We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”
Review of Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 29
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Sam's is open as of July 2018. Visit our website details at http://samssteak.com/ Steaks, seafood and salad bar are our specialties. Dry aged steaks - porterhouse, bone-in ribeye, bone-in sirloin, filet mignon, hanger steak, and prime rib. Seafood selections include oysters, king crab, ahi tuna, scallops, lobster tails, salmon and shrimp.Prefer comfort foods? How about pot roast, meatloaf, mac & cheese, baby back ribs. Always a crowd pleaser is the Surf & Turf Combo. We'll help pair the perfect bottle of wine to complement your dinner. Visit us to enjoy Ludlow's finest steakhouse!
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent as usual. Prime Rib was on point. Baked stuffed shrimp was delish. My parents hadn't been in years. Great way to celebrate their 50th anniversary. Friendly server...Rob. Will definitely be going again.

Thank bambam2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Rob thanks you and we all appreciate you allowing Sam's to make your 50th anniversary celebration a memorable one! Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

we go to Sam's steakhouse at least once a year, when we are visiting Ludlow. we went about 6 for dinner and were seated right away.
their included sald bar is quite varied and extensive. good choices.
we had fish filet and chicken teriyaki; both generous and good.. we shared the mud pie for dessert; very good.
owner very friendly at ck out. nice atmosphere.
with drinks, bill came to $89. good value for very good food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your loyalty! We're happy you enjoyed the new additions to our menu and hope to see you again for your next visit to Ludlow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

First time here and very delighted. Service is terrific (thank you, Doris!), décor sophisticated and warm, food excellent.

Don’t be put off by the exterior appearance, inside is very classy indeed: taupe colored walls, dark brown and black carpeting, black tablecloths, and “plantation style” wood slat blinds. Our server was warm, friendly, extremly efficient and anticipated our needs, balancing attention without hovering.

Dinner was excellent: a dozen oysters on the half shell were the perfect starter, mounded on a huge tray of ice with lemon wedges, mignonette sauce and cocktail sauce. The salad bar is a true salad bar -- several types of greens, many different toppings, and several specialty salads., with fresh bread and rolls. Hubby had the Ribeye steak -- a generous 16oz bone in cut, extremely tender, flavorful, moist and grilled to perfection; mashed potatoes on the side. I had the Hangar Steak with rice pilaf: very good indeed. The dessert list was intriguing (the strawberry shortcake others were ordering look fabulous and generous) but we were so satisfied we put that off until next visit.

Wine list is extensive, although very few available by the glass. I had a decent Malbec, Hubby a Pinot Noir. Both very good but not distinctive.

It was a chill day, and the AC seemed a bit over enthusiastic. We arrived shortly after opening at 5PM, but the dining room filled up quickly by 5:45. The dining room has the look and feel of a high-end, sophisticated restaurant, and the service matches that, but don’t be put off -- many of the other patrons were in summertime casual attire, so no need to dress up, but if you do so you won’t feel out of place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wombat27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for a very thoughtful review. We appreciate you sharing your nice experience at Sam's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We have been to this steak house four times now. Every time has been fantastic, you will NOT find a better steak in this area than the aged steaks. Juicy, tender and cooked to perfection every time. The salad bar has lots of options and the prepared salads are excellent. The greek salad, beet salad and the bread are my favorites. The staff is friendly and attentative. They can handle a party of one or a larhe group. The feel is elegant and yet comfortable. Yiu can go in suit and tie and be just as comfortable eating there in jeans and a t-shirt. Prices are fair, i had an aged steak, poutine, son had a hanger steak and my wife had salmon. Son and i had cokes while my wife had water. The salmon was cooked to perfection and the dill and wasabi sauce (on the side) was excellent. The bill with tip came in around $115. This is our goto place for special occasions.

Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at Sam's last night. I had the prime rib, my wife had the filet. Both were delicious. We were seated right away. Skye, our server, was delightful.
The room filled up quickly. I understand why.
I will return here the next time I am in the area

1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Skye and we thank you for taking the time to review Sam's. We're delighted you enjoyed the steaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing