We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
125
218
113
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
218
113
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beans swinging grill salad steak open fire monument valley ate here gas station across the street mobile home old west nothing fancy queen bed long drive room was clean and comfortable after a long day second floor motel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This was group travel,. so we had no say in places to stay. This motel was more than a surprise. Large well appointed rooms that are well maintained and clean. We were on the back side which has the best view of the river. Two-story motel, with no elevator. Front desk was accommodating to those who had difficulty in climbing stairs.

Room tip: Ask for the back side overlooking the river.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wolfcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This is a nice place to stop on your way to Monument Valley. The room was clean and comfortable, but the smokers on the patio were annoying. We didn’t want a meat-heavy meal so skipped the Swinging Steak Restaurant.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank AB4415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We booked room #10 on their website for Memorial weekend. This lodge is in Mexican Hat, which is a bit in the middle of nowhere. The surroundings are stunning and the distance to Monument Valley is about a 15 minute drive.
When we first got there we were somewhat underwhelmed. It looks a bit rundown and that day it was very windy so the dust blowing around didn't help either. Our corner room was nice and enough space for the two of us. We were ready for a beer after the drive from Phoenix so we had to go to the gas station across the street first and buy beers. Take those beers over to the Swinging Grill and drink it there. A bit of a mission but it worked fine. The restaurant is a relaxed place for a steak with beans and salad.
The next day the weather was much better, no wind so no dust, and the lodge looked a lot better as well. Sitting downstairs in the courtyard with many hummingbirds buzzing around. The place looks a bit messy but it also has a coziness to it. Remember, you are in the middle of nowhere so this place is nice and the location is good for seeing the attractions nearby.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arihonderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

While the Lodge is not fancy, it is warm, comfortable, charming and super convenient not to mention fairly priced. I cannot say enough about the service and work ethic of Waitress Rainey as well as her companion worker and head cook handling the “Swinging Steak” grill. The food was really, really good and this place is just a tiny little burg among the natural beauty of this part of Utah. Such good food and attentive service was a really pleasant surprise!

This place is SUPER ACCOMMODATIVE to motorcyclists who love to ride in this area. The owner’s son JD was most helpful to me in assisting me with some mechanical issues on my motorcycle. The entire staff went out of the way to be helpful and the whole place has a friendly, eclectic style that Is very comfortable. Those mesquite open fire steaks are really, really good in my opinion. I would come back here in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Largeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The three of us were very pleased with the 2 bedroom/1 bath unit that we rented last night. There is a restaurant on site "The Swingin' Steak". They also have a court yard with swings and chairs to relax after a long day of travel. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews