We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austria in Utah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goldener Hirsch Inn
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Park City
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I hate to let anyone in on this secret but you have to be crazy not to try the Goldener Hirsch if you are even considering that other high end Deer Valley, mid mountain Lodge. 20 or so rooms, the best management, courtesy of the very dapper Kelly Davidson, I have ever seen and then there's the food - fodue, belgian beer, gourmet mac and cheese - awesome.
Austrian antiques surround the four floors, we have gone back here every year for 8 years now and just signed up again for next.
As Kelly told me on our way out yesterday - "whatever you need, this is your house..." Indeed. My suggestion, make it your Deer Valley house....

Room Tip: You can't go wrong but skip the first floor...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Goldener Hirsch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Goldener is truly a unique property. I could go on about the physical reasons for this which are many and positive: Ski-in/Ski-out in Silver Lake Village at Deer Valley, wonderful ambiance of an Austrian ski chalet, incredibly comfortable beds, spacious rooms, clean and well-maintained, great cozy and top-notch restaurant where my kids and I had a fantastic New Year's Eve dinner of wiener schnitzel, red cabbage and spaetzle -Yum!, and THE BEST apres-ski in Deer Valley or Park City.

The most important distinguishing element for me, however, is the level of personalized service you will receive from the General Manager, Kelley Davidson, and all of his staff, particularly Doug Whitlock. These two professionals remind me of what hostelry should be. Staying at the Goldener is like stepping back into a more refined time and place.

My family of five has been staying here regularly since 2002. We began coming in the Winter for skiing and then started coming in the summer as well. For me, all other hotels in Deer Valley and Park City cannot come close to what is achieved here!

Warning: If what you are looking for is slick, cutting-edge and pretentious, Goldener is not the right choice. If you look for those qualities that stand the test of time, and a very picky inn guest (i.e. "me"), you have found your home away from home in the mountains of Utah.

Room Tip: I love them all, but the consummate in privacy are the suites on the very top floor. They are right...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaobella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Wow, what a great experience. The general manager actively participates in welcoming guest to this lovely small hotel (that doesnt' mean the rooms aren't spacious). He even resolved a lift ticket issue we encounter with Deer Valley. The buffet breakfast also had chef prepare specials each day and the cookies and hot chocolate await you after skiing. the dining was maverlous. this is truly a gem. The staff are all friendly and i believe they all seem to enjoy their work as well as each other ,smiles abound. Loved the aveda products. It is always a plus to have a room refrig.,fireplace ,balcony ,humidifer, great showers, goosedown 2 flat tvs, Ya'll need to do it.... The trip was great even though there is a serious lack of snowfall so far this year.....the goldner hirsch made it GREAT

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littledix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

From the moment we entered this charming Inn, we felt enveloped in warm and loving arms. Every aspect of this stay was wonderful. Our suite was gracious and comfortable. At every turn of the hall way we came upon a lovely piece of European furniture with inviting chairs or plates of cookies. The restaurant was beautiful, delicious food served with the utmost attention. The staff is professional, courteous and goes to extremes to please. We highly recommend the Goldener Hirsch Inn in Deer Valley, Utah.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ski slopes are lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Traveling from Boulder to Santa Cruz to get my son back into the Fall semester, we thought stopping in Deer Valley would be a perfect rest stop near our halfway point. Boy, was it!

Our navigation screen brought us to their door without a hiccup. Although we arrived late, the night auditor was smiling at the front desk when we arrived. He greeted us by name (guess we were the last to arrive that night), walked us to our room asking about our journey, and invited us to get the kinks out from our long drive by relaxing in the spa.

The room was great. Spacious and overlooking the quiet cobblestone courtyard. The foldout couch was made up for my son before we entered. The beautiful handmade wooden farm implements decoratively on the walls were aesthetically beautiful and led to a memorable discussion with my son. The comfortable beds (even the foldout bed) were complimented by the cool mountain air for a great night sleep.

The next morning the GM joined us for a great chat at the lovely breakfast they offered. My son was having such a good time talking with him, we got on the road a bit late - but having thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

If the unusual name is hard to remember - use my son's observation - why settle for mere Gold when Goldener is more enjoyable without a hitch. See if you don't agree.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3rdGenDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.1 km away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
0.2 km away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
4.7 km away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Washington School House Hotel
2.0 km away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
859 reviews
2.7 km away
Main & SKY
Main & SKY
#33 of 60 in Park City
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldener Hirsch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldener Hirsch Inn

Address: 7570 Royal St, Park City, UT 84060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Park City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Park City
Price Range: ₹ 16,501 - ₹ 82,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldener Hirsch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goldener Hirsch Inn, Park City's premier small luxury hotel, family owned and operated since 1992 and nestled in the heart of Deer Valley Resort's Silver Lake Village. This European-style mountainside inn, named for the Hotel Godlener Hirsch in Salzburg, Austria has just 20 rooms allowing it offer intimate, personalized service alongside five star amenities, including European-King sized beds, plush robes and slippers and an acclaimed Restaurant that has attracted rave reviews near and far for it's Modern Alpine Cuisine - voted the country's "Best Ski Boutique Hotel" at the 2013 and 2015 World Ski Awards and awarded the prestigious Four Diamond award from Triple A several years running - this unique lodging experience is not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Goldener Hirsch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel Park City
Goldener Hirsch Inn Park City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing