We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Weekend in Vermont” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend in Vermont”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent the weekend in Manchester. We found the Stamford to live up to it's reputation. It was clean, friendly and affordable. We had breakfast a Nippers and it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfordfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Ted it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Sorry it was such a short weekend for you guys. Thanks a bunch for finding time to write the review. Hopefully you'll return again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    101
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
106
144
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were driving from CT to VT, and happened upon this delightful place. The scenery is beautiful, and the owners are so friendly and accommodating. We had no real plans, but to enjoy time away from the office, and every suggestion was perfect from the Vermont Country Store (only 30 minutes away) to the fly tie shop next door for my husband's fly fishing collection (Gloria Jordan was lovely! www.gloriajordanflyfishing.com). We only had breakfast at Nipper's Cafe, but it was delicious. I highly recommend the Stamford and if I am ever North again, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a warm room - perfect for a southerner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmccec83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
You guys were great. I'm still amazed that you would go wherever your GPS would take you. Hopefully you cured your shopping bug. Gloria stopped back in and was ecstatic that you had returned to her shop to purchase the book on her late husband. You guys were very enjoyable thanks a bunch for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island , New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My friend and I picked The Stamford from the previous great reviews we saw on Trip Advisor.
We found that the reviews were true to their word which was awesome ! The rooms are clean and quaint with a beautiful view ! The staff is so warm and friendly and accomodating . The restaurant was very good food and service . Definitely planning a return trip someday !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
So happy that you found the reviews to be true. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your return. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here on a recent mid-week Ski Trip. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. We didn't eat at the restaurant but have heard it's very good as well. The decor is what you would expect in a motel but the beds were very comfortable and plenty of room for all of our Ski Gear. I would stay here again in the future. The folks whom run the place are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and other areas of Vermont as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
"AFFORDABLE-COMFORTABLE-CLEAN" - we've accomplished our mission. We know that we aren't a four star hotel and we never will be but if we can provide a nice neat, clean, comfortable place for everyone to rest their heads than we are doing our job:] Many thanks for writing the review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I just spent the weekend in Vermont with my family and I'am very happy I chose the Stamford Motel for my lodging. We arrived on Friday & the check-in process was quick & easy, Karen was just as friendly in person as she had been on the phone. Our room was clean & neat, we stayed in room#14 - had two queen beds which were very comfortable. We spent our first night just down the street at Riley Rink & spent the day Saturday at Stratton Mountain which was just a short 20 minute ride from the Stamford. The best part of our stay was the food at Nippers Cafe - the menu was diverse and the service was outstanding. Thanks for a great weekend Karen - We'll be back.

Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in room #14 - Two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
You guys were awesome. I still can't believe how great the baby was and your daughter is an angel. Look forward to you and your family returning. Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.0 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.2 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.7 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,116 - ₹ 9,208
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing