We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Near perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Farms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin Farms
Ranked #2 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Near perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have been going to Twin Farms for years and it has never disappointed. The setting and service are spectacular. We love to go in winter for the miles of trails for snow-shoeing, cross country skiing, sledding and even down-hill skiing on their own lovely small mountain. The rooms are unique and beautiful and the food is delicious - you even fill out a survey before your first visit so that every like and dislike is known in advance. This is an expensive treat but totally worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Twin Farms, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Debbie,

So good to hear that you are a fan of the winter activities on Twin Farms' private trails and slopes. With only 20 accommodations on 300 acres, there's plenty of room to play! Have you ever ice skated on Copper Pond? Indulged in s'mores near an open fire? If there are any seasonal additions you might recommend, please let us know. We love new ideas that enhance the Twin Farms tradition.

Thanks again for visiting. We look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards, Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

upon arrival, it's apparent this place is pretty laid-back. there's no check-in, the staff is dressed neatly in a button-down and khakis (no suits), and after a quick orientation you're off to do as you please. we went when it was pretty cold (i wondered if the temperature was in C or F at first) but because of the fluctuating global warming winter weather, there wasn't enough snow on the ground to do winter activities (e.g. ski--they have 5 slopes including a black diamond, ice skate, snowshoe, sledding). we did some hiking including climbing up the black diamond slope and visited the o-furo. other than that, we ate a lot, used the gym, tried our hand at stave--which is actually quite addictive but slow progress, and my guy always looked forward to building another fire in the fireplace. the property has hiking boots, walking sticks, fanny packs, skis, sleds, hockey skates and sticks, canoe.

food: they have really good ingredients for the food but the flavors are a little understated. there's a good variety of cuisine from mexican to asian to creative american. the food is elegant but sometimes you just crave a big bowl of spaghetti and meatballs. i think the portions are enormous and had to stop finishing my meals cuz i was never hungry for my next meal. afternoon tea is set up with teacakes and a bowl of fruit but you can knock on the staff door and ask for fresh tea, tea sandwiches and scones. they didn't have clotted cream however.

atmosphere: as other raters have said, there's a lot of regulars here, something like 75% of guests are repeat customers. we didn't get anyone's names but we chatted with many guests who were friendly. mostly people are in their own world tho. the first night, the GM introduced himself and went about taking care of the guests just like other staff. outside of mealtime, you'll rarely see any workers, or guests, around the main house. the artwork, which is everywhere, is fun to check out too.

overall, you can just ask and do and eat whatever you want here. it's a fun place, not stuffy and very relaxing, and staff/service is definitely up there--friendly, professional but not overdone.

Room Tip: see if you can get a tour of rooms/cottages for future visits
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel was so accommodating that we still have not figured out how they did it. Even though it seems expensive, the rates are fair considering the level of food, wine, service and amenities which are all included. Everyone there seemed to be a repeat guest...no surprise that Twin Farms has earned such loyalty.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

It was our second trip to Twin Farms. Last one was 5 years ago. Hesitated going back because we could not imagine anything ever being that good a second time. If anything it was even better. They still had our dietary likes and dislikes, and provided an opportunity for us to give a brief update, which we did. We wanted luxury, privacy, and personal attention and treatment. In our opinion, Twin Farms is the best luxury retreat in America.

Room Tip: For total privacy and romance, select a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesa3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We had heard of Twin Farms but had little idea of what to expect upon arriving to the property. Words can not adequately express how wonderful the entire experience was.
Being a foodie from the Napa Valley I was blown away by the food, wine and service. On a par with any of our Michelin 3 star restaurants, yet in a natural and quiet environment. Service throughout the property and our stay was impeccable with the perfect mix of warmth and professionalism. The cabins were amazing ! We were fortunate enough to stay in Studio and spent our first hour being blown away by the original artwork. The cabins are really small homes and we found it so comfortable to enjoy our cabin and spend time exploring the property. We both had wonderful spa experiences and ended up extending our stay by two days. Definitely not an inexpensive place to stay but given the food and wine, quality and service, very well worth it. Our stay will go down as one of the best vacations in my lifetime. Finally, on our second night we were speaking with some newly arriving guests and they asked how long we had been at Twin Farms. We both looked at one another and really had to think that it had only been 24 hours. A timeless and priceless experience...

Room Tip: Check on line to look at all of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napavalleydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
13.2 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
18.3 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
12.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
12.6 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
28.0 km away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Farms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Farms

Property: Twin Farms
Address: 452 Royalton Turnpike, 452 Royalton Turnpike, Barnard, VT 05031
Region: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,10,777 - ₹ 1,68,271
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance and folklore, Twin Farms is Vermont’s only luxury, five-star experience. With a sophisticated yet eccentric private art collection throughout 20 uniquely-designed accommodations ensconced in 300 acres, Twin Farms customizes every detail. Indulge in gourmet meals and fine wine. Pursue outdoor adventures. Retreat and relax. Engage in serious, contemplative work. Reconnect with people you love. Inspire yourself with possibilities. Savor infinite value. It’s all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Twin Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Farms Hotel Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing