We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
DO NOT MISS!!!

Maybe the highlight of our visit to the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. You have to see it for... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jrdaddy
,
Montrose, California
via mobile
WOW!!!

We spent 45 minutes in the Bread & Puppet Theatre Museum near Glover, VT. Admission is by... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
TNKaz
,
Kingston, TN
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
8
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread the barn for sale bucket list step back in time all ages paper mache posters donation art museum vt circus prints puppet farm awareness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maybe the highlight of our visit to the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. You have to see it for yourself to appreciate it. Plan on spending 1-2 hours. You will be amazed. Free admission unless you want to make a donation. The merchandise is sold on the honor system. The couple of people we ran into were so friendly and showed us where to go. A few others were working in the garden on the hillside. Don’t forget to turn off the lights when you are done!!

Thank jrdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 45 minutes in the Bread & Puppet Theatre Museum near Glover, VT. Admission is by donation. We have never seen anything like this before. The paper mache puppets are absolutely AMAZING! This was a “Wow!” moment for us. Some of these puppets are HUGE! We took lots of pictures, since they were Sooooo Incredible! Just go and see for yourself! The young lady we came across while looking for the entrance to the museum was very cordial towards us and gladly directed us toward the correct entrance. And there was even a middle school age art class visiting while we were there.

Thank TNKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

While in Vermont this summer we traveled to Bread and Puppet Theater for their Sunday performance. Be sure to get there early enough to spend time in their museum (the barn on the property has displays of all of their performances over the years with puppets, paintings, masks props and costumes. It was breathtaking and unexpected. They also have a shop where they sell prints, books, posters, etc. created by their artists. The pageant is really a magical thing to behold, making use of the incredibly beautiful landscape, their many performers of all ages. Be sure to bring something to sit on (on the grassy hillside), bring rain gear and sunscreen. Don't miss it!

Thank Josie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My wife and I recently visited interested in looking at the art work in the museum. While the art tries to tell a political story, it's lost on everyone, so it's just art, but pretty interesting nonetheless. However, the rest of the complex is quite disturbing. As we approached, there are few signs to tell you where to go and everyone around avoids eye contact and is completely unwelcoming. They walk around doing mundane and ironic tasks (e.g., moving some dirt around in a weed filled garden). No one smiles, everyone looks down to the ground and generally look like very unhappy drones. We tried to have a look at a performance in the barn, which had welcoming signs, but when we approached, two gloomy looking women looked away from us and closed the doors directly in our faces. This is a scary place. We couldn't leave fast enough.

2  Thank SJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Go see it. You drive up and you think you have gone back in time to “rad” “cool, man” and every hippie phrase you remember from the ‘60’s. But it is a mind-blowing experience that anyone over the age of 50 would find exhilarating. It is too difficult to express, we all came away with different emotions, but experience it! It is off Rte.16 on Rte 122 in Glover, Vt. Far out!!!

1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Definately worth the drive to Glover, Vermont. Best to make a weekend adventure out of the trip. A exciting step back in time.

Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

If you are in the Northern Kingdom of Vermont on a summer weekend, pack a picnic and treat yourself to a visual delight. Three pm every Sunday is a performance of big puppets and masks in a natural amphlitheater that will challenge and delight.
Bread and Puppet takes current events and

1  Thank Betulaceae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The Bread and Puppet Theater at Glover is a different theater in many ways with volunteers from all over carrying the puppets made from simple but full of fantasy. The circus show on Sundays at 3 pm is a festival of colors and joy with many hints at the situation of the world and especially the US. It is different from most theaters I have seen and what came through was the joy and energy with which the performance was given.

1  Thank BasicsTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Visit this place. It's crazy cool. The museum is well done and packed with beautiful paper mache 'puppets'. I must have taken a thousand pictures. They also have political oriented- yet beautiful- prints for sale. Yup- I'm Conservative and I even bought a few. Everyone you run into there is so charming and happy. The day we went there was a small folk band playing in the back and they were serving Moroccan Stew. Go to learn. Keep an open mind. And bring your camera!

4  Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Most of the puppets were made for events or performances that deal with Social or Political issues. The good vs bad of it all. The grotesque shapes and faces of each puppet makes it own statement. Many of the puppets will take you back to earlier issues that impacted negatively on either human life or life in general.

1  Thank ronflausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews