We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, so much better than chain hotels”
Review of Dalem's Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalem's Chalet
Ranked #4 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This motel was so nice and the best part is the German Food restaurant, attached. It had charm and character, and the staff went above and beyond. It was so nice to get great and different choices for meals and wine prices were very reasonable. The rooms were clean and had the feeling and look so very different than a chain hotel. We have stayed there at least once a year, for 17 years, but this visit was the best. It's a retreat, what you really need when you go on vacation. It's comforting to know places like this are still around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRAVELREVIEWER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2010

The office is really neat and Mrs Dalem is a delight. My room was clean
and comfortable and the shower was GREAT. It was in walking distance to
a nice restaurant. If I get a chance to come back,I would stay on a Friday
or Saturday night,so that I could go to the restaurant right there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coastalgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We traveled up to Vermont and New Hampshire in the middle of October to visit the annual pumpkin festival in Keene, New Hampshire. All the motels around Keene and in Brattleboro were pretty much booked. When we saw that Dalem's Chalet had rooms available, we hesitated because of the bad reviews posted here. However, the price was right ($82 for a Saturday night), so we decided to take a chance.

I'm pleased to say that Dalem's Chalet surpassed our expectations. Seriously, don't listen to the bad reviews. Yes, the motel is a little old, and yes, the furniture is somewhat mismatched. And no, we didn't have a big-screen TV in our room. (There was a tube TV, which was fine. Who goes on vacation to sit in their motel room watching TV, anyway?) The room was impeccably clean--really, spotless--there was plenty of hot water, the bed was comfy, the place was secure and quiet, and the room had a nice view of an old New England church steeple set against a beautiful tree-covered hill ablaze in autumn colors. Check-in was easy, and Mrs. Dalem was very friendly and helpful.

There's not a lot of razzle-dazzle here, but if you're looking for a clean, comfortable room at a good price, Dalem's definitely fills the bill. We plan to return the next time we come to Brattleboro.

I should also add that the motel contains an old-timey German restaurant, which was very reasonably priced and served delicious food. Both the goulash and jaegerschnitzel were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank margarets_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Folks, if you're heading to West Brattleboro and are looking for a place to stay, please do yourselves a favour and ignore the bad reviews on this website. Dalem's Chalet might have been a "mistake" at one point, but our stay at this place was just wonderful. Nothing reeked of mold, everything was clean and in order, and they have great service on board.

I loved the fact that this place has a very cottage feel to it. One of my favourite things about this place were all the collectibles the lady has in the office where the front desk is located. The rooms are large and have comfortable beds. Washrooms are clean and well-lit...

I cannot comment on the food served at Dalem's Chalet because we never had a chance to eat at their restaurant.

Thank you, Dalem's Chalet. Would love to stay with you again on our next visit! =)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iztehtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

If you pay an extra 20 bucks you wont regret it.
We got the Queen's Suite. The place was like an apartment!!!
Bathroom had a tub for a bubble bath if desired! The ceiling in the bedroom was the style of a Queen! Comfortable bed. There was a fridge and a stove top. The living room had a couch, a coffee table and two very comfortable chairs. The t.v. had plenty of channels to cruise through. We had our own dining room table with a view out the rolling hills. And best yet, we had a balcony to walk out onto. Such a great feel to this place. HUGE too.
The best part is they only charged us 75 bucks for one night! Maybe because it was Halloween and the off season. But that was very kind and we will go back there again.
Dont listen to the bad reviews.
Dalem Chalet! :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aphextwinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brattleboro hotels
6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
420 reviews
3.4 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
358 reviews
4.6 km away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
618 reviews
3.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 10 in Brattleboro
107 reviews
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalem's Chalet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Address: 78 South St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range: ₹ 5,416 - ₹ 5,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing