We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great ski w/e place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Timber Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timber Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great ski w/e place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

this was our 2nd year staying here for a ski w/e at okemo. love it! glenn is really hospitable and friendly. this is the perfect place to stay for a ski w/e. great hot tub!! very close to the mountain! i'd highly recommend. will def be back next year....it's becoming our tradition!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    22
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Family run Timber Inn was just the right place for our VT vacation. We were near family and had our own space. Everyone at Timber was friendly and caring. We were very pleased and say Timber Inn gave excellent customer service with lots of smiles.

Room Tip: Rustic knotty pine decor, beautiful view of mountains,convenient to area stores
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The apartment was amazing! We were all so impressed with the size and spaciousness and number of rooms! It's like one of those dreams where you keep finding new, wonderful rooms to explore ... When we first arrived, we couldn't stop looking at the beautiful view of Mt . Okemo from the balcony just outside our rooms, and also from the kitchen area in our apartment (photo included, hopefully!). I loved to sit in the very early morning, or evening, and just drink in the peace and beauty of that ever-changing mountain view (mist in the morning, clouds constantly drifting). But that was just the beginning! The apartment was the best part!

This was the first time we vacationed with our two grown daughters, their husbands and babies (a 2 year old and an 18 month old). They rented two rooms on the second floor, and my husband and I rented that wonderful apartment right next door. The apartment was to be our "gathering place."

The full-size kitchen is so spacious. We filled the refrigerator with breakfast and lunch items, and enjoyed leisurely meals, all 8 of us sitting around the large breakfast table (babies in high chair and booster seats, brought from home). There are many fine restaurants nearby - (DJ's has wonderful food). Sometimes we got take out for dinner (easier with babies!) ...

The living room area was also so spacious and comfortable. There is a large, comfortable couch (also pulls out for extra sleeping), and two great big, deeply cushioned, new-looking chairs. The huge center table in the living room became our "toy box" where we kept the kids' toys. We didn't use the large TV with cable, DVD and VHS capacity too much, but it was nice to have it there for our occasional use. The living room also sports a piece of furniture that had been used as a bar in the past, but we used it as a changing table! ...

The deck ... Just outside the living room, doors lead out onto the beautiful, large wooden deck. From the deck, you can look down, between the trees (so green and beautiful), to the wide, shallow stream that flows just behind the motel, sparkling and bright in the sunshine! The deck is another place to just sit and drink in the peace! And - a beautiful place for the babies to run and play, too, with a large outside table and chairs. There are private steps leading down from the deck to the stream area, pool area, (beautiful and clean - the family loved this!) and spacious green yards one flight below. (Note: If you are bringing babies, bring an expandable fence to block off the top of the stairs).

Sleeping areas ... the master bedroom is HUGE! Large, very comfortable king size bed, and huge closets everywhere throughout the apartment. The bedroom closet (as well as other closets) is fully lit inside, and has two folding double doors, and one step up, and offers a magic place where little ones can hide and play INSIDE the closet! The babies loved this part of the room! Off the master bedroom is a smaller room with two bunk beds, spacious enough to hold a port-a-crib. This is where the babies napped each day, one in each bedroom. This smaller bedroom can be entered either through the master bedroom, or through a second door that leads out onto the deck.

The bathroom is also HUGE! There are double sinks and a tub-shower with a nice strong flow of hot water. The apartment is very well-lit, with light switches everywhere!

Glenn was a wonderful host, and went out of his way to help and advise us, telling us about great local restaurants and even sharing one of his secret fishing places with us! He also suggested a drive up Mt. Okemo to watch the sunset - which was just amazingly beautiful!

The cost: The only hotel in my home town offers a room with two double beds for $26 a night MORE than the cost for this entire, beautiful, spacious apartment - a very good, affordable deal!

Other nearby special places for little day trips with (or without) small children: Wellwood Orchards and petting zoo in Springfield (watch out for those goats!) - also, lots of exotic birds and other farm animals. You can pick your own things there, too - blueberries are in season in August ... Camp Plymouth State Park - also very nearby, with sand beach, canoe, kayak and rowboat rentals (took the babies in their first rowboat ride together!), fishing and snack bar - a beautiful, clean lake ... Chester is a great little town to walk around and explore ... the Vermont Country Store is also just a short drive away ... and Baba a Louis in Chester is a beautiful, unique place to have a breakfast, brunch or lunch - hard to describe - you have to go there and see it for yourself. Delicious breads and desserts ...

Sure, there are little things that could be improved in the apartment - just like at my own house! Yes, the exhaust fan over the stove should be painted or replaced. As for curtains - all the windows now have curtains - but - with the majestic and beautiful views, and no neighbors to peek in the windows - we had the curtains open all the time anyway!

But - for the priceless experience of spending 5 days - (we had originally booked for 4, but loved it so much we stayed an extra day - and Glenn was able to accommodate us in that, too!) - watching those babies bond, and all of us getting to know each other, taking little day trips together, and growing together as a family - this was the most wonderful experience, made perfect by this clean, spacious, welcoming apartment - the heart of our family vacation together. We look forward to doing it all again next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My son and I wanted to go hiking and came across the timberinn in Ludlow. But I saw an ad in craigslist in Boston so we figured why not. I'm glad we went. Had fun and FREE bikes for my son and I. We even went swimming which was good cause ours is leaking at our house. It was nice and clean around the pool area, and the owner seems to be on property and was able to get us deals around town for food. We will be back for sure! thanks guys.

Room Tip: check all the online ads we got a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerfun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I agree with the other reviewers. This place is in need of a serious renovation which is part of the reason I gave a poor rating. Here are just a few examples of why we didn't like it: no curtains on the windows (we had to hang blankets up each night); the exhaust fan over the stove was disgusting and did not work; the stove had a bad gas smell when we turned it on (which is how we found out the exhaust fan didn't work); the knob was broke off the A/C unit in the bedroom (had to call the owner to bring us a wrench, then he told us to just unplug it when we wanted to shut it off); dirty pots and pans (which I wouldn't have washed with the sponge they left us which was gross); the furniture in the living room was uncomfortable and the bed in the pull-out couch was unacceptable to sleep on. Unfortunately, there was more but I think this will give you and idea about what you should expect if you rent this place. We paid over ~$700.00 for the 4 nights we stayed that, in my opinion, was totally not worth it!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaydee215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timberinn, Manager at Timber Inn Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Sorry that you were disappointed with our Mountain View apartment. The curtins are back up, we dumped the pull-out sleep-sofa and replaced the exhaust fan over the stove. As for the gas smell, they add that stuff to the propane to warn you when the flame doesn't ignite. Before checkout, guests are asked to run the dishwasher or wash their own cookware and housekeeping has been warned to be diligent about sponges and pots and pans at the back of the cabinet. Apartment guests also now enjoy nice, long, hot showers, courtesy of the Renai gas-fired system installed in late 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.4 km away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 km away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
1.7 km away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.7 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Inn Motel

Property: Timber Inn Motel
Address: 112 Rte. 103 S., Ludlow, VT 05149-9778
Region: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,612 - ₹ 9,076
Hotel Class:2 star — Timber Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms have spectacular view of Okemo Mtn. Recarpeted through out. Fully-renovated ground floor units feature upscale furnishings and tiled bathroom floors. Heitsmith family owned since 1986. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Timber Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing