We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
8
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
8
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015

this is a great, clean, and affordable place to stay if you ever find yourself driving through the Sanderson Texas area. the rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. the staff is very friendly!! there is a nice picnic area in the court yard area of the motel, so you can BBQ or just hang out with family there. There is also a convenience store right across the street from the motel as well, for snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PossumMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I was very happy with my stay at the Desert Air Motel. For $42/night, you can't beat the amenities - refrigerator, microwave, and TV. Plus it was clean. Last but not least, the staff was prompt and friendly. I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeremyo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We stayed here mid May for one night as we were passing through. We found the owners very friendly and the manager very jovial. They are recent owners of this motel and still learning the trade. The rooms are set back from the roadway and are very clean and tidy. The motel is of bye gone era and it shows in the room with it's pink tiled bathroom and some antique furniture. The bed is just right, the room has a fridge and microwave. There is free wifi but sometimes it can be finicky. This place is worth the overnight stop over especially for $42.90 with all taxes.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I reviewed this motel in Dec. 2012. I spent another night there in Dec. 2014. Earlier this year the owner was killed in a freak motorcycle accident, and the place has new owners. They too are very friendly and had no problem with my dog sleeping on the floor (no extra charge.) They have repainted the sign, and are doing some remodeling work, but otherwise the place is the same: a good, clean, restful place to lay your head down at the end of a day on the road, take a shower in the morning, and then head on down the long and very lonely road out of Sanderson.

Another reviewer who gave this motel one star claims she found the bedding under the bottom sheet to be filthy. I checked this with my bed, and found it clean as a whistle, as was the rest of the bedding. The room and bathroom were spotless, there were plenty of clean towels, some shampoo, soap bars. The TV worked. I slept like a log. The rate has gone up a tad since 2012. I paid for a single, one night, with tax $42.90. Still a fairly good deal.

Room Tip: You can vaguely hear conversation in adjoining rooms, so ask for a room with vacancies on either side if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Sadly, the previous owner of this hotel (the motorcycle enthusiast) died this summer in a traffic accident when a large oil barrel fell off a truck ahead of him and crushed him.

The new owners are pleasant people, but entirely new to the business of running a motel.

The property itself dates from the 1950s, and the furnishings are "older". It's not a fancy place. But, it is clean, and most of the rooms are well set back from the highway, therefore quiet.

Walls between the rooms are paper-thin, so when you check in, ask if it is possible to have an empty room on either side of you.

Room Tip: Ask to have the room on either side of you left empty, this for noise reduction.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews