We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our visit to Grafton, VT, the weekend before Christmas was truly a step back in time to a peaceful, relaxing lifestyle not often experienced…not even the sound of planes, sirens or road traffic. The Old Tavern, now the Grafton Inn, was restored magnificently by the owners, the Windham Foundation. Grafton Village owes much of its beauty and charm to this Foundation for maintaining many of the properties including the Grafton Village Cheese Company. A primary goal was also to provide steady employment to area residents.

Grafton Inn is extremely clean, all of the help very friendly, and the Innkeepers always somewhere present during the day. It was quite evident that new Innkeepers (2 yrs) John and Kathy know how to manage this Inn. They both have extensive business and customer service backgrounds and are residents of the Village. They were chosen from over 100 applicants by the Windham Foundation and seem to have very positive results in such a short tenure.

We are basically B&B folks and try to stay in those on the Select Registry. Grafton Inn certainly compares favorably with many on this list, even for its large size. However, size might detract from the ability to make online reservations with individual room availability. The breakfasts are ordered from a menu and probably could be considered gourmet. And the dining is even better. Chef Smith has created a menu for all tastes and obviously takes pride in quality and presentation at reasonable prices. Most of the staff enjoy working at the Inn and will tell you so…typical comment was “I just love being in here.”

We too just loved being in the Inn, with all of its antiquity, period furnishings, operating fireplaces and best of all- the many guests sitting around the fireplaces sharing experiences over the many visits to the Inn. One couple was on their 45th visit and another 20+ years. In fact, we were the only first timers but I’m sure others were present.

The highlight of our stay was certainly a stroke of luck. Shortly after arrival on Friday, we heard that the Vermont Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet and Counterpoint would perform a Holiday Concert in the White Church across the street Saturday evening. We wanted to attend but did not know it was a free, ticketed event for area residents, an event underwritten as a gift to the town of Grafton. Since Innkeeper Kathy Cray was so involved with a very busy time, she gave us her tickets. WOW. It made a great weekend perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonInnVermont, Public Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Hi James G - thanks so much for your review! We share all our reviews with our staff. And we'll be sure to let Chef Jason Corrigan and his team know you enjoyed his culinary delights! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
192
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I were married here at the beginning of the month. We had attended a wedding here last year, and loved the intimate feel of the Inn and so decided to book our wedding here too. The fact that our relatives (who had never met each other) could come for the whole weekend and have time to get to know each other made it that much more appealing. Having people coming from far and wide, we also wanted to be able to visit with them all weekend, as opposed to the typical wedding where you just see each other for about 5 hours at the reception and then go home again. We had enough guests that we were able to book all of the rooms, which definitely helped to increase the feeling of camaraderie and closeness.

We had a short engagement, but the planning of the wedding did not suffer as a result of this- Kathy and John and their team were extremely organized and they made it a completely stress-free planning process and weekend for us. Most brides say that their wedding was a blur and they don't remember most of it, but I had quite the opposite experience- I trusted that the team at the Inn knew how to take care of the details, and I was able to savor every moment of the weekend. From providing towels for a Polar Bear Plunge in the swimming hole, to setting up suite 1 to accommodate my elderly wheelchair-dependent father, the staff was very flexible. There was no request or detail too small for them to tackle. I have also had many of our guests tell me that it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding (the rack of lamb was phenominal). I cannot recommend the Grafton Inn highly enough- we will truly remember our wedding weekend as a highlight of our lives, and I think that we managed to create a memorable and fun experience for our guests as well.

Room Tip: The Inn has about 45 rooms. If you have additional guests who need near-by accommodations, some of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KECMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Barnstable, MA.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I and other family members attended a most wonderful wedding at the Grafton Inn, November3-5. Aside from the fact the bride and groom are unbelievably fantastic hosts, the Inn supported everyone to the fullest throughout all the festivities. Our room was simply lovely. We stayed in Barrett 2. The bed was a like sleeping on a cloud. The pillows were soft but very supportive. There are antiques throughout the Inn and our rooms were no exception. The decor is very New England, 19th century and well cared for. The staff with the bride and groom had everything planned from a welcome gift on arrival, to sparklers after the wedding, a beautiful dinner and a great barn to dance the night away, which we did. During the stay, we were able to explore the Vermont countryside, so beautiful in the fall. We bought lots of maple syrup of course.. The town is off the beaten track which was very much to our liking. We were able to meet several of the other guests in this intimate atmosphere. Kudos to the Grafton Inn for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. A wonderful get away!

Room Tip: B1 has a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapleonmillpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I have spent several anniversaries and other special occasions at this charming Inn which happens to be in a small town that is truly the essence of taking a step back in time. On Oct 31,after being without power for 2 nights,it was evident that we were not about to get it back for a couple more days,My husband called the Tavern and booked us for a couple of nights,but they assured us that we could stay through Thurs night,Nov,3. if need be. Unfortunately,we would have to vacate,if need be,Fri. A.M. as the entire facility had been booked for a weekend wedding. Fri AM arrived and it appeared we would be without power until Sun night and mentally prepared ourselves to depart-- and hoped the innkeepers could help us find another site. Sure enough,they did---right there in Room 50 , which had not been part of the wedding package. You see, this room is in the basement of the Windham Cottage, the 1st room we stayed in many years ago(pre air conditioned rooms) and was billed as the coolest room in the summer. The staff probably decided it was not quite up to the other rooms' standards Initially,I was not eager to "abandon" our small community in Ct ,but my husband said to me nightly at the dinner table in the beautiful dining room ,"I'm so glad you came with me." In retrospect, I'm glad I did .. We can't find enough adjectives to describe the manner in which all guests are treated ----and the innkeepers,John and Kathy Cray, couldn't have been more accomodating . It is truly one of our most favorite places to spend a night or two---or even a week ,as the case may be. And yes,we had fun watching the wedding festivities ---inconspicuously. .

Room Tip: They're all quaint and lovely in their own way.The only room we did not care for was the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RECR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

About 125 of us descended on this inn for the the weekend for my sister's wedding. It was not the easiest destination, given that we came from 3 countries and about 18 different US states. However, once there, we all relaxed, spread out, went walking in woods, ate great food, had a group polar bear plunge (November dip in the local swimming hole), and generally had a fabulous time. The staff helped make sure that every little detail was taken care of. Kathy is a true gem! She even had someone from maintenance staff install a hand held shower nozzle for my elderly father! The beds are incredibly comfortable! Every room had it's own character, some twin beds, full beds, queens, double queens, and suites. Singles and families of 5 alike all enjoyed the accommodations. Even the night desk attendant was superb! Definitely check it out! A GREAT place for a wedding!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the cottages. There are a variety of room configurations. Ask for help in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myvers o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
37.7 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
23.7 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
34.5 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
23.7 km away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
10.3 km away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,571 - ₹ 19,570
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing