We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spectacular location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just returned from 5 nights at this location. The setting is breathtaking and the architecture of the resort was for us a highlight. We booked a Mesa suite through American Express Platinum and were not given an upgrade. The pool area is lovely, relaxing and the attendants very accommodating however the menu for lunch and dinner very small, not particularly exciting and we had mixed service, some excellent some not. Several of the wait staff clearly need more training and "polish". Bearing in mind that the rooms are at least $1200 a night including taxes i think the resort was above average but not excellent. It is not an easy location to reach and if you do not drive in you are confined to the resort. I think some of the issues with the staff may be due to the fact that many are "locals" and frankly do not have wordly knowledge. I will try other Amman resorts as we have in the past.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    99
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
309
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We visited the resort during a very busy weekend. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Had so much fun!
Tried the helicopter ride over Monument Valley and tour the Slot Canyons. 3 days were too short.

Pros:
1. Wonderful array of complimentary activities, such as yoga class, nightly special program and guided hikes. The guide who took our group for a hike was very knowledgeable and pleasant.
2. Thoughtful and beautiful parting gift at end of our stay.
3. Nice hot stone/aroma massage at spa.
4. Food was fresh, tasty, healthy and of good quality (understandably on a pricy side). We had dinner for 3 nights. They offer 3 different kinds of seafood dishes. For lunch, do try fish taco and beet salad, they are great!
5. Marina, Mike and Marvin are genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. (We met Mike & Marvin last year at Amangani, and they still remember my daughter!)
6. One of the best places for star gazing (open view, no light pollution).
7. My daughter absolutely LOVE the comfy daybed.
8. Good variety of complimentary beverage and snack daily.

Cons:
1. Some of the dining room staff during dinner time were green (during the Spring break/Easter weekend). One waiter offered us the dinner special, saying that there were only two left, but returned shortly to tell us they do not offer the special after 8PM. He's not very familiar with the wine choices either.
2. Unlike Amangani, the slippers offered were not brand new pairs. I could clearly saw the dented heel mark on the slippers. When I called the front desk to confirm they have been used previously, the gentleman told me they did wash the slippers after each use.
3. Did not provide the kid's robe and slippers at our arrival. When we asked for it, they send them in during evening turndown service. (with a chocolate bar, which was a pleasant surprise to my kid).
4. Unlike Amangani, the library does not have any CD collections.

Room Tip: Mesa view and Desert view are exactly the same size. The views are not strikingly different. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chicago_ILBibi_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with stunning design in an amazing setting. It's actually better looking than the brochures and websites suggest. And it does have a calm and relaxing atmosphere. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful (although not all seemed to be fully up to speed with the details).

However, this place is clearly pitched at the very high end and should seem perfect. But compared to other hotels in this (high) price category it has work to do:
- The menu is short and although the cooking is reasonable (outstanding compared to anything else locally, but that is a very low bar), it really doesnt vary much and was quite boring after only a few days. The minimalist breakfast buffet is frankly dull and very poor value. I suspect the kitchen works best if you are visiting for only a few days. It is expensive for what is being offered.
- Our double bed was actually two singles pushed together, which created an uncomfortable ridge down the middle.
- No tea or coffee in the room.
- We booked via Mr & Mrs Smith which promised a room uprade ("if available"). No upgrade was given, but we were offered 30 minutes in the flotation rooom - not quite a like-for-like substitute!

Overall is was lovely but overpriced, and didnt hit the "must return asap" button.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanHoumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent 4 nights in this resort
Every thing is fantastic : the location, the room, the quietness, the trails from the resort.

A big asset of this hotel is D. Gallagher in charge of helping the guests for all the excursions: he is very helpful and pro active

On the "negative" side :
- no more specials if you eat after eight (we had to come earlier and make some special reservation)
- they charge a 10% service charge fee which was not put in the Amex reservation statement and the assistant manager said it was not his issue but AMEX one...
- don't expect any upfrade with Amex Platinium if you choose a Mesa suite : there is only one single room for upgrade, better chances to chose a desert suite and get upgraded in Mesa...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

One of our favorite vacations. Great place to stay and so much to see around this area. This place is close to so many national parks and monuments. People responsible for activity planning are very knowledgeable and friendly. Facilities and spa are great. Food is phenomenal. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanCo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
16.2 km away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
16.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
16.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
16.9 km away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
16.8 km away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741-0285
Region: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,12,816 - ₹ 1,75,292
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing