We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice surprise”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just retrurned from a two night stay at the Palmer House. We had a suite and a room and both were meticulously cared for. The suite was fantastic. The fireplace kept the rooms warm, the bathroom was huge. We went for a swim in the indoor pool and that was well kept.
It is incredibly close to town, cut through the road by the Olde towne inn restaurant. Will definitely go back. The room was large and certainly had enough space for two.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Assistant Innkeeper at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your comments regarding your stay with us at the Palmer House. We were delighted with your compliments and are always trying to put our best foot forward for our guests. The pictures were equally delightful to view and we will be most pleased to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Thank you again for all your kind words.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 291 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stay at the Palmer House about 4 to 5 times a year. Clean, comfortable and close to town. You can actually walk to the center of town within 5 minutes. Management and staff always helpful. Beautiful area. Has nice, clean small pool, small golf course and tennis courts. Wifi is free and has strong signal no matter what room you stay in. Modern TV's. Parking is very accessible to the rooms. Good heat in winter and good air conditioning in summer. Stayed in two other places nearby in Manchester before staying at the The Palmer House over a period of time. Liked The Palmer House the best.

Room Tip: Ask management, they have various sizes and locations within their facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobnyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Assistant Innkeeper at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our property. It was with great pleasure that we read your compliments and it is this kind of feedback that spurs us on to keep providing our guests the very best that we can offer. We look forward to your next visit with us at the Palmer House!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived late on Friday before Labour day - room rate was completely inflated for the long weekend and not worth it at all. Breakfast is $2.50 and ok. Rooms are very dated but clean. The people who work the front desk seem quite confused or maybe just don't care. They didn't card until 5 weeks later and when they did they charged the full stay to our friends card. We then had undo all the charges and start again (to their dismay as they requested that we just settle up among ourselves) now close to 6 weeks after our stay - not very accommodating considering this was their mistake - annoying... wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was our second stay here in the past 10 years but the last time we were here we were lucky enough to stay in the new suite style rooms. This time we were in the older rooms which had very firm and uncomfortable mattresses which made it tough to get a good night's sleep. After our first night in an older. musty-smelling room in the old house up front we asked to be moved and we were moved to a room in the middle of the property with two double beds. The room was nicer and didn't smell but still had very firm, stiff as a board mattresses. The grounds are very well kept here and there's a nice indoor pool. The breakfast is very basic (coffee, juice. toast, bagels, canned fruit) but there's a $2.50 charge per person which seems a bit silly for rooms that go for $200+ a night. The location of the hotel is great, easy walk or drive into town and beautiful views. If we go back, it will be to the suites or we'll request an egg-crate pad on the mattresses which we found out you can do when we checked out.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a suite if you can. Don't stay in the old house up front (rooms 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeeker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 5 nights in early September for the Manchester half marathon race. Our room was clean, big, not fancy but adequate. We had a couch/love seat, flatscreen Cable-TV, mini-fridge, separate vanity sink from bathroom, king bed. Very quiet peaceful nights. There is a 9 hole, par 3 executive golf course which is nice for practicing your short game. Holes range from 40 to 100 yrds so it really is just short game but it is in nice shape. The greens are tiny (and I MEAN tiny) and dome-shaped to make it challenging so don't expect to practice "real" putting. The location is great--being close to the center of town and within walking to several shops and restaurants. We were able to walk to the race start by taking a trail across the back pond (which is supposed to have trout) that leads to the town rec center. We got there very late but we had previously arranged a late check-in and they left the keys for us at the office in a box.
There is a pool/ jacuzzi, tennis courts, and croquet that we did not check-out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mauri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.3 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
2.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
2.9 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
3.6 km away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,126 - ₹ 13,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a short walk from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout/Bass pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout/Bass pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing