We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes all the fun out of our time away”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We started out with one room and because there was no water coming from the shower we stayed in another room. There were 2 thin towels in the first room and 2 thin pillows. The pillows were so flimsy you could barely tell they were pillows. There is soap and nothing else. So bring your own shampoo. The rooms were both in horrific condition. Mold all over the walls. The bathrooms didn't seem like they had ever been mopped. The second shower only allows you to run hot water or cold water, no in between. There was a coffee pot in the second room, none in the first. It had no filters and no cups. The ,maintanance man there told us they are going to update the rooms and he was busy updating the rails on the deck. The people who work there are very nice and it's sad they have to work in such a mess. .

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FortWorthNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Comfortable room, could use a little bit better bed, but loved the beach view and the snack bar. Very reasonable for beach front!!! Pet friendly also! 2nd year to stay there and will be back next year!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank viccon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

The Bar and Grill made this place ! And the bartender Jamie made me the most awesome drink I had to have a few more lol. And she ask me what kinda music I liked and played my Pandora Station at the bar it was awesome. The motel was ok only real issue I had was we had 4 people and they wouldn't give us more then one extra towel lol but we made it work. Overall the place is awsome right on the beach and after the beach the kids can swim in pool while you relax and have a drink at the bar ! Will definitely go again but ima pack more towels lol

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Staff wouldn't provide any more than 2 towels (it was policy) and didn't have hand towels and couldn't give us wash cloths because we didn't have any to exchange (it was policy). The door and baseboards were rotting and bugs crawled in from under it. Earlier in the year we booked the hotel for a week but checked out after the first night. Staff refused to refund any of the money (it was policy) because we slept there. Very poor business, no customer service, worst experience we've ever had on a vacation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 596pamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This place was dirty! Beds, floors, bathroom were nasty! They only gave one towel to use which looked dirty. The floors were full of sand and dirt. I saw a broken glass on the balcony which was there for as long as I stayed. Will never stay there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Noe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.4 km away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
2.8 km away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
251 reviews
2.2 km away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
242 reviews
3.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
711 reviews
0.8 km away
The Inn at South Padre
The Inn at South Padre
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: ₹ 3,590 - ₹ 9,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing