We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if you're on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casablanca Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good if you're on a budget”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you're looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Manchester, Casablanca is fine. It's close to downtown, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable enough, the owner was very friendly and the grounds were well cared for. Our rooms were dated and the bathrooms were small (we had a double unit), but overall our stay was acceptable for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We're glad you found us reasonably priced and you were able to take advantage of our Green Mountain Suite which offers two rooms. This cabin is great for families with one queen and two twin beds separated by an adjoining door

We have only the one double-room cabin so it is in great demand much of the time. When we think about combining the two small bathrooms into one larger one, we are reminded that the two bathrooms are appreciated by folks who like having a little more privacy. Sometimes the Green Mountain Suite is used for four adults and the two bathrooms are greatly appreciated.

The single-room cabins are the same size as some mid-range hotels/motels although they do look small from the outside. We never tire of the reaction we get when a guest opens the door to their cabin and are surprised by the size and comfortable atmosphere of their own private cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    47
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
99
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have stayed here 5 times over the last couple of years, and couldnot find a better location that is truly pet friendly. The owners are great, and the cottages are neat and clean. Best of all is the room to play with your dog.


When we come to Manchester, the Casablanca is the only place for us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donj2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We are always happy to welcome returning guests and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Returning guests often have a favorite cabin that they call their home-away-from-home and we're glad we can be that for you.

We have three acres of former farmland to be enjoyed by our guests. We are always updating our grounds and gardens and offer lawn games for the warm, get-outside months of the year.

Check us out, we're close to everything from outlet shopping to ski/snowboard areas. Long country drives or hikes await you when you come to the Casablanca Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I really loved this place. They gave us a blanket for the dog (yes, she sleepson the bed), a towel to wipe her feet and local, organic dog biscuits. You get the picture, even Roxy felt welcomed. This little place is not fancy. When the current owners updated the didn't make major changes. The rooms are small, but each has a fridge and microwave. Each cabin has a unique theme and is brightly painted with a small sitting porch. Service is casual (we had to ask for shampoo) but accommodating. The grounds are very nice with a hiking trail at the rear of the property. Outdoor grills and a play area with a gazebo would make this a great spot for a family reunion. The Casablanca is very inexpensive in a pricey area making it an excellent value.

Room Tip: The Only cabin that looked too exposed to road noise and lights was the one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carryon247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We’re so glad this guest enjoyed her stay with us. We feel the cabins are an extension of our home and we want our guests to feel welcomed, relaxed and comfortable.

While we hope that all dogs would stay off the furniture, we know many dogs (and their people) cannot resist cuddling up to each other on our beds. When we are made aware of this, we are happy to provide a large blanket to cover our bedspreads in effort to keep the bedding clean and fresh, so you’d never know there was ever a dog in that room.

Our environmentally sensitive amenities are travel sized and do include a small bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo. We’re not sure why this guest needed to ask for shampoo, perhaps it was an oversight on our part. At the Casablanca, we strive to anticipate and accommodate your needs while here.

We welcome you to a casual, comfortable country atmosphere where you will enjoy the privacy of your own single or double-room cabin. As this guest mentioned, we are a great place to hold your next family or friends’ reunion or hold a small, intimate outdoor ceremony. We offer a screened gazebo (with lights, WIFI and electrical outlets), three acres of open land, lawn games, gardens, charcoal grills and more. Think back to a simpler time and come share what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Considering the cost of other accommodations in the area, this place is great, for the price.

Pros: grounds are nice, would be great for summertime family fun. Inn keepers are nice and friendly. Heaters in rooms work well.

Cons: "Cottages" are really just painted-up cabins and they are very small; decor is tacky. Rooms look like they were furnished with garage sale finds. Beds are just OK; no extra pillows or blankets. Bathrooms are tiny, cramped, with very old fixtures. Bath linens are old, small and of poor quality. Toiletries meager.

But, here's the thing, we were there to see the countryside. We were on a budget. We did not want to dump a lot of money on luxury accommodations. We just wanted a place to sleep, because we planned to be up early and out of our rooms, enjoying Southern Vermont. Our "cottages" were warm, dry, and safe. We spent the days touring the area, seeing the sites and enjoying great restaurants.

Try Backroads Discovery tours, we had an excellent time!! There is so much to see and learn!
Also, Jonathan's Table is a wonderful little restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Travelers, please note that this guest said the Casablanca Motel was "great for the price". She went on to say she was "on a budget" and did not want to "dump a lot of money on luxury accommodations". Although her rating choices are not what we'd like to see (we strive for all 5"s!), we did seem to meet her needs of a budget friendly,comfortable but not luxurious, place to sleep where she felt warm, dry and safe.

This guest must not have visited our website or seen any of our advertising prior to arriving where we clearly state that we are a cabin property offering uniquely themed single and double-room cabins. Each private cabin is complete with full bath, in-room coffee & maker, small fridge, microwave oven, individually controlled heat/ac, DirecTV and more. Our cabins offer different bed arrangements such as king, queen or two double beds and are decorated in honor of something unique to the Southern Vermont area. Requests for certain cabins are gratefully accepted and we will do our best to give you your first choice in rooms. All of our rooms/themes can be viewed by visiting our website. We invite you to take a look.

Our bathroom linens are standard sized and in my opinion, thicker and more absorbant than some of the chain hotels/motels I've stayed at recently. Our bathroom amenities are travel sized in effort to conserve and produce less waste from guest who might use them only once. These amenities are environmentally safe and believe it or not, once used, are sent to a facility (at our expense) that sterilizes and repackages them for distribution to homeless shelters in the U.S. and to third-world countries to help combat the spread of deadly diseases. All amenities are replenished each day so you will always have enough for the length of your stay. Your comfort while here is important to us. Should you be in need of more soap, shampoo or even extra pillows and blankets, all you need to do is ask.

Please notice that we are open year-round and this guest enjoyed the individually controlled heater in her room. Should the weather be warm, we also offer individually controlled air conditioners or simply open one of the two windows in your cabin for some fresh country air. She also noted that our grounds "would be great for summertime family fun". While we prefer to address any problems or issues while you are here (when we can do something about them), we appreciate the feedback and this guests opinions. Check us out for yourself. Once you are here we think you'll enjoy the privacy and comfort of your very own cabin. We'll even be happy to make suggestions on favorite restaurants or local drives or tours you might enjoy. We're pleased this guest enjoyed our suggestions too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Casablanca Motel. The proprietor was very friendly. We stayed in the Manchester cabin with our 1-year old Chihauhau mix, who received organic treats upon arrival! The room was very clean and nicely-decorated. The king size bed was comfortable. My mother had stayed at the Equinox the weekend prior, and though the two properties are very different, one thing she noted is that we had a large refrigerator and she didn't! That helps when you don't want to eat out at every meal or if you have leftovers (there's a microwave, too). My only complaint (and it's very minor) is that they mention fresh New England coffee, which I thought meant that they make it on the premises and offer it to guests, but it was really just an in-room coffee pot with one of those filter bags. But otherwise, the experience was great and we'll be staying at the Casablanca again on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
560 reviews
3.1 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
261 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
226 reviews
3.4 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
2.7 km away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Motel

Property: Casablanca Motel
Address: 5927 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,868 - ₹ 9,459
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From Main Street to the Mountains, A Simpler Way to Stay" Yankee Magazine calls the Casablanca Motel "Vermont's Best Retro Escape". What's the secret? Ten charming, restored cabins offering a vintage vibe with modern amenities, friendly innkeepers, and realistic rates , recalling the hey-day of American Travel. Whether seeking adventure, exploring the arts or looking to relax in the heart of the Green Mountains, the Casablanca Motel has it all. A year round destination with cozy, clean, comfortable cabins that are individually themed and freestanding with your own private porch and on site parking. Floor plans accommodate, singles, couples and groups. Each private cabin offers Free Wifi, Individually controlled Heat/AC, flat screen DirecTV, full bath with tub & shower, daily housekeeping services, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers, microwave oven , dorm size refrigerator and 4 cup coffee makers with New England coffee, teas and condiments. Pets are welcome in select cabins. Enjoy our 3 acres of grounds with fire pits, screened and lit gazebo, lawn swing and gardens, horseshoe pits and walking trails. Located one mile from the center of town. Your all fun, no fuss Vermont getaway is waiting for you at the Casablanca Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing