We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ogden
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Reviewed 2 November 2011

HI Express is always my hotel of choice for traveling. I always appreciate the clean rooms and great breakfast selection. HI Express Ogden has a great location and the staff was nice and helpful. It is 5-10 minutes from the historic downtown Ogden that has great local restaurants.

Room Tip: I booked my room online and selected the 'room with a view option'. And my room does have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InterestedTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

After checking out the rates and hotels in Salt Lake City, mom and I opted for the extra few miles and went north to Ogden. Thank goodness. The Holiday Inn Express was easy to find right off the highway. Super nice hostess, warm cookies and a gift bag to greet us. Handicap room was super spacious, king bed was very comfortable, and great bathroom with hand hold bars for mom. Had dinner at Cactus Reds right out the front door of the hotel. Good Mexican/Barbque food. Real nice folks. Wonderful breakfast served in a very nice room off the lobby. Definetly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Handicap room was great. Met all our needs. Had a small "living room" with a wet bar, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Pleasantly surprised by this HI Express just off the freeway. It is less than 10 years old, fresh and clean. Ask for a room in the back of the building so you aren't facing the freeway and so you are facing the beautiful mountain range.

The very large breakfast area was well stocked. This was the only motel we stayed at this trip that had a pancake machine, which delighted the girls.

The restaurant, Red's, across the parking lot was just OK but seemed to be popular with the locals. I am spoiled though, since we have great Mexican food in California.

Would definitely stay here again, online hotel rate was good and free Internet

Room Tip: Ask for back of property, great views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice - once at the end of July, 2011 on the way to Wyoming and once a week later on the way back. The first night stay was great! The second night, not so much.

On the first night we were running late, so I called and spoke to the front desk rep who told me not to worry, our room was waiting for us. When we arrived, she quickly checked us in and handed us a bag full of goodies! Since we had paid in advance in full for our room, I didn't want to have to use a credit card for incidentals (knew we wouldn't have any), so she said she would take an imprint only. We had had problems with being overcharged when we'd paid in full in the past, which is why we didn't want to have them authorize our card. Anyhow, the front desk rep did exactly as we asked and all was done with a smile. The hotel appears to have been recently remodeled and was an upgraded version of other Holiday Inn Express hotels we've stayed in. Our room was nice, with two double beds, which were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well-stocked. Room service is available from the restaurant across the street. It's not the nicest location...next to the 1-15, but the noise from the freeway was minimal inside the hotel. We had a comfortable sleep before our long drive the next day and ate a lovely (free) breakfast of scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls and coffee in the breakfast room on the first floor. The swimming pool was small, but warm and there was a hot tub and exercise room available, too. Wifi was free. For the $89 we paid, it was worth it. By the way, the woman tending to breakfast was sweet and very helpful and kept everything clean. All in all, our first night was great!

The second night, on our way back from Wyoming was not so great. The hotel was completely booked and the front desk staff seemed stressed. They asked for a credit card for incidentals and I told them about our stay the week before...that the front desk clerk only took an imprint of our card. Both women looked appalled that I would even ask to do such a thing! The one woman looked at me like I was a criminal and said, "Well, I'll have to talk to her about that!" She then told me that I would need to leave a $150 cash deposit, in addition to the $89 I had already paid in advance, to stay there. We didn't feel like looking for another hotel, so we forked over the cash and made sure to get a receipt for it to get it back in the morning. When we got to our room, we found that we had been upgraded to a larger room, since the hotel was fully booked. This was a very pleasant surprise! The room had a small "living room" space, as well as a tiny kitchen with sink, stove and microwave. The bathroom was about the same size as the other room. We settled in after spending a few hours in Ogden. My daughter noticed that there was toilet paper in the toilet leftover from before we had been in the room. She flushed the toilet and the toilet EXPLODED and started to flood the bathroom. My husband called down to the front desk to ask for a plunger. The staff said they would get one to us, but never did. He finally went downstairs and got one himself, then tried to clear out the toilet. It didn't go down, so he called the front desk again and was told there was no one on site who could help us. She said she would see what she could do. A while later she called and told me that that the maintenance person was coming to the hotel to try to fix the toilet, but he had to drive to the hotel, so it would be while... He finally arrived at close to 10pm, tried to snake it, but it didn't work, left, came back and tried a different snake. That didn't work either. At that point he apologized, said he would let the front desk know and we wouldn't have to pay for the night, but we wouldn't be able to use the toilet at all...that we would have to go downstairs to the first floor to use the toilet. We called the front desk and were told that there were "no rooms available anywhere in Ogden," so we would have to stay in the room. No one came up to clean up the mess, so we had to sleep in the room with filth on the floor of the bathroom all night. The next morning, when I went downstairs to collect my $150, the front desk rep told me that she would need to have the room inspected before she would give us our money back. I couldn't believe it, but said fine. Then I asked her if she knew about what happened the night before. She said, with a look of disgust, "Yes, your toilet overflowed." I said, "Yes, with someone else's poop and we had to sleep in that room." She asked, "Someone else's poop? It wasn't your poop?" I told her, "No, it wasn't my poop!" She then started typing like crazy on her keyboard and then said, "Oh, I guess you want a refund for the night. " "Yes," I said, "I want a refund for the night and my $150 deposit back!" "We'll have someone inspect the room right away," she said curtly. At that point we stopped to have breakfast in the breakfast room, which was again quite good, and then went to the room to gather our bags. We ran into the maintenance guy from the night before and he told us that it was a plumbing issue that involved more than just our room and again apologized. The maid who inspected our room apologized, too, that we had to stay in a room like that all night. At the front desk, when I walked up this time, the woman was stuttering! "I guess this is a bigger plumbing issue than we originally thought. We're having to bring in a professional plumber. So sorry that you had this happen to you. We've credited you for your stay last night." She also gave me the $150.

Would we stay here again? Probably, but they really need to work on their front desk staff. Guests should not be made to stay in a room with human waste on the bathroom floor. They should have done everything possible to get us out of that room! If it weren't for the second night, though, I would have rated this hotel higher.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel. There are two large grassy areas to walk dogs and you can request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacaymommv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Loved this location very clean easy to find and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarksLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 21 in Ogden
313 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus High Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
3.1 km away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#6 of 21 in Ogden
135 reviews
3.5 km away
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogden

Address: 2245 S 1200 W, Ogden, UT 84401-0260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ogden
#5 Business Hotel in Ogden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
Price Range: ₹ 6,114 - ₹ 9,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ogden is located 2 miles from Historic 25th Street, 3 miles from Ogden Hinckley Airport, and 35 miles from the Salt Lake City International Airport. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy such activities as downhill skiing at one of three area resorts--Snowbasin, Powder Mountain, and Wolf Mountain; hiking and biking on miles of mountain trails; and boating and fishing at one of many nearby lakes or reservoirs. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ogden, offers 75 guest rooms including 23 suites with our unique ability to accommodate 6 people per room, double occupancy. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, or you can enjoy our volleyball court, and sports court. Swim year round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Our conference rooms, equipped with state-of-the-art media equipment, make this an ideal place for executive retreats, banquets, seminars, conferences and training meetings. Wake up with our Express Start Continental breakfast featuring hot cheddar cheese omelets, sausage, bacon, cinnamon rolls and much more. This is a great location for everything Ogden has to offer: Snowbasin Ski Resort, Powder Mountain, Wolf Mountain, Lagoon Amusement Park, Dinosaur Park, Great Salt Lake, Golden Spike National Monument, Hill AFB Aerospace Museum. Visit Ogden, Utah and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel the best hotel in Ogden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogden Hotel Ogden
Holiday Inn Ogden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing