We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you dream a dream....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brandon Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Brandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saranac Lake, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you dream a dream....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We all have a bucket list right? I mean we should, it's what keeps us forging forward. Today, I can say that one of my dreams came true! I got to stay in a gorgeous New England Inn with over 2 centuries of history to explore, in a small "true Vermont" town called Brandon. We were passing through, on our way back from a trip to Manchester for the day and decided not to stay there but to venture into some smaller, more quaint parts of Vermont with less attention to retail, and more attention to the true flavor of Vermont's people. We stumbled into the Brandon Inn and were able to check off the bucket list two more items. Staying in a luxurious New England Inn with innkeepers who truly have a passion for their patrons and enjoying a Vermont small town and it's people at the Cafe Provence/Pub. It was delightful in every way. The people, the Inn and its beauty and the town itself lent themselves to us and I am forever grateful to have experienced Brandon. I believe we encountered the best there is to offer there and would highly recommend going!
PS. Don't believe the reviews about the food! It is fabulous and the chef is talented and highly attentive! Thank you Louis! And they serve REAL syrup for goodness sakes. Very Sincerely, Minda and Brian

Room Tip: All rooms face the traffic side of the Inn I believe, however it was not an issue. The town clock i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G, Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Minda and Brian, thank you so much for taking the opportunity to review us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our "true Vermont" Inn. As Innkeepers, we do strive to deliver the personal touch to our guests. Nothing pleases us more, than when our visitors recognize the efforts we've taken to preserve this historic landmark in our lovely town of Brandon. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Just f.y.i., although our whirlpool suites are on the Town Green side, we do have several rooms that overlook our back lawns. And our town clock does need to be adjusted to daylight savings schedule to begin at 8:00 a.m.!
Best Regards, Sarah & Louis Pattis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    22
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
26
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had such a fabulous visit to Vermont. Everyone at the Inn was so kind & gracious. The staff at the front desk was so helpful with any request we made. We really enjoyed our chat with Louis while we had breakfast one morning. Breakfast was a real treat with a buffet most mornings. On a couple of slower days at the Inn, our order was taken and a hot breakfast delivered promptly. I am still in awe of the beauty of the city of Brandon, the state of Vermont and the hospitality of everyone at the Inn. We are planning another visit very soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Brandon Inn on the tail end of this year's foliage season. This inn clearly has the potential to be a cut above the rest, and in our opinion, greater attention to detail would put it there.
On the plus side:
We were immediately offered a discount to the advertised rate, and they were able to accommodate us on very short notice. We were given a room with it's own temperature control. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The Inn itself has a very nice authentic, historic feel to it.
On the minus side:
The breakfast was not good. The eggs were oily and runny, and the pancakes were served with a store-bought corn syrup rather than maple syrup - in Vermont?! Please, maple syrup is not that expensive and people can and will tell the difference. If you don't want to fork over a few extra dollars to serve this authentic Vermont product, then don't offer pancakes or waffles! We skipped our second breakfast and got a pastry and coffee down the street.
Our housekeeping service between nights was not thorough. Our bathroom was not attended to, and our drinking glasses were not sufficiently washed. We had to wash them ourselves. We appreciate good service and do tip accordingly, but in this case, it was difficult to do. We realize it was a slow weekend at the inn, but for us, we still expected the proper service.
Again, the staff was extremely nice and helpful, and the building is a beautiful place to stay. Perhaps we just caught them on an off weekend. We love Brandon!

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own temperature control, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandonInnVt, Owner at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We always take comments from our guests very seriously. We're glad to hear that you were pleased with our friendly staff and accommodations. The complimentary breakfast includes homemade granola, freshly baked pastries and fruit, and several other items. Occassionaly on slower mornings, we do not display these as a buffet and we're sorry if your server did not offer these to you in addtion to the hot meal . Eggs are usually prepared as requested, so perhaps your preference was misunderstood. In the past, we did offer Vermont Maple Syrup to our guests. It is not cost effective, especially when we see the wasted syrup come back on the plates. We have not raised our room rates in 5 years and still offer specials and discounts, despite the rising costs of labor, food, utilites, etc. It is a constant dilemma trying to offer the highest quality of service without increasing rates. Many of our guests have mentioned that we should serve Vemont Maple Syrup and we are going to re-visit this request. Regarding the glassware, they often get water spots from the dishwasher and we have reminded housekeeping that they must check and polish them. We totally agree that details are important and we continually strive to improve guest satisfaction. Yes, Brandon is a wonderful town and we invite you to stay with us again when you next visit. Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Brandon Inn is located in the center of town. The decor of the rooms and lobby were great. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The noise level was very quiet which was great for sleeping. The people at the Inn were very helpful, nice, and courteous. The breakfast Buffett was awesome. It was a hot country style breakfast that included eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, fruit, pancakes, etc. It was a pleasure to stay at the Brandon inn and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandonInnVt, Front Office Manager at Brandon Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Brandon Inn. We are so glad that you had a good night's sleep and enjoyed your accommodations and the breakfast. It is great that you mentioned about us being so centrally located that you can walk to shops and restaurants during your stay. We'd like all our potential guests to know that. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenacres, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Brandon Inn receives 5 stars from us! The hosts and staff are most hospitable and very accommodating. Our recently renovated room was spacious and attractive. The bed was very comfortable and a lamp strong enough for bedtime reading was much appreciated. The radoi was tuned to an excellent classical music station. The bathroom featured a marble floor and sparkling new fixtures. Breakfast was delicious, copious and artfully presented.. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 90KdeW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
24.9 km away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
23.4 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
25.7 km away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 11 in Brandon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.0 km away
Blueberry Hill Inn
Blueberry Hill Inn
#2 of 11 in Brandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
25.3 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon Inn

Property: Brandon Inn
Address: 20 Park St, Brandon, VT 05733-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Brandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,513 - ₹ 13,107
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brandon Inn is an historical B&B Inn, located on the village green in the center of downtown Brandon, Vermont. And just A short walk to local stores and restaurants. All 39 guest rooms on three floors have a private bathroom, a clock radio and WiFi access. Brandon Inn guests receive a full, hot, country breakfast in the morning. Guest rooms have individual A/C units. The main living room has a wide-screen television and there are two public TV rooms on the guest floors. The back lawns sweep down to the Neshobe River and there is an outdoor pool to cool off in or relax around. The Innkeepers, Chef Louis Pattis and Sarah Pattis have owned and operated for 24 years. The Inn specializes in Vermont Country Weddings and is a popular venue for Class Reunions, Retirement Parties and Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon Hotel Brandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing