We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent horseride!”

Sacred Monument Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're a Jeep and Horseback tour service in Monument Valley located on the border of Utah and Arizona. The Sacred Monument Tours is a family owned business with over 20 years of experience. We guide visitors from all over the world inside the popular Navajo Tribal Park. Whether family, spouse or working professional we're here to help you get the best out of your stay.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Monument Valley and wanted to go horseriding. There was a booth offering horserides at the main parking lot. We are novices so we went on a 1,5 hours ride which was $ 85,- per person.

We absolutely loved the experience. Since you ride through the valley away from the main valley drive and cars, it is so quiet and peaceful. Really wonderful experience.

We had a good guide telling about Navajo, the valley and their horses.

Thank Martijn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leshanria T, Director of Sales at Sacred Monument Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

That's great! Thank you so much & hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 22 reviews
"hour jeep tour"
in 12 reviews
"horse ride"
in 10 reviews
"view hotel"
in 19 reviews
"great guide"
in 13 reviews
"navajo culture"
in 17 reviews
"photo spots"
in 3 reviews
"restricted area"
in 4 reviews
"these folks"
in 4 reviews
"native american"
in 3 reviews
"amazing tour"
in 4 reviews
"take pictures"
in 8 reviews
"riding experience"
in 3 reviews
"his life"
in 3 reviews
"john wayne"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful landscape"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

It was our dream to ride one more time on a horse in this wonderful valley ... under the guidance of a true Navajo guide. And that happened whit this company. It is easy to book on the internet and easy to find after you have signed up for the "boot" on the parking lot. The starting point is located a little further in the Valley. It was the young 'Shammie' who took us for a 2 hour trip. and soon, this young Native American has felt his feelings ... for us, whites, but also his private life .... He told about the loss of his mother and what that means for a Navajo. Ok, he did not tell so much about the Valley and his beautiful rocks, but you have to ask yourself. It was hot and the horses behaved exemplarily. And the guide did help if your horse did not want a windshield. The 2 hours were over before it was well understood. This is a very nice tour, along the most beautiful 'butes' in front of the park. The people of Sacred tours are also helpfull, if you can harder on and off the horse, they bring a step ladder. a real reminder to get the "Western" feel ... and respect for the Navajo peoples !!! and their culture. If you are in M.V... this tour is definitely recommended !!!!

Thank BigWLier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leshanria T, Director of Sales at Sacred Monument Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

The Navajo way is the right way! Thank you very much & hope too meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A friend and I took a 2.5 hour tour of Monument Valley with "Sacred Monument Tours" Felix, our driver was very knowledgeable - he had lived in the valley as a youngest. He was fully informed on the history of the valley - the people - it history. We took a Jeep Tour - just the two of us. - that decision was made because we felt it would be more interesting and informative than taking on of the "open truck" tours with 8 or 10 other people. I was more expensive but well worth the price. It was a highlight of or 10 day trip to National Parks and Monuments in the Southwest...

Thank HarryKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leshanria T, Director of Sales at Sacred Monument Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Felix will like this, thank you very much! Can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We had a great 3-hour photographic jeep tour. Roy was a pleasure to be with -- didn't talk too much, but when he did he provided good information. Was very willing to customize the trip to what we liked.

Thank JJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leshanria T, Director of Sales at Sacred Monument Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks for the feedback & score, we'll let Roy know. Hope to see you again and thanks for booking with Sacred Monument Tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked a 2 hour horseback ride through the Valley, as it seemed an appropriate way to go "off the beaten track" in a place like this. The staff was friendly and prepared for us, but our guide wasn't very engaging or informative, actually told one of my sons that he "doesn't like people". He only got animated when telling us which contemporary movies filmed in the valley.

Our enjoyment of the tour was mostly the activity of riding through the valley, whose views speak for themselves, and the horses which are well-trained.

I heartily recommend doing such a tour, but you should ask for a guide who actually wants to engage with the group.

Thank robigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leshanria T, Director of Sales at Sacred Monument Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

We apologize & hope to see you again. We're glad you enjoyed the breathtaking scenery on our tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sacred Monument Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sacred Monument Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing