We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Mirabel, Qc
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“What a surprise in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I made a reservation there because the location was perfect on our itinary from scenic 95 to Goblin State Park and Capitol Reef National Park. I wasn't expecting much. But what a nice surprise we had. The motel looks good, the room was very nice and very clean. It was quiet. The price was good also. The free continental breakfast is taken in the restaurant next door. A very complete continental breakfast (much better than many other breakfast we had in other motels, even chain motels). The only thing to complain, we weren't greeted with a smile at our arrival, it was plain and serious... maybe the lady had a bad day, that happens.
NB: If you plan to visit Capitol Reef from east going west, do not stay in Torrey, stay around Hanksville, you will enter Capitol Reef from a nice perspective and won't have to go back again on the same route you came from.

Room Tip: Ask to be on first floor to save yourself the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    180
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
80
192
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This motel really surprised us.
Many people come to Hanksville to hike, so we expected the room do be a little dirty from the dirty hikers (like us). Our room was spotless and the carpet felt brand new on our bare feet.
The beds are comfy and the A/C works great. The rooms even smell good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imsoezgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breckenridge,co
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were able to get a room here in Hanksville after exploring 3 nearby national parks all day long. The room rate was very reasonable, the hotel was quiet despite being full. The room had a microwave and refrigerator and wi-fi was easy to connect. Very clean, really nice towels and a lot of them! We went next door to Tony's for a quick dinner, show your room key and get 10 percent off. We plan to stay again this winter when we backcountry ski the nearby Henry Mountains. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divecozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed one night and had repaided for the room. The furnishings were up to date and well done. You could tell the owner looked after the rooms. You receive free "continential" breakfast at the Stan's burger place just down the road. It was a great cold breakfast with juices, coffee/hot water for tea, cereals, toast/muffins/danishes. You also could use your room key to get a 10% discount on other meals at Stans.

Rememeber to arrive after 3 pm to get checked into your room as I arrived just before 3 and the office had a sign that it opned at 3pm and the door was locked until then.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I stayed en route to Capitol Reef NP. Clean hotel which is critical to my wife. A bit pricey, but no other options around. Continental breakfast was fine. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGtravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,543 - ₹ 8,508
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing