We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 29 May 2017

My husband and I came down for Memorial Day weekend. I was afraid it would be very crowded, noisy and rushed. It was not. We were both very pleased with our stay. Everyone was extremely helpful and very nice, the room was clean and very well insulated. Saturday night people were partying at the pool but we didn't hear them. I really loved sitting out side on our balcony and enjoying the view. Everything is kept very clean and there is plenty of room to play in the pool or on the beach. The onsite restaurant is wonderful. We ate both breakfast and dinner there both nights. Staff was so nice. It was nice and quiet inside and we were able to have a conversation without raising our voices which has become the norm for so many restaurants.

Room Tip: The upper floors are best, less pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thankyou for your review, Hope to see you soon at our resort.

:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

I stayed here Easter weekend, which I know everything was pricy for the holiday, but this place is not what it seems. When I made my reservation I said, 6 adults 4 kids they recommend me the double "queens" and pull out sofa.
The day of arrival I check in and they let me know that "only 4 adults can stay in my room the other 2 would need to pay $25 each to have a wrist band." I pleasantly over looked that, and was like okay I'll have them stay elsewhere. (luckily not all my guests showed)
Get to room, the door entry was broken and if you would push hard enough it would open without the key.
The room didn't have queen beds, they where 2 Full beds and the pullout was a twin.
Went down to pool area someone took my towels, went to the lobby to get new ones & staff stated," I needed to return my old ones if not I would be charged $30 each towel " they reluctantly gave me towels.
One towel was dirty with make up, I suppose.
Misplaced my key $5 for a new one. I was so worried I was going to be charged for everything. I washed my own dishes and threw out my own trash.
I was just ready to have it over with and happy with time I spent with my friends and family.
When I check my bank statement and BAM! I had a $15 charged for a hand towel that was "heavily soiled", I used to wipe down the counter top and table.
Their Bellhop carts are made out of cheap PVC pipe. They aren't even sturdy.
I called to try to resolve my issues with the main manger ,who left me on the phone for 1 hour and 18 minutes, never resolved my problems.
Staff is not attentive and really not helpful. The only thing that helped me get through this trip was their AWESOME bartenders ( so friendly) and the way they made their drinks!!! The $250 one night stay I would have much rather bought a tent and slept on the beach!
I SAY , SAVE YOUR MONEY,LOOK ELSEWHERE!

Stayed: April 2017
3  Thank Jacklyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Sorry to hear that your stay wasn't at your satisfaction. Thankyou for your comments, we are using them to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

If your only condition for booking is a place on the beach with a good swimming pool, Peninsula Island is for you. However, if you are looking for a place with clean, comfortable, well maintained rooms, RUN AWAY! This place has seen one too many spring breakers, which may explain why the mattresses were wrapped in plastic!!! Sleeping on plastic is not comfortable and the bedding was stained. Between the bedding, the beeping stove, and the late night parties, a good night's sleep is nearly impossible. (Their solution to the beeping stove was to disconnect the breaker.) The appliances were rusted and the bathroom door had to be a holdover from the 1970's.

Room Tip: Forget it - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Sorry to hear that your stay wasn't at your satisfaction. We are working to improve things around here. Thankyou for your comments, it really helps to have feedback from our guest.

Have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

this has become our winter home and we will be going back in 2018, for year eight. I think this speaks for how we feel. great place, great owners, great staff and great friends. they are always making improvements and we cannot wait to see what new things will be added next winter.

Room Tip: any room is within the best beach access on the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Arlan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thankyou Mr Hanson, for your post.

We will be waiting for you next winter.

Enjoy it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I really think it's a 1 1/2 star, but they don't have it.
For the price we paid I would have expected a LOT more. Our door to our place needed to be slammed shut to close it. We had an incredible view of the roof of the restaurant/bar. The place has a smell to it (and it's not from the sea air). We only got to get 4 towels replaced (we paid for 6 people to stay). There are MANY areas that needs maintenance (broken lights, patio furniture, bathroom door warped, cheap furniture in place, etc.). I would have expected to pay 1/3 the price for the condition and decor from this place. The only way I would come back is if it was a screaming good deal. Oh, well the beach was near and fun. Pool was nice to go to the warm area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesleyAbbott, Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfy with your stay. We do thank you for your review, these help us to work on the main issues that you were concerned about.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to come and see our improvements.

Have a great day, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,626 reviews
5.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,615 reviews
3.7 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,343 reviews
0.4 km away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
530 reviews
1.2 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: ₹ 4,626 - ₹ 28,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing