We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Nearby Hotels
Four Winds Country Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 277
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester View(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilburton Inn(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympia Lodge(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Taconic Hotel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
US$ 149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
356
57
17
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
57
17
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbaked applesliding glass doordvd playerhot breakfastrooms are cleanmanchester areabagelssouthern vtexcellent hostsbeautiful vermontbed and breakfastslidersa wonderful place to stayfriendly ownersski weekendother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Never a disappointment-- we've stayed there many times since the 70's-- the present owners take so much pride in the grounds, rooms, and the pub/dining food is purely an epicurian delight-- the breakfast on Sunday was griddle cakes, made with a touch of maple syrup, nutmeg, and sweet potato in the batter-- light as air- delish! The minute you enter the cathedral ceiling suite, the views are spectacular of the mountain range! Our meal on Saturday evening was fabulous-- a specially prepared small menu will amaze--I had the Orange Balsamic Chicken-- not sure what the chef( Kerry) did to that sauce, But I would love that recipe!
Generous portions--and a nice wine/liquor slection-- the pub room , with fireplace, is so relaxing--intimate for a get-a-way and fabulous to visit with friends-- we dined on the covered deck--PERFECT in every way--

Room Tip: EVERY ROOM has a spectacular view-- you should however check out the pub dinner menu, as it is custom prepared for their guests, and make sure to reserve your special dinner-- book for breakfast, too-- Great Accomodations--Fabulous food-- No need to drive back to "town" to get a quality meal! Relax and enjoy a special place you'll want to return every year,
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here for a February ski vacation (4 nights?). The building is like an old side-of-the-road motel, with each unit being it's own cute A-frame. Our room was not fancy, but there were no complaints. Some nice rustic decorations on the walls, two beds, a decent TV-DVD combo, refrigerator, and Vermont views from the back sliding door. The room heat was quiet and efficient. Everything was extremely clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.

We were never lacking for an evening activity as the owners keep the place stocked with a large DVD movie library as well as board games.

The main office also housed a small restaurant. Dinner is served to hotel guests (by reservation made in the AM only and at extra cost), but we didn't try it as the limited menu did not feature something that our pickiest eater would try. I was disappointed in that as the breakfasts (included with the room) ranged from merely good to spectacular and I expect the dinner would have been a highlight also. Each morning's breakfast featured a new home-made item along with a few standards - coffee, juices, cereal, muesli were always available and although the breakfast changed, the sliced fruit on the plate was always the same (I would have liked to have seen the fruit switched from day to day just for some variety).

The owner / chef / food server (and probably 40 other jobs they perform) were extremely welcoming and friendly.

Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thanks for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts which you said were good to spectacular! We try hard to provide a nice breakfast for our guests, and enjoyed seeing your photo of one morning's breafast which you captioned "the most awesome breakfast!" See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I must say I am not usually one to stay in the smaller hotels but if they are all like this I may change my mind forever. The room was cozy with a fantastic view and absolutley spotless. My husband and I went there with another couple for a weekend getaway and by Sunday morning I did not want to come home. We spent both nights sitting on the deck of their pub drinking the most delicious martinis and enjoying the views and the other guests. In the morning we were treated to a fresh home made breakfast, also outside on the deck. The attention to detail and the genuine fun the owners seem to have with their guests and their lodge make you feel right at home. All the comforts of home are thought of too.
Each room has a table and chairs, a refridgerator and coffee maker. The bed was also extremely comfortable.The room also has a flat screen TV with DVD player which they have a ton of movies in their lobby you can borrow for no charge. You can also borrow from a huge selection of board games to play in your rooms or the pub. The owners are always so friendly and willing to help. The price was also so reasonable that I am already counting the days till when I can escape there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

So glad you enjoyed our place and the pub. It was fun serving you martinis, and you might be interested in knowing that our martini menu has recently expanded to include over 120 martinis, most of which you can find no place else! We are first and foremost a lodging property so we decided long ago to provide our pub as an amenity to our guests, and not open it to the general public, which makes it a very relaxing and quiet environment to enjoy our beautiful view. We're proud of the work we have done at the North Shire Lodge and are never done improving and upgrading. Thanks for being such great guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here this past February for a ski trip to Stratton. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was clean, neat with obvious attention paid to detail. The bonus was one night we spent in their pub, talking with other people who were staying there, Food was great and they have an amazing selection at the bar. Nice scenic location, and oh yeah - almost forgot that we did a ski package that included ski passes and it was a great value. Owners were also very friendly and you could tell they enjoy what they do. Breakfast was included with the rate and we quite enjoyed it, We'll be back.
John & Nancy T.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Why wait until next winter? Vermont is awesome in summer and fall. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't have provided more snow for you, but it was practically a snowless winter - sounds like you had a great time anyway. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you don't mind the drive up to the mountain (stratton 25min/bromely 15min) This place is perfect for the group that is on a budget. When I was looking into hotels and condos on the mountain the price was more $$$ then I had paid for my rental unit in Whistler? Crazy huh! Then I stumbled upon this place, it's only a 5 min drive outside of the main town, and it has a gorgeous view. The owners are super nice, the WI-FI strength is amazing which is a plus for anyone who has a job like mine, and the breakfast (which comes with your stay) is delicious! We stayed over the Burton US open weekend and payed 130 a night (that is their "high"price). The only thing I didn't understand was that the rooms house 2 double beds but they would only allow 3 adults to each room?
The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were nice and clean. Each room had it's own entrance to the outdoors and a great view from the window. The decor of the place is not something you'll find at the hyatt but come on folks your in Vermont, it's a ski town. The decor I thought was nice and the washroom was actually a bit modernized. The pub is where the really cool stuff is so make sure you check it out. Unfortunately we never got to eat there maybe next time!
All and all this place is great for the price. You are getting a hot meal a hot shower some internet, a comfy bed, friendly owners, tons of dvd's and a great view, what else do you need when you want to hit the slopes early?

Room Tip: I believe they are all the same we had rooms 10 and 11 and the internet wi-fi strength was good enough for me to skype and facetime.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthShireVermont, Owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thanks for your review. We appreciate that you noticed all the wonderful details of our little lodge in Vermont. We strive to provice a great service at a great value for our guests and it looks like we have accomplished our mission here! We're constantly changing so next time you'll probably notice something new and different. Hope you have the chance to come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews