We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed this time....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I had been to this hotel before and loved it!! The restaurant and location(right on beach) were awesome!! However, I was disappointed this time around. It seems they allowed the maximum occupancy to be surpassed- the room next door was very noisy and no management on site to complain to and the refrigerator was not working. I will think twice about this place next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jac5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We always appreciate guests letting us know when we could have done a better job. Our guest did let us know that the freezer in her room wasn't working (it had frozen over during her stay). We were completely sold out, so we couldn't move her to another room. We offered to defrost the unit (since she was going to be in the room two nights), but she said she just needed ice. We gave her a 10# bag of ice and told her we would give her more if she needed it. As soon as she checked out the following day, we defrosted the freezer and it's working fine.

Unfortunately, with regard to the noise in the room next door, this is the first we've heard of it. We do have 24 hr coverage. All guests receive our 24 hr/day phone number to call if there are any issues (the number is also posted in all guest rooms). Had we known about the problem, it would have been taken care of within minutes (our night manager is just down the street).

I know we disappointed our guest this time, and for that we are very sorry. In this case, we thought she was satisfied with the solution for her freezer, and had we known about the noise we would have corrected the problem immediately. I hope she will come back and give us another chance to delight her with a great beach-side hotel experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    57
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
92
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms. The bathroom has a nice big walk in shower. The queen room sleeps two adults and one child, the pull out is just big enough for a child. It's got a mini kitchen in it with a sink, fridge and microwave. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was very good. The burger was big and juicy and my husbands seafood platter was delicious. We will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haydee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of the few remaining small hotels on the Island, right on the beach! GREAT Restaurant with a menu to please everyone in the group. The crab, hamburgers, salad, pancakes were amazing. It is so nice to sit and look at the ocean while dining on delicious food with a cozy atmosphere. Whether you stay here or just go have a meal you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

***Book It***!!! The hotel ROCKS!!! On the beach.. With a great cafe that serves Good Food and Good Drinks!!! Close and. Convenient to Everything!! The rooms are nice and clean and ALL the employees and service was Exactly what you expect to have a Great vacation!!!! We will be going back hopefully SOON!! Janet is the manager and she ROCKS!!! Love this place!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TATTOO1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had discovered this boutique hotel accidentally a few months ago whie spending a day at the beach. We wandered up the path for mid-day drinks, liked the atmosphere, we ate there tht night. Last week, I called to see f there was room or a couple of days to celebrate our 30th anniversary ahead of time. I was excited to find out there was room..number 212. We went, champagne was there (complementary) . That was a nice touch and especially since neither of us like dry stuff, we pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The place is very clean and comfortable. We are thinking about renting a whole week soon. We are told the rices will go up considerably but we think it is worth it. Living just 70 miles away all these years, we ave sent many nights in various places but this was the best. So comfortable, so convenient and not a big chain.

Next time we will bring a rug to catch the sand at the door and some foodstuffs because we can't rationalize spending that much on food for every mel..not on teacher salaries..ha. Thanks for having a lite kitchen area.

Room Tip: Just bring a rug to catch the sand at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
3.2 km away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.4 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 km away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 3616 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Palms Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing