We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific location; very small rooms; polite but ineffectual staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“terrific location; very small rooms; polite but ineffectual staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Equinox Resort is ideally located at the base of Equinox Mountain; the hiking trails can be found at the back side of the property. The town "center" is not walking distance to the resort but a shuttle is available for guests free of charge.

The rooms in the Orvis building are very VERY small. The bathroom door, for example, opens outward as there is no space for it to open INTO the airline-size bathroom; and the door brushes the edge of the bed and can only open 90 degrees before hitting the nightstand. Tiny! The bathroom is badly lit; there is no counter space (toothpaste and toothbrush were left in the sink); and the water temperature was tepid at best and held on for 3-5 minutes (bully for the environment!). How much time you wish to spend IN your room in such a beautiful location is a matter of personal taste; but, at these prices ($400/night), I expected more room.

Room service was fast and the staff (in this department) was ideal; the food, though, was below average (mediocre caesar; bland BLT; etc.). The staff in other departments (front desk, valet, housekeeping) were ineffectual and/or blithely incompetent though VERY polite and courteous. The defining moment was when the shuttle simply forgot to pick us up to return to the hotel; fortunately, a 30 minute walk (at 10:45pm along a dark two-lane highway) brought us to the local (and very friendly) police station who arranged for us to get back to the hotel.

The hotel website has recommendations on local activities; although I made arrangements directly, the property is to be commended and thanked for guiding us to two of the more enjoyable experiences on our road trip (fly fishing through Orvis; and glassblowing through Manchester Hot Glass).

I would recommend, albeit with reservations, this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    354
    154
    102
    54
See reviews for
351
593
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is in absolutely beautiful surroundings. We stayed at teh Orvis Inn. Rooms there are larger but rather old. Of particular note at this property is the breakfast buffet. The continental option is nicer than the hot buffet option at 99.5% of other hotels. They had unbelievably fresh baked muffins and croissants, smoked salmon, fresh local cheeses, fresh local yogurts and a beautiful selection fo fresh fruits. the hiking trails near the hotel are stunning. Exercise facilities are first rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topresorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and i took a long weekend in October to go away before our baby came along (a baby moon). We wanted a change of scenery, pleasant weather, nice hotel, and cute walking around village. The Equinox was exactly what we wanted! My ONLY complaint was that the bathrooms were just a bit small and just ever so slightly dated.....but keep in mind that this is an historic and very old hotel. The grounds were beautiful...we did some walking/hiking on the back trails. The hotel is within walking distance (about a mile) to town and the town had some great restaurants. We also did the falconry experience, went wine tasting next door, went cheese tasting, and sat out at the fire pit in the evenings with some wine (well my husband had the wine since i was pregnant). I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing low-key weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights with my daughter, the setting for this hotel is wonderful. The staff especially the bell man were terrific. Valet parking is complimentary, there is also a free shuttle to local shops andd restaurants. We sat out by the fire pit one night and enjoyed cheese and chocolate tastings. Rooms were a bit small but thats to be expected in an historic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymaeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife & I recently stayed at the Equinox in one of the townhouses. We are frequently visiting Manchester Center and had always wanted to stay at the Equinox. It is legendary. Our stay was very nice ... we enjoyed the room, the staff were nice, and the 75 foot heated salt water pool and hot tub - those were phenomenal ... but honestly, I wasn't overly impressed as I thought I would be. The best things were the pool/hot tub amenities and the turn-down service with chocolates on our bed for when we got back from dinner. Very nice touch!

The only downside's we experienced were that the resort did not post information for you to find easily (i.e. check-in/check-out times, etc) and our room was decently chilly and we couldn't get it to warm up.

We were in a room that faced the back yard, so we got to enjoy the views, but the patio, as other's have said, is quite loud due to the AC.

Compared to another recent trip this past spring, I was more impressed with a small inn on the coast of Maine than I was with the Equinox. The small inn gave us complimentary breakfast from local bakeries, had a hot tub, and cost a fraction of what the Equinox did.

All in all, the Equinox is a nice place to stay and it had some great amenities. We would go back.

Room Tip: If staying in the townhouse, try to get upstairs room with views toward the lawn (not the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
5.0 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
6.2 km away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.4 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,799 - ₹ 46,659
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
The Equinox Resort And Spa
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing