We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trucker stopping place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Title says it all. Truck parking on side roads, not fancy, but it beats sleeping in the truck

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Van Horn TX
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here as part of a 4,000+ mile road trip from Tucson, AZ to Wilmington, NC & back. This was the first stop on our trip. My husband & I were traveling with our dog, so we needed a place to stay along our route that was pet-friendly. We also needed a fridge & microwave in our room since we were bringing a lot of our own food on the trip. When we first got to the Days Inn the room seemed fine, but when I went into the bathroom it was very dirty. The tub was so old & dirty that it looked like it just needed to be replaced, which from other reviews of the construction hopefully it has now been replaced. But it was also dirty in general, on the sink near the soap bars there was a lot of dirt. Then I opened the microwave & something had exploded in there & not been cleaned. The next morning the electricity kept going on & off. This was during the big winter storm of February 2011 where nearly the entire country was experiencing freezing temperatures & there was snow on the ground even in many places that don't normally get snow (there was snow on the ground in Van Horn & we took a pic of our dog in snow before we left since we don't normally get snow in Tucson, AZ). I'm not sure if the electricity going on & off was a normal thing for this hotel, or if it was due to the winter storm. Either way, we decided to get out of there.

As my husband was packing up our car, a large dog walked right up to the front of our hotel room. The dog had a collar, but no tag, & there were no people around. We are HUGE animal lovers, & particularly dog lovers, so we would NEVER leave a lost or stray dog on the road if we could help it. We thought maybe it was someone's dog who was staying in the hotel, but when we went to the front desk they said it wasn't. They were extremely helpful, though, which is why my review which would have been about a 2 up until now gets bumped up to a 4. The people at the front desk actually started calling around to their neighbors to see if anyone was missing a dog! They also called animal control, & told us not to worry about checking out on time since we were trying to do a good thing (which we were worried we wouldn't get out by the late checkout time & would have to pay for another day, although we would have done that if we had to). They said animal control may take a long time to get there because they were busy with other issues from the winter storm (apparently since Van Horn is a small town their city workers are also their animal control officers), so we looked up the shelter online. We found the shelter was only a few minutes from the hotel, so my husband was going to take the dog there himself. As he was getting ready to take the dog to the shelter, the dog's owner drove up in a truck, he had been driving around looking for the dog! So it all worked out & had a great ending, & we even got out of the hotel before the late checkout time! But the fact that the front desk was so helpful & willing to let us stay as late as we needed to help the dog makes me really glad we stayed at this hotel, & we would stay there again if we ever had to stay in Van Horn. But I do hope they get better maid service, because the bathroom & microwave really should have been cleaned better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetheart930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

If you stay in Van Horn, stay at the Days Inn. It was a very nice stay with clean rooms. Sam was very nice and the hospitality was excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Would really rate it 2.5 but that wasn't an option. First impression was arriving at the Super 8 where the confirmations came from but we were indeed booked at the Days Inn several miles away off the main highway. That was sorta my mistake but the confirmation was confusing. The trains rambling through town actually sorta quaint... a little "My Cousin Vinny"ish. The bed was great and we appreciate being able to park just outside our room since we travel with 2 small pets. That however is where my compliments end, unfortunately. The room was not very clean, coffee filter from previous occupant still in coffee maker, a few stray hairs in the bedding, carpet smelled of urine, carpet wasn't thoroughly vacuumed (dog hair on the floor behind the chair) and cigarette burns in the bedspread. I wanted to keep my sox on all night. In the bathroom there were areas on the door frame with splashes of coffee and some of the paint was peeling away. No clock in th room. Not sure what happens with the pet fee, but it wasn't spent sanitizing the room. Probably would try something else next time through.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Illegal construction by owner. Foreign owned. Family run. Owners are trying to update rooms, but are putting old furniture and appliances back in the rooms. These businesses are required to obtain permits and inspections and hire legal licensed contractors for all work on the premises. This motel is a horrible concoction of non-professional construction and decorating.
The rates are higher than other hotels in this town and the owner did not give me a discount on my AAA card as he said he was going to.
A miserable night in a town with many trains barreling through town all night!

Room Tip: Check your room thoroughly before you pay for your room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
612 reviews
3.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
68 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
65 reviews
2.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 14 in Van Horn
55 reviews
2.7 km away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Van Horn TX? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Van Horn TX

Address: 600 East Broadway, I-10 @ Exit 140 B, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range: ₹ 3,799 - ₹ 5,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Van Horn TX 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Van Horn TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing