We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful peaceful place but overpriced”
Review of Amangiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amangiri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful place but overpriced”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with stunning design in an amazing setting. It's actually better looking than the brochures and websites suggest. And it does have a calm and relaxing atmosphere. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful (although not all seemed to be fully up to speed with the details).

However, this place is clearly pitched at the very high end and should seem perfect. But compared to other hotels in this (high) price category it has work to do:
- The menu is short and although the cooking is reasonable (outstanding compared to anything else locally, but that is a very low bar), it really doesnt vary much and was quite boring after only a few days. The minimalist breakfast buffet is frankly dull and very poor value. I suspect the kitchen works best if you are visiting for only a few days. It is expensive for what is being offered.
- Our double bed was actually two singles pushed together, which created an uncomfortable ridge down the middle.
- No tea or coffee in the room.
- We booked via Mr & Mrs Smith which promised a room uprade ("if available"). No upgrade was given, but we were offered 30 minutes in the flotation rooom - not quite a like-for-like substitute!

Overall is was lovely but overpriced, and didnt hit the "must return asap" button.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanHoumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    100
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
316
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent 4 nights in this resort
Every thing is fantastic : the location, the room, the quietness, the trails from the resort.

A big asset of this hotel is D. Gallagher in charge of helping the guests for all the excursions: he is very helpful and pro active

On the "negative" side :
- no more specials if you eat after eight (we had to come earlier and make some special reservation)
- they charge a 10% service charge fee which was not put in the Amex reservation statement and the assistant manager said it was not his issue but AMEX one...
- don't expect any upfrade with Amex Platinium if you choose a Mesa suite : there is only one single room for upgrade, better chances to chose a desert suite and get upgraded in Mesa...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

One of our favorite vacations. Great place to stay and so much to see around this area. This place is close to so many national parks and monuments. People responsible for activity planning are very knowledgeable and friendly. Facilities and spa are great. Food is phenomenal. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanCo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

It is a spectacular place, beautiful environment, amazing pool, perfect rooms, super views everywhere, fascinating walks around, lots to do, fantastic spa. The breakfast and food in general could be better. It is limited and sophisticated but not always for the best. Great service but something disappointing, depends of the team..The architecture worth the trip.. It is a life experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We went to this hotel after our skiing trip in Beaver Creek in February. The only drawback is that we stayed in Amangiri for only 2 nights and would be perfect if we could stay another night. We had 3 hikings , 2 organized by the hotel and 1 by ourselves in the early morning of the last day before departure. We enjoyed so much of the hikings that we even wanted to try the Ferrata climbing but just we didn't have enough time, what a shame! I would say the setting and location of the hotel is breathtaking. There are 3 BMW cars in the hotel offered to the hotel guest at no cost and we had used the BMW 6 series to Horseshoe bend and Antelope Canyon on the second day. One night we watched the stars in the sky with the help of a hotel staff who self studied the Astrology and gave us some idea where the North Pole
star is. I found it fun. Since all meals are included in the room rate and I think US$1,000 per room is more than reasonable when compared with the charges of other Aman resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mesa Views and that has panoramic view and near to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytraveller129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Water
16.2 km away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
16.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
17.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
16.8 km away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
16.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangiri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangiri

Property: Amangiri
Address: 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, Big Water, UT 84741
Region: United States > Utah > Big Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Water
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,03,553 - ₹ 1,88,566
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangiri (peaceful mountain) is located on 600 acres in Canyon Point, Southern Utah. The resort is tucked into a protected valley with sweeping views towards the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument. Built around a central swimming pool with spectacular views, the resort blends into its dramatic surrounds of deep canyons and towering plateaus. Amangiri's Aman Spa features a floatation therapy pavilion, a water pavilion with sauna, steam room, cold plunge pool and step pool, a fitness centre and a yoga pavilion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amangiri Hotel Big Water
Amangiri Utah/Big Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing