We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un-hurried Elegance”
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

In our travel planning, we look for experiences off the beaten path; it often allows us to experience the actual soul of a region rather than the front put up for tourists. These genuine places offer unique and unexpected amenities. Rose Hill Manor is one of those gems; a place for the unhurried and appreciative traveler as well as romantics of all ages. Located in Stonewall, three miles off US 290, it is a place that is not obvious to the typical traveler. In addition to the excellent breakfast offered each morning, a helpful staff, an extensive wine collection, and a DVD collection at your disposal, the Pedernales Wine Cellar is a short 50 yards down a boardwalk with free tastings for guests. In addition to an excellent dinner, our visit offered a free visit to the Garrison Brothers Bourbon distillery in Hye, Texas. Our accommodations in the Oak Grove Cottage were excellent - as seen the attached photos. We spent a total of five relaxing days as we explored the surrounding hill country. In summary, the best recommendation I can give is this – I would eagerly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grendyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We thank you very much for your wonderful comments, photos, and helpful guidance for other travelers to the Texas Hill Country! So glad that you all could stay with us five days -- you are right
in that we often hear from our guests that there is so much to see and do, and yet Rose Hill Manor is so relaxing -- sounds like you found a wonderful balance! When your next opportunity arises,
please come see us again. Many thanks from all the staff of Rose Hill Manor.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith and
Adam Ehmer, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I and my parents booked two cotteges here over mardi gras (had to get away from louisiana). This is a very nice property, located in a scenic part of hill country. We have a deer lease not far, so this is a nice place to stay with the family while my dad and I enjoy the other property.

The cottages were lovely and comfortable. Very spacious and clean. Breakfasts were included, and excellent. We all really enjoyed our stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joey1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

We are especially pleased when families and friends can coordinate schedules and arrange
a getaway as you all did! We know how hard that can be and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write. Very best regards from all the staff of Rose Hill Manor. Do come see us again!

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
and Adam Ehmer, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have eaten at Austin's on several occasions and decided to stay at the Manor on our last trip. We stayed in the main house and enjoyed two very lovely, rainy days in the hill country. We enjoyed sitting in the enclosed balcony watching the deer at sunset and playing scrabble. We planned on dinner Friday night at Austin's...the meal was incredible as always. We decided to have dinner at Austin's again Saturday night so we wouldn't have to drive after an afternoon of winery tours. We enjoyed a cocktail in the porch before our meal. It was a fabulous idea... a wonderful evening and weekend.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank krigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! The rain has certainly been welcome -- a banner
year for the wildflowers. It is our aim for all of our guests to be well fed and well rested, and we are delighted to hear your kind words. Please come visit us again when the opportunity arises!
Thanks so much from all of the staff of Rose Hill Manor.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith
and Adam Ehmer, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked Rose Hill Manor based on Tripadvisor recommendations and we were not disappointed! We booked two cottages with the verandas and were amazed with the beautiful view. The cottages are great for an evening rest on the veranda - we sat around on Saturday evening catching up with friends- very relaxing.

We loved the decor - very old fashioned yet there is a TV! The cottages were a very generous size and had everything you could need

We had dinner on the Friday night so we could explore on Saturday- we all had the steak so I can't comment on any other options - I was really surprised by how great the meal was!!

The breakfasts were just amazing and possibly my favorite thing about Rose Hill - the french toast is excellent and all my friends raved about the eggs benedict. Lots of juice and coffee and really sets you up for a day of exploring.

The B & B is in a great location for exploring - LBJ ranch, Fredericksburg, wineries etc. In fact they give you a map and coupons for local destinations. Check out the Garrison distillery.

Also the deer, llamas and Samantha(resident dog) added to the general atmosphere of the B & B..Feeding the llamas was a blast!

We will return to Rose Hill Manor and have more french toast!!

Room Tip: The only options available to us when we booked were the cottages so I can't speak for the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicaTexas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words re: Rose Hill. I will tell the breakfast chef you liked that french toast - we all like it too! Glad you enjoyed the new porches in the front of the Jasmine and Laurel cottages. Bob is just finishing those, and as soon as the contractor can get to us, we'll make it so you can go out the front door right onto the deck. We think the view is wonderful from that deck. Come back and see us again at Rose Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We checked in on a Saturday afternoon right at 3PM. Since it had been raining all day in Fredericksburg we were anxious to find the room and relax. We were greeted upon arrival and given a tour of the main house. We felt at home immediately. We were escorted to our cottage (we stayed at the Oak Grove Cottage) and the amenities were explained to us. The room was spotless and we loved the way the room was decorated. The bathroom is large and the towels are so soft. The bed is so comfortable as well. We had dinner there on Saturday night which worked out great because it was still raining outside and we did not want to venture out again. Dinner was delicious. The grilled spearfish was very good and the salad was wonderful. You can tell that the chef goes to great lengths to pair ingredients that go well together. Our waiters were very attentive. Breakfast both days was enjoyable as well. I had eggs benedict the first morning and french toast the second morning. Breakfast was so filling that we did not need lunch either day we were there. The muffins are very good as well. We enjoyed watching the deer play in the field next to the house and my husband made quick friends with the dog Samantha. There are also Llamas on the premises. The view is awesome. I could have sat on the deck and stared out at the countryside forever. I have a very stressful job and this is just the getaway I needed. My husband and I both agree that we will stay here again. It is so convenient to everything in the area, especially LBJ Ranch and Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILuvtotravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Manager at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you so much for choosing Rose Hill Manor and for your wonderful comments! We are
truly delighted that your stay brought you the rest you needed. On behalf of Patti and Bob, Samantha-dog, and all the staff of Rose Hill Manor, please know that it means so much. We will be looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Dianne Smith & Adam Ehmer, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
21.8 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
853 reviews
21.6 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
893 reviews
21.8 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
59 reviews
7.2 km away
Vineyard Trail Cottages
Vineyard Trail Cottages
#7 of 29 in Fredericksburg
23 reviews
21.3 km away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 82 in Fredericksburg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Region: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price Range: ₹ 10,097 - ₹ 16,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing