We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was one of the best B&B's that we have ever stayed in. We spent 2 nights here but could have stayed longer! As other reviews have said, there were many wonderful, thoughtful touches such as the snacks on the kitchen counter when we came in in the afternoon and we loved having tea and coffee brought to our rooms half an hour before breakfast. The room was extremely comfortable, spotless and well appointed, and breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. Parking was good and the gardens a real delight, along with the walks from the backyard. It may not be the cheapest in the area, but you certainly get value for money and remember the quality long after you have forgotten the price! We would definitely stay again if in the area and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teafortwo0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
117
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have been to many B&B's over the years and this is one of the Best! Lynn & Rick make you feel very welcome in their beautiful home. Well-appointed rooms where they have thought of everything to make your stay most enjoyable. Delicious breakfast and apple pie! Our next trip to Vermont will certainly include another stay at this wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carencro, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were only able to stay one night here, but wish we could have stayed longer. This century-plus house has been beautifully redone with a mix of antiques and modern amenities such as a gas fireplace in the room. We felt very pampered while staying there. Lynn is extremely warm and personable and made us feel welcome. Cookies and hot drinks are provided at all times, snacks on the kitchen counter were there when we returned in the afternoon, and mints were in the bedroom. Thirty minutes before you choose to go to breakfast, Lynn sends up a tray of coffee or tea. Breakfast was great! Loved it and hope to return someday!!

Room Tip: The Autumn Rose was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We like to walk everywhere, and we like both artsy and outdoorsy activities, so this was an ideal location for us. Imagine being able to walk to town with excellent eateries and quirky retail therapy, plus being able to enter the woods from the backyard and walk for miles! Lynn went out of her way to make recommendations, every one of which we loved: The Heritage Festival in Newfane, one of the most picturesque New England towns, had unique crafts where we did most of our holiday shopping, and the Dummerston Apple Pie Festival (picture thousands of pies baked by nice church ladies) turned out to be a Harley biker destination -- incongruous but hilarious. Our suite was spacious, well-appointed, and harmonious; breakfast was a culinary delight (think local, fresh, lovingly prepared); and Lynn was just as lovely as the other reviews state. Go!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISyzigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stopped here for a night on our trip around New England and were delighted with our choice - Crosby House is unique, beautifully furnished and with a wonderful ambience. The delightful Lynn gave us such a warm welcome and made us feel instantly at home, and steered us towards an excellent fish restaurant about a mile up the road. And the breakfast she served us the next morning was delicious. Before setting off on our next leg, we took a walk along the woodland trail behind her lovely home. We were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
1.3 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
346 reviews
4.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
3.3 km away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
572 reviews
6.5 km away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Ave, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,609 - ₹ 15,543
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing