We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Weekend getaway! The perfect place to get away from it all"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Red Clover is a little off the path but well worth the drive . Quinton Tyler(inn keeper) and the wonderfull staff ,@The Red Clover Inn treated us like family ,from the time we arrived.
Dinner was absolutly mouthgasmic ,Thanks to chief Dennis and crew. and the Best johnnie black around. ,We retiered to our room were there was a bottle of wine, jeted hot tub ,fire place and four post king sizes playground need i say moore ...................Thanks again Red Clover Inn .

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! ,and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

I really struggled with how to rate the Red Clover. As you'll see, it gets rave reviews here on Trip Advisor. And we had a positive enough experience -- friendly, helpful staff and a pleasant room with a comfortable bed. But therein lies the problem. That's a baseline expectation for a B&B in this class. For us personally, we did not experience anything exceptional that left us with the same wow-factor we've had in other inns at this price point. Let me elaborate...

* Lack of "Homey" Touches. An inn without a plate of fresh-baked cookies set out for guests?? Disappointing. Not only do most inns have this, but they also have a bowl of fresh fruit either in your room or in the kitchen. Here, the kitchen is off-limits to guests. So there isn't bottled water to help yourself to each day (beyond the two they put in your room) and if you need milk or anything for the tea/coffee from the machine, you're out of luck. There are plush bathrobes in the rooms, which is good, but I wasn't a fan of the auto-dispenser for soap/shampoo/conditioner in the shower. I get that it's more eco-friendly, but the lack of individual soaps, etc. left me feeling as though I were in a $100 room in a national park instead of a $200+ room in an upscale B&B.

* Average Breakfast. Nothing earth-shattering to report from the breakfast menu. It is a hot breakfast cooked to order versus a continental, but again, other inns are doing more than just the standard omelets and waffles. We've seen fresh squeezed oj, "cottage cakes", a smoothie opener. Here, the serve yourself juice and coffee always seemed to be running low, the eggs were a bit overdone and the home fries were actually not hot at all. The staff seemed super harried, which I'm not sure I understood given there were only about 5 tables occupied. It looked like there were pastries, but they were tucked back in a corner jammed up against a 4-top table-- so they weren't exactly easy to get to.

* Charm/Quaintness Factor Lacking. I don't think there's too much the owners could do here. Normally, we don't care so much about an inn's "parlor" or common area, as we're always out and about doing things. But the ski conditions over New Year's were lousy, so we actually wanted to spend time at the inn and found ourselves contemplating other options instead. There is a "reading" room, which is really a small sunporch type of room that had one small settee and didn't appeal at all. The other area by the fireplace only has two couches and it's actually part of the restaurant's dining room, which really takes up the bulk of the inn's common space. Oh, speaking of the restaurant...

We did enjoy the New Year's Eve package here. The restaurant has an ambitious, creative menu and it was, again, nice and points should be given for that creativity. But the execution didn't always come together as well - but it's possible that it may have been because it was a price fixe and a busy holiday night. The filet and the duck in course 4 were definitely the standouts--cooked perfectly. I just don't feel that we could rave about it like the multi-course dinner we had down at the Reluctant Panther in Manchester last year. However, we don't know much about the Killington/Rutland dining scene, so I could see how perhaps this is viewed as "the" spot for dinner. You just have to put it in perspective. Is it 5 star food for that area alone or 5 star food based on all your collective dining experiences?

One final comment: the upstairs hallway of the inn had a foul odor. Thank goodness it wasn't in our bedroom because it actually smelled like sewage. We weren't the only ones who noticed it either because another group commented on it as well.

While my comments might seem overly critical, I feel they are justified given this inn's price point. If you're out all day and want to stay somewhere other than a hotel, the Red Clover is certainly fine. But if you've stayed at inns like the Inn at Manchester or Wyndham Hill down in Southern Vt and plan to spend a lot of time on-site, I just can't recommend it as an actual destination. Some of these inns are doing such a fantastic job with "little extras" that I think we have become spoiled. Sorry!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank mainliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Manager at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to The Red Clover Inn and your helpful feedback. We want you to know we were able to quickly resolve the concerns you pointed out, and we will continue to make improvements as we go forward. Thanks again for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Everything was perfect! Would highly recommend to all. Thanks to Quentin for a wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRedCloverInn, Public Relations Manager at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I trusted the other reviews on TripAdvisor when selecting the Red Clover Inn (and their website is pretty nice itself) and it was the best decision! We arrived after a 6 hour drive from PA and were immediately welcomed to the Inn. Even though we had booked the Maggie, the Innkeepers kindly offered to let us choose from the Lydia (same price point) or one of the other available rooms right there. We opted for the Lydia in the Carriage House, which had a cute downstairs sitting room and lofted bedroom and faced more of the woods. Since we were in need of ski rentals for the next day, we asked for recommendations and believe me, they were full of them! They recommended where to find rentals, great restaurants in the area (check out the Long Trail Brewery!), and were just generally friendly and helpful. Also, I'm pretty sure over the course of our 4 day/3 night stay we didn't have the same innkeeper twice--but every single person we dealt with was top notch. Breakfast was included, and the servings were huge--a great way to gear up for a day of skiing and snowboarding. After coming back from the mountain, it was a real treat to hop in the hot tub and enjoy a quiet sunset in the woods. As I know has been noted here elsewhere, the restaurant at the Inn is fantastic as well. Make sure you eat there at least once during your stay. I can't say enough good things about this place, and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Coming up from CT, we arrived late on Friday after 5 hour rainy drive only to be greeted with wine, friendly conversation and assistance with our luggage. It set the tone for the exceptional level of quality we experienced throughout the weekend. If you have an appreciation for food, as we do, then don't even bother making reservations anywhere else. Breakfast was decadent, hearty, delicious and truly unique (Grand Marnier French Toast day 1, Banana-nut Pancakes day 2 with a variety of fresh fruits, pastries, etc.) Dinner... the Portuguese Steak (sans egg) ranked in my all-time top 5 steaks and rivals some of the best you'll find NYC, LA and Chicago. Complementing the main course were fresh, locally grown vegetables and diversified wine list. Can't wait to go back this winter! The staff made our weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muri32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
1.5 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
9.9 km away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
4.4 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.7 km away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
222 reviews
7.9 km away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Address: 7 Woodward Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range: ₹ 8,795 - ₹ 17,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Clover Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports' enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and an award winning wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you'd never guess the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you'll find the Red Clover Inn as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing