We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lilac Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My husband and I spent the week at this lovely and well-appointed inn. The inn keepers were very helpful in giving us ideas for short excursions each day and where to eat for dinner. Our breakfasts each morning were excellent: fresh fruit, a freshly baked goodie, and three choices for breakfast. Our room was extremely comfortable. Each evening, we enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. We can't wait to return to this lovely inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms were well-appointed.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NJTeacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in one or our guest rooms with a wood burning fireplace. We are very glad that when Albert Farr built his 11,000 square foot “summer cottage” in 1909, he saw fit to include six fireplaces! Maybe summers were cooler in those days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Lilac Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017

Inn is beautifully decorated and Doug and Shelly are the best. Stayed in the Spring Room beautiful and spacious. Beautiful spacious bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. It connects with another room so you may hear noise from the other room that is the only thing I would say if you are sensitive to noise then it might not be the right room for you , however I was not in the room much anyway. The food was superb.

Room Tip: Spring room with queen bed is spacious. There's a connecting door with another room so you might...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsa2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for being our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Spring Room with one of the original deep bath tubs from 1909.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed! All the rooms are beautiful and nicely decorated with antique treasures. Our room had a wood burning fireplace and a claw foot bathtub! The innkeeper is a delightful gentleman with a great knowledge of the history of the inn and town. We will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chauntelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for being repeat guests. Welcoming returning guests is one of the many pleasures of being an innkeeper. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Actually this is the review I promised from March 2013 when I was skiing through on The Catamount Trail. (It's taken me a while!) The rooms are highly decorated in a period sort of way consistent with the premises being used as a wedding location, and each room is individualised if I recall correctly. The host, Doug, was extremely helpful in my cause. Much appreciated. As it happened I was the only one staying that night, so for breakfast I was invited to the local diner for a cooked breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemical4potential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Manager at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for your review and for being our guest. We have lovely snow today as winter does not want to end!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful inn in the quaint town of Brandon Vermont. We were greeted by the gracious hosts. The rooms were cozy and comfy. This inn is an estate with pretty grounds. The dining was very good.
We enjoyed our brief stay...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you were able to enjoy our special village of Brandon, as well as, our inn’s grounds and dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
23.5 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
228 reviews
24.9 km away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
601 reviews
28.4 km away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Brandon Inn
Brandon Inn
#2 of 10 in Brandon
126 reviews
25.4 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
278 reviews
1.7 km away
Cozy Cottages & Otter Valley Winery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Inn

Address: 53 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range: ₹ 9,550 - ₹ 17,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lilac Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Inn a leading luxury romantic Vermont Country Inn Boutique Bed and Breakfast known for romantic Vermont getaways, custom Vermont destination wedding packages, New England wedding receptions, and special family celebrations - in any season. Featured in Yankee, Country Living and Vermont magazines, the feel throughout is that of a "small luxury hotel with personal service to match". Stay four nights, and only pay for three nights in any of our nine individually decorated rooms, including five rooms with king size beds. Each morning begins at your individual table with a cooked to order three course gourmet Vermont breakfast. The Inn is located on Park Street, the prettiest street in Vermont in the quaint but welcoming village of Brandon. Located midway between Middlebury and Rutland, Brandon is an unspoiled village in the authentic Currier & Ives tradition that has been tastefully updated to suit the needs of today's visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing