We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a wonderful place to stay and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #4 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
1 review
“It's a wonderful place to stay and relax”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our stay at North Shire was wonderful. The owners Tim & Kerry were the best and very friendly. The breakfast was the excellent. The Pub is beautiful, cozy and relaxing with a martini which their are many different kinds. The deck off the Pub has a beautiful view as do all the rooms. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The rooms have a flat screen TV with a DVD player also refrig, and coffee machine. We loved going in the Pub in the AM to get coffee and sit on the deck and enjoy the view until breakfest was ready. We are comming back for sure....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    55
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
194
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corinth,VT
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Never a disappointment-- we've stayed there many times since the 70's-- the present owners take so much pride in the grounds, rooms, and the pub/dining food is purely an epicurian delight-- the breakfast on Sunday was griddle cakes, made with a touch of maple syrup, nutmeg, and sweet potato in the batter-- light as air- delish! The minute you enter the cathedral ceiling suite, the views are spectacular of the mountain range! Our meal on Saturday evening was fabulous-- a specially prepared small menu will amaze--I had the Orange Balsamic Chicken-- not sure what the chef( Kerry) did to that sauce, But I would love that recipe!
Generous portions--and a nice wine/liquor slection-- the pub room , with fireplace, is so relaxing--intimate for a get-a-way and fabulous to visit with friends-- we dined on the covered deck--PERFECT in every way--

Room Tip: EVERY ROOM has a spectacular view-- you should however check out the pub dinner menu, as it is custo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here for a February ski vacation (4 nights?). The building is like an old side-of-the-road motel, with each unit being it's own cute A-frame. Our room was not fancy, but there were no complaints. Some nice rustic decorations on the walls, two beds, a decent TV-DVD combo, refrigerator, and Vermont views from the back sliding door. The room heat was quiet and efficient. Everything was extremely clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

We were never lacking for an evening activity as the owners keep the place stocked with a large DVD movie library as well as board games.

The main office also housed a small restaurant. Dinner is served to hotel guests (by reservation made in the AM only and at extra cost), but we didn't try it as the limited menu did not feature something that our pickiest eater would try. I was disappointed in that as the breakfasts (included with the room) ranged from merely good to spectacular and I expect the dinner would have been a highlight also. Each morning's breakfast featured a new home-made item along with a few standards - coffee, juices, cereal, muesli were always available and although the breakfast changed, the sliced fruit on the plate was always the same (I would have liked to have seen the fruit switched from day to day just for some variety).

The owner / chef / food server (and probably 40 other jobs they perform) were extremely welcoming and friendly.

Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thanks for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts which you said were good to spectacular! We try hard to provide a nice breakfast for our guests, and enjoyed seeing your photo of one morning's breafast which you captioned "the most awesome breakfast!" See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I must say I am not usually one to stay in the smaller hotels but if they are all like this I may change my mind forever. The room was cozy with a fantastic view and absolutley spotless. My husband and I went there with another couple for a weekend getaway and by Sunday morning I did not want to come home. We spent both nights sitting on the deck of their pub drinking the most delicious martinis and enjoying the views and the other guests. In the morning we were treated to a fresh home made breakfast, also outside on the deck. The attention to detail and the genuine fun the owners seem to have with their guests and their lodge make you feel right at home. All the comforts of home are thought of too.
Each room has a table and chairs, a refridgerator and coffee maker. The bed was also extremely comfortable.The room also has a flat screen TV with DVD player which they have a ton of movies in their lobby you can borrow for no charge. You can also borrow from a huge selection of board games to play in your rooms or the pub. The owners are always so friendly and willing to help. The price was also so reasonable that I am already counting the days till when I can escape there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
So glad you enjoyed our place and the pub. It was fun serving you martinis, and you might be interested in knowing that our martini menu has recently expanded to include over 120 martinis, most of which you can find no place else! We are first and foremost a lodging property so we decided long ago to provide our pub as an amenity to our guests, and not open it to the general public, which makes it a very relaxing and quiet environment to enjoy our beautiful view. We're proud of the work we have done at the North Shire Lodge and are never done improving and upgrading. Thanks for being such great guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here this past February for a ski trip to Stratton. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was clean, neat with obvious attention paid to detail. The bonus was one night we spent in their pub, talking with other people who were staying there, Food was great and they have an amazing selection at the bar. Nice scenic location, and oh yeah - almost forgot that we did a ski package that included ski passes and it was a great value. Owners were also very friendly and you could tell they enjoy what they do. Breakfast was included with the rate and we quite enjoyed it, We'll be back.
John & Nancy T.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Why wait until next winter? Vermont is awesome in summer and fall. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't have provided more snow for you, but it was practically a snowless winter - sounds like you had a great time anyway. We appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
10.3 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.7 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.9 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
9.7 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
8.0 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Property: North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,656 - ₹ 11,924
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing