We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Resort(South Padre Island)
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(South Padre Island)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 74
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Inn & Suites(South Padre Island)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 121
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 216
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
US$ 151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Grand Beach Resort(South Padre Island)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Flamingo Inn(South Padre Island)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
6
16
7
10
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
16
7
10
29
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I stayed at this motel from Saturday March 7th, through. March 10th 2015.
Check in was ok, the girl behind the counter was very nice. My original room was 107, i open the door and the most horrific smell slaps me in the face, i went to use the room phone but it was ripped from the wall including the connection box, and thrown into a drawer, so i walked back and told her she and i went back to the room and i told her this was not satisfactory at all, it was filthy things were broken, i kept gagging from the smell and she gave me room 199, well... It did stink but at least i was no longer gagging..yet, the kitchen entry way is extremely narrow and i am a size 3 and i had to turn slightly sideways to avoid hitting my shoulders, the walkway behind the counter was the same i was tripping alot, one butterknife and one spoon, one cup 3 plates a deztroyed pot and nassty skillet..it is NOT fully furnished kitchen. Bathroom.. Wow..ok first of all i am still debating a lawsuit over the bathroom..but heres the deal, you step up to get in the bathroom, which in itself is not that big of a deal, but combined with the fact that the door sticks shut at the slightest pressure ans when i finally got it open it wouldnt open all the way because the bathroom sink was stopping it, so u have to keep that in mind or it can be painful.. Very very small bathroom, you have to stand by the toilet to be able to shut the door, (and pray you can get out) the shower is disgusting, for a shower drain the chopped up the tile in the floor, it is sharp and you will get hurt if you dont pay attention, the washrags and towels had stains all over them, the sheets did not smell clean, the pillows are completly flat.. The blinds on the windows were torn up really bad with open places for people outside could see in my room, no curtains and it was so bright in my room i couldnt sleep, there is no phone in the room, no alarm clock, no coffee, one tiny bar of soap in bathroom, i opened the cabinets throughout all were gross, the undersink in the bathroom was full of black mold.. Now i have became concerned, i started looking more, there is black mold up near the ceiling, black mold in the air conditioners ( this room has two,one is broken and they were too lazyto take itout so tbey left it and stuck on in a window,both full of mold) i moved the beds, floors were filthy, i moved the couch, and found food... FOOD !! can you say " ewww"? So i took out my camera on my phone and took pictures, the refrigerator will tip over if you dont , hold onto it when you open the door. I tried to find another room on the island within budget but was stuck where i was, if i could have left i would have ran ! I dont mind a room being a little run down, but filth is not what i pay for, i drive 14 hours when i have to make the trip, i expect CLEAN ! The icemaker is right out side the door or the room, and you know when u put your cell on vibe ..well for the first 30 minutes i was hunting for what i thought was someones lost cell, and then i discovered it was the ice maker vibrating on the floor outside ever minute or two.. Great by the way it will drive u crazy, and when the ice falls into the catcher it will scare you, lol.. Roaches, this place was a nightmare , i could keep llisting things, but im sure this gives you and idea.. Oh the reason im debating a lawsuit it because the bathroom door jams at the slightest close and i became a prisoner, i have a severely injured arm and It is unusable at this time, so im standing by the toilet, because thats the only place u can stand to open the door, but the door is to my right side and im having to use my right arm to open a stuck door which open torwards the shower , so it was difficult, door should open out, not in... Anyway im pulling and yelling and starting to freak out after awhile, and Everytime i pulled the door it did a spring board type thing, because it was the bottom half of the door that would not let go, i bruised my hand all up and am missing skin... ive got a massive bruise on my hip where the door slammed in into me when i finally got it to open...no way will iever even thinkabout suggesting someone stay here, im turning them in for health violations, the bar area was nice, couldnt enjoy it after hours because of pot smokers , Im including pictures.

Room Tip: Best advice.. Skip this place, and dont stay at americas best inn and suites in san benito either
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfmotelpadre, Front Office Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for all the issues that occured during your stay with us. We were very pleased to accomodate your requests that you made while staying here and would like to thank you for bringing all your concerns to our attention. We would also like to ensure you that we have taken the proper measures to correct most of your complaints in hopes that you might give us a second chance if you do come back to South Padre Island.
We are an older motel and stay true to the beach concept but we are also in the process of upgrading most things here at the motel. In regards to your time of visit (and its no excuse for our lack of attention) it was during spring break and things do tend to get a little rambunctious around here, especially because of our rates.
Again, our sincerest apologies for your most unpleaseant experience!! We hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

Pulled into the Surf Motel, first of all no parking!! You have to wait until someone leaves to park, when we finally got to the office which was a tiny little space that was dark and smelling, we asked the girl behind the counter if they had any rooms, th girl stated all we have is a condo, I asked her if the room was clean and ready and if we could see it before we paid, she said it was ready but here's the address and the key just leave your I.d so we went looking for it, it wasn't that far, still a walk to the beach, we pulled into the drive way and noticed a trash can outside with trash overflowing all over the driveway. Once we got inside we noticed a nasty smell, the place was a mess, we were guessing the people that had it last left and nobody came to clean. Once you walked into the bedroom we noticed the bed was broke, part of it was literary on the floor, the head board was broke and the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned before. This place was asking $69.99 for this room. Its sad because the beach is pretty but these nasty hotels, and motels around the Island just make it for a really bad experience if your on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendyjuanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We pulled into South Padre Island staring at all the high rises figuring there was no way we could afford to be on the beach and found this place. LOVED IT! The rooms weren't great but when you just want a place to sleep.....you can't beat it. The bar and grill with the tiki huts were awesome to have at your back door! We'll be back! Hopefully the high rises won't buy this place out because this is a one of a kind, one of the last Mom and Pop motels on the beach for normal people that don't want to shell out the $$ for all the fru fru frills that you really don't need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Infestation of roaches! In and outside the motel! Roaches were out side by the bar / restaurant area .... on top of the tables outside ....... A night the roaches were coming through underneath the door ...had to put towels on the floor to cover the cracks on the door and those damm things still came in ...The worst place ever ..don't try saving a buck $ by staying here it totally sucks!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Julio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This review is for the restaurant only. Attached to the motel is a beachfront restaurant/bar. We ordered carry-out a couple times as it was very convenient to the beach. The cheeseburgers and fries were hot and very well cooked. Just burgers and fries but delicious for what it was. Right on the beach - and get this - only $5, seemed like a bargain to us.

Room Tip: This place was great for hot convenient tasty burger and fries on the beach.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rvtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews