We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yuck” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

This hotel is awful. Everything is broken, Hot tub is out of order. Restaurant is expensive and not good. Service is rude.When we spoke to the manager she didn't seem to care and didn't offer anything to make us happier. Walls are thin. Rooms are really small. Water pressure is weak. Not fun at $170/night.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenann247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    12
    8
    18
See reviews for
36
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2007

We chose to stay at the Bolton Valley ski resort for one night of a northeastern US summer road trip based on its mention in an "Off the Beaten Path" guidebook. It would probably be a fine place for a winter stay if you were a back-to-basics skiier, but in the summer we got the impression that we were intruders in a place where outsiders were an inconvenience. The plastic chairs on our tiny balcony, which had a view of the parking lot, were covered with bird droppings. There was no air conditioning, which might normally be fine in the mountains, but Vermont was experiencing a 90+ degree heat wave when we were there. The sliding screen door latch didn't work, so we hesitated to leave the glass door open overnight. During the summer on weeknights, there is no one at the front desk after 6:00 pm, just a posted emergency number for "security," so asking for a room change wasn't an option by the time we returned from dinner (miles away) and discovered the problems. When we checked out, the desk clerk appeared annoyed that I asked for a paid receipt, and neither of the two people behind the desk asked how our stay was (I did leave a written list of our concerns in the comment envelope provided in the room). Of the seven different places we stayed during our trip, this was the only disappointment.

  • Liked — Proximity to Stowe
  • Disliked — Large amounts of bird droppings on balcony chairs, overall neglect
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadDuo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bolton Valley hotels

PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

We booked a room at this “resort” (notice the quotes—I’ll get to that in a minute) through Hotels.com because we were traveling through Vermont and wanted to stay near Stowe. Hotels.com told us the hotel was 7 miles outside of Stowe (they said there were no vacancies for Stowe itself). We were tired, traveling with a young child and wanting a hotel where we could swim, eat and go to bed. Hotels.com claimed the hotel had a restaurant, and a heated indoor pool.

Well, we arrived at the hotel to find that the restaurant was closed for the season, the heated indoor pool was in a heated room, but the pool itself was not heated (daughter turned blue and chattering after 3 mins in water) The pool room itself was moldy—there was black mold in the grout all along the pool’s caulking and the cement floor was seriously scary. Our bed was hoisted up on cinder blocks so it wouldn’t fall off the broken bed frame, the coverlet was stained and sticky, the screen door did not close tightly and mosquitoes swarmed our room all night long (no air conditioning, so we left the door open for air). So we decided to travel the 7 miles into Stowe to find another hotel—that 7 miles was actually 20+ miles!.

I looked at some of the hotel’s literature on their ski trails and they do have quite a set-up for the backcountry skier. I would recommend this place for someone who would be outside the entire time and didn’t much care what kind of bed, or facilities were waiting for them on their return for skiing all day—but I would not recommend this “resort” for anyone who is actually looking for a resort!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — the whole thing was AWFUL
  • Tips/Secrets — Drive around Stowe and just walk into a place that looks nice and ask for a room--don't use Hotles.com
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank sheeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2006

This hotel was clean, but worn out. Room contained what you would expect of a Super8Motel or Motel 6 (2 beds, dresser, small table, two wooden chairs), although actually the Super8 has more amenities. Thankfully we could use the balcony as our refrigerator as there was no refrigerator in the room (and not a microwave to be found).

The continental breakfast was marginal (no milk to drink for my two little children) and offered in a tiny deli that was reached only by going outdoors. We had dinner in the hotel's Tavern, which offered a cozy atmosphere and tasy pizza from their new pizzeria next door. The "food court" downstairs was cozy with its natural stone fireplace, but in need of a really good cleaning.

As we were previewing a timeshare, we paid very little for the room/lift tickets. However, if I was paying the regular $100+ for the room, I would've been terriby disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2005

I thought I would add my reflection on staying and skiing at Bolton Valley. We booked a suite as a part of a package at the end of the season, at a great price. It had a full kitchen and accommodated 4 comfortably. It was decent but not exceptional. No fuctional problems with anything as I recall. The hotel room my friends were in was a little worn. The hotel itself was a maze. Getting from one part of the complex to another was not simple and required going outside or in order to get to some rooms off the elevator, required going up or down steps. Never-the-less, we had a great time especially as a group. The mountain was large enough to make the trip worthwhile but logistics were such that you could wait at the base for whoever you're looking for. Being a ski in /ski out location adds a big plus to the factor. Free covered parking in the garage gets points too. On the mountain during the weekend, activites were taking place where samples of Vermont products we given out (cheese, syrup, yogart etc.) That reminds me. Bring food as there are not many dining choices or none at all if the restaurant is closed. The pool, although a little walk away from the main hotel, was a good size and temperture. Access to the resort is up a hill and when we went out to Burlington to the Magic Hat Brewery and Burton Snowboard Factory it snowed. Our friends without four-wheel-drive almost didn't make it back up. It is a nice mountain for all skill levels and not at all crowded when we were there. I suspect most skiers bypass Bolton Valley for Stowe or other big name resorts. Since not all of the mountain was not open in late March when we were there, I would go again to ski the trails I missed. Especially if the price is right. A good stop for a ski bum.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nomadd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Valley
13.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
9.7 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
11.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
11.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
0.4 km away
Lotus Lodge Inn
Lotus Lodge Inn
#2 of 2 in Bolton Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area

Property: The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area
Address: 4302 Bolton Access Road, Bolton Valley, VT 05477
Region: United States > Vermont > Bolton Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Valley
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,430 - ₹ 39,188
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont Skiing and Riding at its best!Bolton Valley Vermont is a unique, high mountain alpine ski village surrounded by over 5,000 pristine acres. At Bolton Valley the recreational opportunities are as numerous as the views are spectacular. In the winter, whether your're interested in skiing or snowboarding, telemark or Nordic, backcountry or night skiing, Bolton Valley has it all in abundance. After your legs have had enough, relax in the Sports Center's jacuzzi, heated pool or warm up in the sauna. Need more activities? Join a basketball game, play tennis, or work out in the exercise center. There is no limit on ways to stay active at Bolton Valley. Great food? We have that too. Want to stay in slope side lodging? Look no further. All lodging, whether it be the Inn accommodations, suites, or condominiums, are all slopeside or within a short walking distance. No cars needed at Bolton Valley, it's all right here. We are family friendly, affordable, and offer loads of fun. Bolton Valley is the place to get away and enjoy the best Vermont has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn Bolton Valley & Ski Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolton Valley Hotel Bolton Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing