We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
368
67
31
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
67
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews social hour wine hour front porch walking stick fire pit yoga mat small lap pool fireplace king spacious porch hotel is beautiful indoor fireplace hotel restaurant dog friendly hotel rocking chairs chocolate covered strawberries complimentary coffee glass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We really enjoyed our few days at this really well designed hotel - it's only a few years old (the Google Street Map of it is of the previous building). Situated on one of the main roads through Manchester and within easy distance of most things - either walking, cycling (complimentary from the hotel) or short car ride. Our room was a really good size with gas fireplace (although the fan on the fireplace was rather noisy up to 30 mins after switching off), very comfy bed, the bathroom was well appointed and there was even a yoga mat in the cupboard to use should you wish.

Every evening they have a guest welcome drink which is a nice touch. The first night we took our drinks and sat outside on the porch in rocking chairs and the second we sat by the fire in the lounge and chatted to some other lovely people staying there. The bar and dining area was buzzing and the menu varied and seasonal. We loved exploring Manchester - lots of different shops as well as a few outlet places like Gap and Polo Ralph Lauren if that's what you are in to. We did go out one evening for dinner to the Ye Olde Inn - it was OK and so was the food, but I'm sure there are other places much better. I would recommend Poncé's for breakfast or lunch - we loved it there and they do amazing cookies!
In the evenings, the fire pit was lit outside and there were a few people enjoying a beer and a chat around it. I was worried, from previous TripAdvisor comments that there were too many dogs, and I'm a dog lover but we only saw a couple and they were all very well behaved.
We loved this hotel - it really suited us and the people were very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank surfnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We thought this property lived up to the Kimpton name and hospitality. From a daily cocktail hour to free bikes to exceptional service, we really enjoyed it. The rooms were updated and had tons of bedside outlets.

What we really liked about this property were the great spaces - the wraparound porch with rocking chairs, the fire pit, the various inside sitting spaces and the vibrant bar scene.

Really terrific stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The Kimpton Taconic saved our trip to Manchester from disaster. After checking in at The Equinox up the road and taking one look at our dump of a ground floor shoe box sized room overlooking a black tar parking lot in The Charles Orvis Building we hightailed it down the street to change hotels. Fresh and bright, thoughtfully designed, this charmer felt palatial and elegant in comparison and settling into our tidy fireplace room I felt in the lap of luxury. Service at the front desk was great and we opted to eat at The Copper Grouse for one dinner (great salad and risotto for me) and breakfast the morning of our departure (perfect omelet). I don't know about the other hotels in the area, but if you are wavering between The Taconic and The Equinox, trust this traveler and book here now!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gabyonthegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This hotel is a gem!! Upon entering the property you are greeted with well manicured lawns and spotless grounds. Upon entering the hotel the smell of muffins or cookies baking greets you. It feels like home. The room that we stayed in was spotless, Crisp sheets, the bathroom amenities clean pristine. I had the most amazing stay. Recommend making reservations for the restaurant in the hotel in advance at least for one meal. It is closest to downtown shopping and local culture. Safe and beautiful. The coffee in the am is out of this world with organic offerings from local farms. Dog friendly!!

Room Tip: Incredible fire pit at night, wrap around porch with beautiful view of mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We loved this IHG property nestled in a valley of the Green Mountains. The rooms were very nice and the bath robes were wonderful! You have to ask to have a coffee pot brought to your room. The drinks in the bar were quite expensive. Rooms can also be quite expensive in the fall. Be aware of a “resort fee” that may be added to your room charge.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trodenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews