We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable -- older but taken care of”
Review of Canyon Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable -- older but taken care of”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a small motel which makes it nice. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. They are a bit small but there is a closet which helped and an extra luggage rack in the bathroom behind the door. I have this thing for a good shower in the morning. The quality of the shower can make or break a place for me. This shower made it. Usually in older motels the shower hits you in the chest. The owners here were smart enough to get the extension that raises it to a nice level. There is tons of water and its hot. The room was quiet, no noise from either side and no road noise. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    35
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
45
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A nice honest place thats clean and more than does the job. Staff are the nicest people on the planet!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The exterior of this hotel looks like many of the hotels in Panguitch - cute drive up to your door types. The fellow who checked us in was friendly enough. There were tiny packaged danishes at the front desk and the sign said you could have one free and then you had to pay .50 cents for any extra. I'm assuming this was breakfast? At any rate we passed on the freebie. The room was ok but the decor is a bit of a mish mash - there is no fridge or microwave and a coffee maker with one package of coffee and one decaf. The room was clean and the shower had great water pressure. The sign on the motel said free wi-fi but it only worked for the first half hour that we were there. Our confirmed reservation was for a queen bed but I'm pretty sure it was a double and the matress was not overly comforatable. There is not a deadbolt on the door only a nob lock and the curtains didn't fully block the outside light that seemed to be on all night.. Overall it is a clean motel but we just felt that they could have done a bit better. It was ok for the night but would not have wanted to have spent any longer there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithkids95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Canyon Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
We are sorry when we get bad reviews on our motel. We are by no means the Hilton. We purchased the property just under 5 years ago. The place has come a long way. We have put all our blood sweat and yes a few tears into it. Yes we have much room for improvement. Why do people feel like they have to make coments like these behind our backs or in the saftey of a web site. Did you ask for another room, did you see if there was someone you could talk to. Our office is open 24 hours a day, the number is listed on each of the doors in the rooms. We are family owned and have the need to be home for sleep once in awhile. We are working hard to make the place a beautiful clean place. My wife has just been diagnosed with cancer and has has to step away from the motel. We find her over there when needed but it is very dangerious on her health. We do the best we can. Nobody is perfict. We get many guests who love the place and what we have done with it. Unfortunatally it is the ones that have had nice stays' that don't need to write. It is the ones that have had a bad day and you can't please them no matter what are the ones that use web sites like these. Don't let someone make up your mind for you. Come see us, give us a chance. Our Motto is you come as strangers but leave as friends. We want to make your trip an enjoyable one. We sacrafice alot of our own family life in order to help you enjoy yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at thim motel a few nights ago. It is an AMERICAN family owned and operated motel. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. They gave us tips of the area and were there for our every need.
One of the family members is having a hard time with her health and was having to work the night we checked in. Even though you could tell she was struggling with her chemotherapy, she put on a smile and did everything she could to make us feel at home. Yes this is an older motel but it is VERY clean and have a very warm feeling attached to it. We left the next morning feeling like part of the family.
I don't know what the person said about the beds for we had two brand new pillow top beds and the room was everything we expected. The woman at the counter stressed that they were available any time day or night. We had no problems or issues. I think if people have a bad night, they should think twice before they blame the owners. You can tell they are doing their best. Maybe if you want a 200 dollar room for 69 dollars you should stay somewhere else. We had a wonderful time and a great experience. Give this place a try and don't go off people that obviousely are hard to please. The owners of this place realy go out of their way to make you feel happy and welcome. Give them a break, they have the right to some sleep and some time away. It is hard to run a place 24/7 without any breaks.
Hope you have a as great visit as we did. Can't wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just walk in the office, you will know right away your in the right spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A last minute decision to go to Bryce Canyon sent us scrambling to find a room for the night. We checked the Internet for every motel starting with those closest to the Canyon and working our way north in the direction of the next days travel. In Panguitch only 25 minutes from the park we got the last room in the most northern motel in town. Probably built in the 50s Canyon lodge is run by a young couple and a great find. It will definitely be our first choice next trip through.

Room Tip: As to stay in the older section. More charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panguitch
8.9 km away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
470 reviews
0.4 km away
Purple Sage Motel
Purple Sage Motel
#2 of 14 in Panguitch
253 reviews
0.5 km away
Color Country Motel
Color Country Motel
#4 of 14 in Panguitch
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
29.8 km away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,718 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Panguitch
Days Inn Panguitch
#10 of 14 in Panguitch
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge Motel

Property: Canyon Lodge Motel
Address: 210 N. Main St, PO Box 992, Panguitch, UT 84759
Region: United States > Utah > Panguitch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Panguitch
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 8,598
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Canyon Lodge, a family owned and operated motel. My name is Lisa, and I run the motel with the help of my husband, Benjamin and our 4 children. Our little motel has 10 rooms and easy parking. Our rooms are NON-SMOKING and offer Heating, A/C, Fridge, Microwave, Cable TV, Coffee-Maker, WiFi, and Alarm Clock. There is guest access to an Ice Machine, and BBQ area with Picnic Table. In the near future, we will offer laundry facilities! We are located just 25 miles from Bryce Canyon in the historic city of Panguitch. We look forward to providing you a place to stay while you visit this beautiful area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canyon Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Panguitch
Canyon Lodge Motel Panguitch, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing