We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
22
5
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
5
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved our stay here... our room was simple but immaculate with stencil borders on the walls and other unique touches... very comfortable beds and bedding. The views are fabulous and the experience restful and relaxing. We rented bikes and toured the small island area. This is a place to come and get away from it all. We thoroughly enjoyed our swims in the lake from the dock at the hotel and also the dinners each night with ample and delicious breakfast included with the room. What is wonderful about this place is that it is not your average predictable hotel and has a charm of its own.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location of this lodge is beautiful - right on the edge of the lake. You walk right out of your room onto the small lawn which is in front of the rocks and the water. Keep in mind there is no beach area, so you can not swim right there. There is a dock near the restaurant that you could jump off of however. The building itself resembles a double wide trailer, so don't be surprised when you drive up. There are 6 rooms in the building and each one is the width of the building so there is a window to the lake and a window to the parking lot. The rooms are outdated and simple and could use some TLC; you can also hear the people next door to you talking. We were there on a hot night and had unfortunately left a light on when we went out for the evening. When we returned, the room was swarming with bugs. It was gross. What appeared to be dead ones were all over the bedspread as well, but we soon realized there were not! We killed them but they mushed into the old white bedspread. I pity the next people to use that bedspread. The bathroom is also extremely small - it has a standup tiny shower. The breakfast that is included was good and very basic. The service at breakfast was good and it was a nice peaceful atmosphere. We tried to have dinner there the night we arrived, but it was all full, so make reservations before you go because there is no where else to eat! Our friends were all camping down the road, but we had opted not to - I would say our accommodations were a half step up from theirs. As long as you are prepared for this little lodge, it will be as expected and you will enjoy it. Our gripe was that we had paid much more than our friends camping and we think they had a much better sleeping experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Ruthcliff Lodge from September 1 to 3. The lodge is perfectly located on Lake Champlain. All rooms are lake front. The nights were quiet and peaceful. "Zen" is the first word that came to our mind.

Mark and Kathy, the owners, are really kind and helpful, making us feel at home.

Diners was top quality, like a Michelin table. Don't miss the rack of lamb if the have it on the menu. Breakfast was generous.

We really want to come back as soon as possible.

Thank you very much for making our week end a perfect week end!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intersocietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were in Isle La Motte to visit St. Anne's shrine and stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. If I could, I would give this lodge 2.5 stars, as we felt the accomadations were somewhere between adverage and poor. But as I can't do that I have rounded the rating up to 3.

First the possitives - as others have written the Lodge's setting is beautiful and picturesque. In addition to the lovely view of the lake and mountains, the grounds are well maintained and have beautiful gardens. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding reception or special occasion party. The full breakfast served at the restaurant was very good and well served. We ate dinner there the night we arrived and enjoyed the food and atmostphere. I would definately recommend the restaurant. As others have said it is peaceful and romantic.

Now the negatives - Our room was small, the bathroom smaller, and the shower tiny. The bedspread was ripped, and the sheets tattered. The room was clean but for what we paid we expected more. I could refer to it as "basic" accomodations, though I consider air conditioning to be a basic amenity and there was none. There was also no phone in the room, and with no cell reception I wondered how one might get help in an emergency. The booklet in the room advertised a "common phone" but we were unable to find it. The booklet also said that coffee and tea were available in the common room, but our first AM there we went to get coffee and there was none available. By none available I mean there was no acutal coffee available for us to make. We would have been happy to make it for ourselves. This was corrected, and on our second AM the coffee was available. If you are looking for a peaceful place to bike, fish, or canoe, the Ruthcliff would be good for you. It is not the best place to swim as there is no beach. Overall, we enjoyed the food but were disappointed with the accomidations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at Ruthcliff Lodge from Thursday, July 12 through July 16. Despite the hot weather in Vermont - we truly enjoyed our stay at Ruthcliff. My husband and I are active people and we loved being able to rent kayaks and bikes from the lodge. Since the lodge is right on the water, we could launch and paddle all around Lake Champlain which was wonderful.

The nights were quiet and peaceful and it really allowed us to slow down and relax.

We loved the breakfast choices each morning, especially because we could have something different every day and all of it was delicious. We did have dinner one night and enjoyed our meal. The cost for dinner was about $100 for both of us. The portions were generous and everything was fresh. I wished for a few more casual dining options both at the lodge and in the area. That's just is the nature where we were, it was remote, peaceful and quiet. The staff was accommodating whenever we ate at the restaurant.

Mark and Kathy were incredibly helpful with any requests, ideas and issues. They instantly made us feel at home.

I’m so glad we found Ruthcliff, they made our first trip to Vermont a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsquared519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews