We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value - has everything you need, nothing you don't”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ethan Allen Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ethan Allen Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great value - has everything you need, nothing you don't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We felt this was a great value - has everything you need, nothing you don't. Not the Hilton, just a well-kept-up Mom & Pop type place in a convenient location just outside the town center. Our room was very large, clean, and surprisingly well furnished - tv, internet, refrig, table & desk, two queen beds, large closet, suitcase stand, etc - amazing value for the price. Only quibble would be we heard some late-night noise from upstairs, but that died down and ultimately did not prevent us from getting a good sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMD_and_LFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
21
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Webster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

All we needed was a base of operations - and someplace with a kitchen. Some rooms were dated and worn; others were newer and pretty nice actually. I'm not hard to please, but for those who have a little higher standard - ask for the two story building.

The price was outstanding for Burlington, and we had a three-night stay, so price was very important. Mattresses appeared to be very new, but the carpeting was worn, stained in some rooms, and did not smell so good in others.

The people that we encountered, however, were the best! Very nice, and I hate to actually say anything negative about the hotel as a result. But the older buildings do need some attention.

But regardless, we took up four rooms total. As I said, the two story building is newer and there were no complaints at all from those who stayed there. The kitchens are in the older buildings and unless you are very tolerant, I can't really recommend these. We all had a great time, however. The pool was clean and our favorite gathering place at the end of the hot day.

And the cleaning staff is to be very highly commended! Hard working and they really pull the place together the best they can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the two story building - unless you need kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Ethan Allen is the perfect place to stay for people who:
-like to travel on a budget
-appreciate charm and character
-have a distaste for fake, chain hotels with cheap "amenities" to lure you in
-want to be right down the road from Higher Ground

We stayed here while up in Burlington to see a show at Higher Ground. The rooms are motor lodge style, all one story, with entrances to the outside facing the central parking lot and pool. The place is quaint and filled with character, the staff was quirky and friendly and the rooms were quiet, clean and old-timey. We loved the uniqueness of the place and will be staying here every time we head up to Higher Ground or the general Burlington area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

bed VERY uncomfortable, dirty, smelly, air conditioning noisy, dark and small room .... no never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviemorissette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burlington hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
221 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

This review is written in July 2011. Why do I say that? Because... if there's no updating done at the Ethan Allen in the next year or two, this review might be wrong.

Right off the bat, the price is right. The area didn't feel bad, the motel didn't give me any bad vibes... until the cops showed up. Someone in the room next to ours was questioned by the cops over something. Perhaps nothing, but you really don't like to see cops coming to your motel. Next... the bathroom counter was starting to come apart. Nothing terrible, not a great tragedy, still usable. This is a vintage motel. Pure 1950's, great neon sign out front. However, there's little things here and there that worry me, worry me that perhaps the owners are losing interest. ...like when we tried to turn on the A/C unit (in window) and it's cover fell off and on to the floor. It had been taped on. The bathroom counter laminate coming apart at the seams. Yep, I know that it's not cheap to run a motel, and upkeep is hard, so I hope it's just temporary things and not a sign that the motel will be a craphole in the next couple years.

For now though... I'd stay again, and it does have a certain retro charm to it. We slept well, the room seemed clean. Oh, and I'd feel better if the owners would add curtains to the transom window. It would increase the feeling of privacy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
2.2 km away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
1.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 12 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Motel

Property: Ethan Allen Motel
Address: 1611 Williston Rd, Burlington, VT 05403-6426
Region: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,760 - ₹ 6,612
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Free Wi-Fi*Free cable HBO/ESPN*Air-Conditioned Rooms*Non-Smoking Rooms*Free Coffee*Free Local Calls*Pool*Efficiency Units Available*Seasonal Rates*Excellent Dining Nearby*Family Owned/Operated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing