We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Sands Motel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanksville Inn(Hanksville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
175
196
54
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
196
54
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoblin valleysmall townlake powellcapitol reefburger placecontinental breakfastcabin roomsgas stationstan's burger shackan oasis in the desertconvenience storeremote locationplace to stayovernight stopworked finemicrowave and refrigeratorcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Bed was hard, pillows harder. No shower pressure, had to stand directly under shower head just to get wet. Heater was extremely loud. What was worse was that the door key only worked 1/4 of the time. It had to be jimmied to work. I do not recommend this motel and will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paysonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Not many choices in Hanksville- but the Whispering Sands Motel is a clean and conveniently located motel. Good for stopping enroute to or from Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squintykoreantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I made a reservation there because the location was perfect on our itinary from scenic 95 to Goblin State Park and Capitol Reef National Park. I wasn't expecting much. But what a nice surprise we had. The motel looks good, the room was very nice and very clean. It was quiet. The price was good also. The free continental breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door. A very complete continental breakfast (much better than many other breakfast we had in other motels, even chain motels). The only thing to complain, we weren't greeted with a smile at our arrival, it was plain and serious... maybe the lady had a bad day, that happens.
NB: If you plan to visit Capitol Reef from east going west, do not stay in Torrey, stay around Hanksville, you will enter Capitol Reef from a nice perspective and won't have to go back again on the same route you came from.

Room Tip: Ask to be on first floor to save yourself the stairs...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This motel really surprised us.
Many people come to Hanksville to hike, so we expected the room do be a little dirty from the dirty hikers (like us). Our room was spotless and the carpet felt brand new on our bare feet.
The beds are comfy and the A/C works great. The rooms even smell good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsoezgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were able to get a room here in Hanksville after exploring 3 nearby national parks all day long. The room rate was very reasonable, the hotel was quiet despite being full. The room had a microwave and refrigerator and wi-fi was easy to connect. Very clean, really nice towels and a lot of them! We went next door to Tony's for a quick dinner, show your room key and get 10 percent off. We plan to stay again this winter when we backcountry ski the nearby Henry Mountains. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divecozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews