We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Jay is a big value splash”
Review of Jay Peak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jay Peak Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had heard good things about the new Pump House water park and just wanted to give it a try. We stayed only 1 night but were allowed to enjoyed the water park on the day of our arrival and the day after. We stayed in a regular room at Hotel Jay which is the best facility at the resort. The hotel is connected to the Pump house and is just across from the ice skating arena. The room is large and equipped like a studio-apartment with a dinning table, kitchen appliances (stove, small fridge, toaster and coffee maker), dinnerware, etc. It also had a beautiful fireplace. The room has a convenient open closet with many hooks and hangers. Another big plus of hotel Jay is their room key system. The hotel does not use magnetised card, instead it provides all guests with a bracelet to unlock your door and it serves as your day pass for the water park.

We paid less than $ 200 for 2 adults and 2 children for our 1 night stay that included the water park for 2 days. We also received a coupon booklet as a bonus. Those coupons booklet usually don’t have much value, but not in this case. We received a $ 10 gift card which we use for the family arcade, on top the $ 6 arcade card included in the booklet and the helmet and skates rentals for the Ice Haus. We booked the hotel through Jay Peak's web site which entitled us to get a $ 25 gift card upon our arrival which we used for dinner.

There are a few things Jay could improve upon. The 11 o'clock check-out time is too early. The rooms don't have a directory and the information provided upon check in is minimal. You are sort of by yourself to figure out everything the resort has to offer and that's plenty! Hallways are also noisy.

This short break was a great family gateway. We got way more value than expected. We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the North wing, it will spare you some of the hallways noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Juneau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoveUp_JPR, Manager at Jay Peak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thanks for the review Juneau67-Merci. And you're right, not having room directories finished (which have subsequently been placed in all rooms on campus) was an albatross we dealt with for far too long. We're glad you saw the value in the vacation-for people that travel extensively, and have seen competitive experiences to what we offer, our rates are a no-brainer. I personally appreciate you taking the time to review and, on behalf of the entire staff at Jay Peak, we look forward to seeing you again.

A plus tard

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,064 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned from an overnight stay at Jay Peak. We went to visit the waterpark. Our room was really nice and comfortable. Nice furnishings. The restaurant we tried was pricey but medicre (Alice's Table). The waterpark is very fun but very oversold and crowded. They need to address this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in the golf & mountain cottages. It was new & lovely. Comfy bed, lots of room (2 floors) for 2 adults with 2 tweens, nice kitchen, washer & dryer. Resort main building is posh for VT ski resort. We ate at the pub for lunch each day - great burgers & buffalo wings right @ slopeside. There is a big waterpark for after skiing fun. BUT beware if you stay in the cottages to ski...you have to either schlep your gear onto a shuttle or drive yourself to the ski base. There are no overnight lockers for guests staying at the cottages. A major inconvenience for us that seems short-sighted on the part of the resort. Another negative was the mice in our cottage. They were in the walls and could be heard all night long. We saw them in the cottage our last day there. At chechout I mentioned the mice. The woman checking me out wrote "mice" on a scrap of paper at her work area, did not apologize or even acknowledge what I had said. She simply went on with my checkout. While we really liked a lot about Jay, there is a lot needing improvement. Other VT resorts offer a better overall vacation experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susalcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we stayed at hotel jay at the end of march, a short 2 days one night stay with 2 families including 3 kids ranging from 1yrs old to 4 yrs old. we had one room and one studio (with kitchen and so on) the rooms were very nice and clean and the studio had everything in the kitchen pots and pans, ustensils, glasses, coffee maker (both rooms) bathrooms were spacious and clean with plenty of towels, the hotel itself VERY CLEAN, the service was excellent specially at the front desk, THANK YOU LUIS for making our stay even better.
the pizza place was very good with reasonable prices, and the floundary not so great with mediocre food and mediocre service we were dissapointed but that was the only negative..
the water park wow amazing and clean and safe for all including our 1yr old, good for kids and adults , very nice arcade overall everything was just great and we will definately go back!! also everything is within a resort meaning you dont have to go out for the waterpark nor to eat just walk within...
keep up the good work folks!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A great place for a ski trip. The people at the front desk and at the reservation desk are as a whole friendly, courteous, accomodating and helpful. The ski lifts are steps away from the lodge. Storing one's ski equipment in lockers located on the lower level of the lodge is a good idea. An excellent place for families. The water park is an added feature to keep the kids busy in the evening since there is no night skiing. Keep in mind that this place doesn't have a night life and that it's located pretty much in the middle of nowhere. The lodge has only one elevator and as a result the wait can, at times, be lengthy. The Wi-Fi connection was successful for some of us while others were, for some unknown reason, unable to connect. We were told that other people were experiencing the same problem. This inconvenience continued to exist the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jay
0.2 km away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
20.7 km away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
20.6 km away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
71 reviews
19.8 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sutton
34 reviews
5.3 km away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay Peak Resort

Address: 830 Jay Peak Rd, Jay, VT 05859-7046
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Jay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jay
Price Range: ₹ 8,077 - ₹ 27,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jay Peak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jay Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jay Peak Hotel Jay
Jay Peak Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing