’s. Don't let the outside fool you! There is more room in the back and the food was wonderful (they had homemade mushroom soup our night!) we ordered the swordfish and chicken marsala...Breakfast, the next morning, hosted and made by the wonderful Emmie and Karen was amazing with local blueberry pancakes and veggie bacon for me and the real stuff for the fiancé. He had planned a photography tour for that morning; this was done by a local man, Keith who knew all of the hidden nooks, crannies, covered bridges and waterfalls, giving a perfect opportunity to take some natural pictures. He was great and would stop for anything…I would see something while we were driving and he would put it in reverse and go right back to it…if even just a street sign. We had a blast with him. Later, we found out that we could’ve taken our dog, but she got to rest in her suite and Jenny took her for a walk while we were out. My next surprise was for dinner…We walked to the main house to get directions (or so I thought)…The table was all set with candles and the works. We had the private chef’s dinner!! Jenny was our private chef and she helped my fiancé pick out a perfect menu!! Yum yum yum! We finished the meal with the most amazing chocolate lava cake ever!! We got to talk with Jenny and had the whole place to ourselves (they only do one private dinner per night) So many thanks to Jenny!!! The owners, John and Jay were out of town and she and the girls did a fantastic job of making everything perfect. The next day, after another spectacular breakfast, we drove up to the base of Jay Peak. There is a gondola that hangs from a tiny cable that takes you to the top for some amazing views (we assume)…Our fear of heights kept us on the ground, but we spoke with some brave souls that took the trip. It would be breathtaking in the Fall. The Phineas Swann was such a hidden treasure…We highly recommend it to anyone looking to reconnect, unwind and get spoiled…We can’t wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The separate house was great, right on the river...We had a couple staying in the upstairs and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We chose to have our wedding here, due in part to the location and the reviews on Trip Advisor. We couldnt have asked for a better place to have had our ceremony. Months before getting to the Inn Jay was extremely helpful in making our arrangements. From getting us Betty, the Officiant, to Jenny coming up with a wonderful dinner of crab cakes, to getting us in touch with a great photographer, to accomodating our dog with her own bed. We held our wedding in the gazebo which provided a romatic setting as well as the walk down the deck lined with vines. We spent time in the hot tub alone and everyone seems to respect your alone time while using it. You wll never go hungry here. The breakfasts are filling and if you still crave more, you will find plenty of snacks and drinks, both in your room and in the main common room. If something doesnt meet your standards just mention it to anyone on staff and they are more then willing to accomodate you. Jay and John but all their efforts into making this a wondeful stay for everyone. You will feel as though you are the only one there being catered too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Preston, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We decided on a last minute Easter weekend get away. Considering it was last minute and Easter we knew it would be nigh impossible to get someone to watch our 2 dogs for us. So we decided to google "pet friendly bed and breakfast new england" and as luck would have it the Phineas Swann was the first to come up. This is not a place that tolerates dogs; they celebrate them. We took the first floor of the River house and we found: dog beds, dog treats, dog dishes, dog tie outs, gates, etc. They were happy (for a modest fee) to dog sit an entire day while we went out and about. Dogs were allowed on the couch and bed with us and do everything that they would at home to help us relax. Wonderful experience.

The breakfast every morning was wonderful. It was a small crowd for Easter weekend and were able to accommodate any requests we had, including an Easter breakfast that included meals for my visiting brother and sister-in-law. Everybody there went completely out of their way to help us find things to do and places to see.

We're very happy to have found the Phineas Swann and are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the end of March and can't say enough good things about it. Clean, extremely well thought out, totally comfortable, amazing breakfasts, and so over-the-top charming we felt like we had stepped into a storybook. Jay and John spared no expense decking the place out in gorgeous antiques and luxurious appointments...you'll never want to leave. A TRUE 5-star experience; you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Lower room in the River House was spacious with a full-kitchen, direct access to the river and an ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
10.7 km away
Jay Peak Resort
10.6 km away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
25.4 km away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Auberge des Appalaches
25.2 km away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
15.6 km away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Region: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,112 - ₹ 20,669
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing