We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smuggler's Notch Inn
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I would highly recommend this place. A very old building, in fact it is named as a Historical Site. But don't let that deter you. The rooms are updated, the beds are comfortable and it is very clean. The owners are very friendly. The rates are reasonable. They give you $5.00 per person per day credit to be used in the restaurant or bakery. Both of which I would highly recommend. The food at both of these establishments was outstanding and resonably priced.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piercetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Pretty much exactly what you envision if asked to paint a portrait of a vacation in Vermont. Old style Inn with about a dozen adequate guest rooms, good hospitality, great bakery and very reasonable prices. If you're familiar with The Newhart show, now you can go live it. This is not a 5-star luxury Inn and you should keep your expectations in check. In our case, it is exactly what we expected over our New Year's eve stay. Great little bar connected to the Inn and all the local characters to add to the ambiance. Very satisfied. Good access to Smugglers' Notch ski resort and just a stone's throw from the 158 Main Restaurant and Bakery. This place exceeds expectation but deserves a review of its own. Phenomenal breakfast and excellent lunch and dinners. Quality to price is hard to beat.

On the downside; not a big negative if you know what you're getting into, the water is slow to heat up, the walls are thin, their are slight gaps under the doors and floors are crooked. Pretty much all the charm you want from an old Inn! If your Inn neighbours are respectful of this, the holiday or weekend stay will be thoroughly enjoyed. I also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub after a day on the slopes.

They offer 1 and 2-bed rooms with a larger multi-room suite for families. The grocery store and liquor store are just across the road. I tend to gravitate to these properties and destinations as other areas start to over develop and lose track of their roots. Check them out for a real traditional ski, hike, fish or fresh air holiday weekend in Vermont.

Room Tip: The suite is located at the top of the main stairwell. I could see it getting loud but depends upon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

just got home from an amazing weekend at Hannah house. our friends stayed at the inn room. we had an amazing time. Bill at front desk was very caring and helped us alot. going to leave great review on tripadvisor. pics didn't do Hannah house justice. great location. Mix bakery and Cafe has amazing gourmet breakfast. Fresh ingredients, variety like any fancy place in nyc.

Room Tip: a few well kept properties to choose from. homes are pet friendly. inn rooms are not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elixandria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsville, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

First experience no hot water in the shower and they refused to believe us. Then finally fixed it but nothing in return. Second visit the rental cottage was marginal. They don't reflect the real image of Smugglers Notch which is a great mountain.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

While exploring the area, we drove past Smugglers Notch Inn and decided it would be the perfect place to spend the night so we could ski the following day. Fortunately for us, the Inn had a room available. We were pleasantly surprised with everything they had to offer; it was just what we would want for a small town New England Inn - charming (slanted floors - building is 200 years old), rustic feel, cozy (living room with a fire blazing in the fireplace, quilts on the beds), and clean. The tavern downstairs was lively (not overly loud - we couldn't hear any noise upstairs) and perfect to have a pint and walk up to bed. The food looked good, but we had already eaten dinner somewhere else. The following morning we had breakfast at "The Mix" bakery, which is attached to the inn.... it was unbelievable. A wonderful menu, fabulous friendly service, amazing food, and cozy feel (fresh flowers on the table, mason jars for glasses, etc). An overall wonderful stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
13.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
17.5 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
259 reviews
20.9 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
6.9 km away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
904 reviews
1.8 km away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 1 in Jeffersonville
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Notch Inn

Property: Smuggler's Notch Inn
Address: 55 Church Street, Jeffersonville, VT 05464-8917
Region: United States > Vermont > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffersonville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,866 - ₹ 8,809
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smuggler's Notch Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smuggler's Notch Inn is an 11-room inn complete with dining room, bakery, and tavern. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily. We have discounted ski lift tickets to Smugglers Notch Resort. We now have seven vacation homes in the area that we manage. Flat screens with Direct tv, wifi, hot tub are just a few of the amenities that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Smuggler's Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Notch Hotel Jeffersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing