We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharon is Outstanding!”

Backroad Discovery Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This tour is an Editors' pick for Yankee Travel Magazine and top-rated Trip Advisor activity . If you have only a couple of days in the area, this tour is a must. The 4-seasons "Southern Vermont Sampler Tour" will help you discover the region's best-kept secrets while exploring the Vermont backroads. During each season, there are many fascinating stops along the way. Our local guide will entertain you with fun facts, history & local lore. Discover why Vermont is called, "The State of Mind!" $35pp. Advance reservations are necessary(limited to 11 passengers). Email or call for dates/times/details/reservations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We booked this tour the day before and the van was already full but Sharon was very accommodating. My wife and I, as well as another gentleman, were able to tag along in our cars without missing any of Sharon’s outstanding commentary. She is so knowledgeable about the area and its history. All the stops were very worthwhile and interesting . Sharon not only is a great tour guide but makes you understand why Vermont is so special and how its breathtaking beauty is being preserved. Don’t miss this tour if you’re in the area.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank wennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"marble quarry"
in 29 reviews
"alpaca farm"
in 39 reviews
"real vermont"
in 11 reviews
"back roads"
in 10 reviews
"maple syrup"
in 23 reviews
"merck forest"
in 8 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 6 reviews
"manchester area"
in 14 reviews
"vermont history"
in 5 reviews
"hour tour"
in 5 reviews
"fall foliage tour"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 5 reviews
"swimming hole"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful sights"
in 3 reviews
"a great tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"three hours"
in 6 reviews
"dorset inn"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018

This tour was awesome. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of this area. He was also able to answer our questions about restaurants and other attractions in the area. I would recommend this tour for anyone interested in learning about the history of Vermont.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank garybS3982PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We had never been to Vermont and wanted to start our weekend by taking a tour in the Manchester area. We saw the Backroad Discovery Tour listed and the reviews were positive. I can certainly attest that the tour was excellent and Sharon, the tour guide, was a huge reason for its success. She has a friendly and warm personality and she is very knowledgeable about the history and customs of the sights we visited, which included the Merck Forest, a marble quarry filled with water where people dove off cliffs, an alpaca farm, and a maple syrup farm. Sharon has a way of making the tourists interact and everyone became very comfortable. Whenever the bus became quiet, Sharon would ask a question and the next thing you knew, everyone was involved in conversation. The three hours went by so quickly and the tour with Sharon is definitely worthwhile!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

I was impressed by how much we saw on this tour in 3 hours. We saw the scenic beauty of Southern Vermont, visited a marble quarry and alpaca farm, and took a short walk at the Merck forest. With only spending a short time in Manchester, this was the perfect way to learn about the local history and culture.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Lumen2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This was a fun way to begin a few days in the Manchester VT area. Learned interesting early history of Vermont, had a taste of various towns and villages in area, saw somethings we would not have found on our own and met some nice people. Our guide Sharon was very engaging, involved everyone on the van, and shared some suggestions on other things to do during the trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backroad Discovery Tours also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Backroad Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing