We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charmer”
Review of Ruthcliffe Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle La Motte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ruthcliffe Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle La Motte
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Incredible view across the Lake right from your front door. Just steps away from the best (only)restaurant on the island, the food was great whether it was a simple breakfast or a late dinner. The owners, Mark and Kathy, are so pleasant and accommodating. The grounds are well kept and the rooms, while small, are cozy and comfortable. We had a long weekend planned and still ran out of time to see everything, so we will be back next year for cycling around the Island or maybe try out the Kayaks that are available for rent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved our stay here... our room was simple but immaculate with stencil borders on the walls and other unique touches... very comfortable beds and bedding. The views are fabulous and the experience restful and relaxing. We rented bikes and toured the small island area. This is a place to come and get away from it all. We thoroughly enjoyed our swims in the lake from the dock at the hotel and also the dinners each night with ample and delicious breakfast included with the room. What is wonderful about this place is that it is not your average predictable hotel and has a charm of its own.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location of this lodge is beautiful - right on the edge of the lake. You walk right out of your room onto the small lawn which is in front of the rocks and the water. Keep in mind there is no beach area, so you can not swim right there. There is a dock near the restaurant that you could jump off of however. The building itself resembles a double wide trailer, so don't be surprised when you drive up. There are 6 rooms in the building and each one is the width of the building so there is a window to the lake and a window to the parking lot. The rooms are outdated and simple and could use some TLC; you can also hear the people next door to you talking. We were there on a hot night and had unfortunately left a light on when we went out for the evening. When we returned, the room was swarming with bugs. It was gross. What appeared to be dead ones were all over the bedspread as well, but we soon realized there were not! We killed them but they mushed into the old white bedspread. I pity the next people to use that bedspread. The bathroom is also extremely small - it has a standup tiny shower. The breakfast that is included was good and very basic. The service at breakfast was good and it was a nice peaceful atmosphere. We tried to have dinner there the night we arrived, but it was all full, so make reservations before you go because there is no where else to eat! Our friends were all camping down the road, but we had opted not to - I would say our accommodations were a half step up from theirs. As long as you are prepared for this little lodge, it will be as expected and you will enjoy it. Our gripe was that we had paid much more than our friends camping and we think they had a much better sleeping experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Ruthcliff Lodge from September 1 to 3. The lodge is perfectly located on Lake Champlain. All rooms are lake front. The nights were quiet and peaceful. "Zen" is the first word that came to our mind.

Mark and Kathy, the owners, are really kind and helpful, making us feel at home.

Diners was top quality, like a Michelin table. Don't miss the rack of lamb if the have it on the menu. Breakfast was generous.

We really want to come back as soon as possible.

Thank you very much for making our week end a perfect week end!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intersocietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were in Isle La Motte to visit St. Anne's shrine and stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. If I could, I would give this lodge 2.5 stars, as we felt the accomadations were somewhere between adverage and poor. But as I can't do that I have rounded the rating up to 3.

First the possitives - as others have written the Lodge's setting is beautiful and picturesque. In addition to the lovely view of the lake and mountains, the grounds are well maintained and have beautiful gardens. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding reception or special occasion party. The full breakfast served at the restaurant was very good and well served. We ate dinner there the night we arrived and enjoyed the food and atmostphere. I would definately recommend the restaurant. As others have said it is peaceful and romantic.

Now the negatives - Our room was small, the bathroom smaller, and the shower tiny. The bedspread was ripped, and the sheets tattered. The room was clean but for what we paid we expected more. I could refer to it as "basic" accomodations, though I consider air conditioning to be a basic amenity and there was none. There was also no phone in the room, and with no cell reception I wondered how one might get help in an emergency. The booklet in the room advertised a "common phone" but we were unable to find it. The booklet also said that coffee and tea were available in the common room, but our first AM there we went to get coffee and there was none available. By none available I mean there was no acutal coffee available for us to make. We would have been happy to make it for ourselves. This was corrected, and on our second AM the coffee was available. If you are looking for a peaceful place to bike, fish, or canoe, the Ruthcliff would be good for you. It is not the best place to swim as there is no beach. Overall, we enjoyed the food but were disappointed with the accomidations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruthcliffe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthcliffe Lodge

Address: 1002 Quarry Rd, Isle La Motte, VT 05463-6304
Region: United States > Vermont > Isle La Motte
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle La Motte
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing