We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to crash”
Review of Desert Air Motel

Desert Air Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanderson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Air Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanderson
Reviewed 14 April 2016

You know, for what it is, this is a nice place to stay. It's clean, beds are comfortable and has tables, chairs and grill outside. We sit under the tree in the evening, have a cold one, grill some dead animals and tell lies. We'll be back next year for sure.

Stayed: April 2016
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2015

this is a great, clean, and affordable place to stay if you ever find yourself driving through the Sanderson Texas area. the rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. the staff is very friendly!! there is a nice picnic area in the court yard area of the motel, so you can BBQ or just hang out with family there. There is also a convenience store right across the street from the motel as well, for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PossumMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I was very happy with my stay at the Desert Air Motel. For $42/night, you can't beat the amenities - refrigerator, microwave, and TV. Plus it was clean. Last but not least, the staff was prompt and friendly. I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeremyo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We stayed here mid May for one night as we were passing through. We found the owners very friendly and the manager very jovial. They are recent owners of this motel and still learning the trade. The rooms are set back from the roadway and are very clean and tidy. The motel is of bye gone era and it shows in the room with it's pink tiled bathroom and some antique furniture. The bed is just right, the room has a fridge and microwave. There is free wifi but sometimes it can be finicky. This place is worth the overnight stop over especially for $42.90 with all taxes.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I reviewed this motel in Dec. 2012. I spent another night there in Dec. 2014. Earlier this year the owner was killed in a freak motorcycle accident, and the place has new owners. They too are very friendly and had no problem with my dog sleeping on the floor (no extra charge.) They have repainted the sign, and are doing some remodeling work, but otherwise the place is the same: a good, clean, restful place to lay your head down at the end of a day on the road, take a shower in the morning, and then head on down the long and very lonely road out of Sanderson.

Another reviewer who gave this motel one star claims she found the bedding under the bottom sheet to be filthy. I checked this with my bed, and found it clean as a whistle, as was the rest of the bedding. The room and bathroom were spotless, there were plenty of clean towels, some shampoo, soap bars. The TV worked. I slept like a log. The rate has gone up a tad since 2012. I paid for a single, one night, with tax $42.90. Still a fairly good deal.

Room Tip: You can vaguely hear conversation in adjoining rooms, so ask for a room with vacancies on either sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Desert Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Air Motel

Address: Highway 90 West, Sanderson, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Sanderson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sanderson
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing