We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modest jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A modest jewel”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Nancy is sane, welcoming, gracious. (Didn't see Ralph much.) The inn is so charming and mindfully kept - without being at all pretentious or grandiose - it's so pleasant, clean, inviting..... the site is so beautiful, quiet, with rustling winds and birds and small but rolly hills and fields... Everything about this inn was a delight. Wish I could return multiple times.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
161
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I came to Castleton for a week to write, and stayed at the Applewood Manor B&B the entire time. I was able to relax completely here and focus on my work, and produce double the amount of pages that I had set as my goal.

Each morning I would get a wonderfully custom-made breakfast of blueberry pancakes, french toast, omelet or eggs Benedict, lots of deliciously strong coffee, and enjoy the sights and sounds of the countryside like an occasional hummingbird that would drop by the feeder next to the table.

Mostly during the day I would walk around Castleton, and the B&B is only about a block off the main street. It's a pity there's no sidewalks, but that's not the B&B's fault. It's also right next to the famous Castleton River, which you can walk over every time you walk into town, and they also have a little path that runs alongside it with a picnic table near the end. Bring bug spray though, the horse flies can get nasty!

I would also frequently go out driving to the nearby cities like Rutland for restaurants, or down to Poultney for more historical buildings, but Castleton seemed really central to everything I was interested in seeing.

As someone who loves historical architecture, I was pleased to find their house was a 200 year old federal style built by one of Castleton's first sons, Noah Hoyt, and they had a lot of historical pictures and descriptions of the house and family in the main rooms. I had stayed in Noah's room, and it was very comfortable, though the floors were a bit creaky.

I had stayed during a particularly bad heat wave, and because the house was built so long ago there's no proper HVAC/AC system set up for the house. However there was an AC unit in each room, so as long as I stayed in my room writing for these particularly hot days, I was able to keep cool and comfortable. They also had a swimming pool, but alas, I had forgotten my swimsuit. One evening though, I did stick my feet in the pool while reading, and it was a very nice spot to sit and relax.

Room Tip: I was in Noah's room and loved it, though I think any would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_M_Lanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We are an Australian couple that spent eight weeks travelling through the North East of USA and Canada and Applewood Manor was one of the high lights of our trip. Made the mistake of only staying one night but a return trip is on our bucket list. Hopefully one day(maybe a week) and a special Thank you to Nancy and Ralph our perfect host.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heritageian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

On our third return to Applewood, we were so happy to be back. Nancy and Ralph are warm, engaging hosts and have made Applewood Manor the type of Inn you want to return to year after year. We liked it so much we got engaged there!
Believe the hype :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Applewood Manor offers what travelers seek in Vermont: a venerable home in a small town setting, inviting rooms, great food, and friendly, attentive hosts. Our room was attractively furnished, clean, and comfortable. Ralph's breakfasts were varied and delicious. Nancy's morning conversation at the table provided good advice about daily plans. We were truly welcomed.

Room Tip: The front rooms are large, with good natural lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marbob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
17.5 km away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
17.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
17.7 km away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
17.3 km away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
17.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 North Rd, Castleton, VT 05735-9485
Region: United States > Vermont > Castleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,479 - ₹ 9,024
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applewood Manor is a national award-winning B&B. Situated in picturesque Castleton and convenient to Killington and other Central Vermont attractions, Applewood Manor is renowned for its comfortable elegance, excellent hospitality, and rich history dating back to the 1780's. Original brick and marble fireplaces grace the public rooms, and each of the five guest bedrooms has a private bathroom, deluxe mattresses, and nicely-appointed furnishings. In summer, the porch, patio & swimming pool are pleasant places to relax The 33-acre property offers woodland walks, snowshoe trail, and a river for trout-fishing. The area presents spectacular scenery; a wealth of activities including hiking, fishing, golfing, skiing, snowmobiling; fabulous shopping; and unique historical places of interest. Applewood Manor makes a great home base for exploring Vermont or just enjoying a getaway. You can get there by car, Cape Air from Boston, or Amtrak’s Ethan Allen express from NYC which stops at the beautifully-renovated Castleton station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing