We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly well priced”

Barnard General Store
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Barnard
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Very friendly staff, reasonable prices, wide range of items offered for such a small shop and of course a beautiful view of the lake from the doorstep!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank memee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pancakes"
in 3 reviews
"great sandwiches"
in 3 reviews
"silver lake"
in 6 reviews
"ice cream"
in 2 reviews
"supplies"
in 3 reviews
"vermont"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2018

We have been to the Barnard General Store many times over the years for quick supplies (snacks, ice) while camping at Silver Lake, and for sandwiches and ice cream. Its great to get things on the run. Most-recently, we visited to meet friends for breakfast because we'd all never been for a sit down breakfast there. The food was decent, despite being served overcooked (WAY overcooked) potatoes in the home fries. I was VERY hungry, ordered simple eggs and toast, and cleared my plate. For lunch, I am a fan of the reuben sandwich. I will say that ordering here is a bit complicated. You order at the food service counter in the back of the store, but must pay for your meal at the register at the front. This also means that you get your own coffee or juice at the self-service station near the back of the store, and buy it at the front register, then return to your table to eat/drink. It doesn't seem like a great system for anyone involved. I would definitely eat here again, but knowing how the lay of the land is, I would just try to streamline the drink and food purchase/payment process. Also, I must note, this place is old and creaky, which just gives it charm...but its also HOT in the summer and doesn't have any real a/c. This is a non-issue for me, but could be a problem for others visiting the store.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JennInJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Located across from a small Lakeshore, the Barnard General Store, is a great place to pick up a picnic lunch, and anything else you might need on a lazy morning in Vermont.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Without hesitation, the best pancakes I have ever had. The gouda bacon and egg sandwich was also extremely tasty. Loved our short stop in for breakfast here - a charming slice of rural VT. Don't miss this place!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank khn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Although not yet the community hub it aspires to be, the BGS has much going for it. For such a tiny place, the grocery selection is great and well priced. Wine selection is perhaps even better. It is well deserving of our support!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnard General Store also viewed

Been to Barnard General Store? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing