We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful”

Rustler's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Tropic
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 27
Description: Welcome to Rustler's Restaurant. We are located in the quaint town of Tropic, just below Bryce Canyon. Here at Rustler's we strive to give you the best experience we can. We offer a variety of food choices to choose from and serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner! We invite you to come and dine with us and enjoy our Rustic, Western atmosphere. We are excited to serve you and hope you enjoy your experience at Rustler's!
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Rustler's Restaurant. We are located in the quaint town of Tropic, just below Bryce Canyon. Here at Rustler's we strive to give you the best experience we can. We offer a variety of food choices to choose from and serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner! We invite you to come and dine with us and enjoy our Rustic, Western atmosphere. We are excited to serve you and hope you enjoy your experience at Rustler's!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It’s the only restaurant open in town at this time. You should definitely plan to cook something yourself if you come here in April. We waited 40 minutes to get seated, then we got bread and water. About 5 minutes later the waitress came to take our orders. We were debating on getting up and leaving because it took almost 90 minutes to even hear from our waitress again. When we got our food, it was sub par and that’s being generous. The flat iron steak my friend ordered medium well came out rare. When we asked for it to be cooked a little longer, the cook just browned the edges because it was still rare. The burgers we ordered might’ve been good if they weren’t drowning in BBQ sauce and the ribs were so tough we had the saw off the actual meat because you could not pull them apart. Altogether terrible experience and it was just way to expensive. Save time and money and don’t go here.

1  Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmzC16, Owner at Rustler's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Well sir, when you have a line out the door and only so many tables and servers there is going to be a wait and we do the best to accommodate. It’s called being patient due to the situation! I know first hand you did NOT wait 90 minutes to hear from the server again. That is absolutely ridiculous. No server would leave you sitting that long!!! The burgers are NOT drowned in BBQ sauce unless you ordered it that way! Never have our ribs been so tough that you had to saw through them either. The way I see it, no matter what was done for you you would not have been pleased. I don’t appreciate comments on here that are full of lies!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Clean restaurant, great service, food was not great. It was close and recommended. I would try somewhere else next time.

Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

There is not much to choose from in this little town (or in Bryce for that matter) so we were pleasantly surprised that our dinner was as good as it was at this place. They were out of taco fillings so they offered us their pulled pork in our tacos and they were terrific that way! We were there in March before high season kicked in and there are other options once things open in April. But if this is one of your only choices, go and request pulled pork tacos! Our waitress was great too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OregonSelkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The restaurant only just opened for this season a week before we got there. We were lucky to be able to get food when walking in after 8pm. They are still serving winter menu so not a lot of option yet. For the drinks, you have to ask them what they have as the menu is not updated in winter season. I ordered the flat iron steak which was not bad although I woud like a bigger portion. I also ordered a glass of wine but saddly spilled most of it on my jeans. Service is good. We ended up chatting with the waitress after all the other guests left. Price is reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Visiting Bryce Canyon in March, there are really only three restaurants open, so we thought we’d try all of them. Rustler’s is operating on a winter menu, which was pretty meager. The fish and chips was dry and almost unappetizing. Frozen fish from the grocery store is definitely superior. The chicken burrito was okay, but the chicken was dry and needed all the sauce smothering it. Service was adequate, but sort of disappointing given that our server had only one other table. Overall, underwhelming. Should have just gone to Ruby’s Inn Restaurant again instead of driving to Tropic.

Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustler's Restaurant also viewed

 
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Rustler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing