We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a very nice motel with friendly office personel”
Review of Super 8 San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 San Marcos
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
weimar, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a very nice motel with friendly office personel”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

my wife and i were married 59 years march 26, 2010 and we try to make a small trip each year on our anniversary-------this year san marcos was our "honneymoon trip"which is all of 80 miles from our home and super 8 motel in san marcos was our "nesting ground" for 3 nights-----it could not have been any nicer as the room was clean and had everything we needed-----the people in the office were very helpful and nice---pamela even showed us how to make waffles for breakfast in their neat kitchen----go try it----you will like it!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    26
    25
    35
See reviews for
47
31
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I have no complaints about this hotel. It was clean, had a pleasant scent in the room. I slept like a log. Iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge & micro. I don't watch TV, but the teen with me seemed fine with it. Breakfast was cereals, bagels, danishes. A waffle iron was available, we didn't use it, but the other guests who I saw using it said it was great. For the $50 a night it cost, it certainly got the job done.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I've stayed at some nice Super 8s. And then there is this one. $90 per night in San Marcos in this hotel was a complete waste of money. The seals around the main door let in frigid air all night long. The heater worked well, but it was no match for the cold December air. Beds were firm and comfortable. TV and fridge were operational. Room was decently illuminated. Bathroom was obviously dated and not in the most sanitary condition. Coffee machine was disgusting. I don't think the water reservoir had ever been cleaned since it was purchased 5 years ago. Breakfast room was so small that it was either standing room only, or take your food to go. A day after checking out, I noticed several bedbug bites along my back and side.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Marcos hotels

Tyler, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Filthy, filthy, filthy. It appears to have been updated with a new coat of paint but the room had not been cleaned adequately in some time.
The AC unit did NOT cool the room in the 14 hours that we were there.
Questionable characters were "hanging out" on the second floor balcony drinking.
There is not enough parking, and the lot has only one enterance/exit.
The cheap price was not enough to overcome the stench, filth and discomfort.
Do yourself a favor and spend a little more.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyavka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisville tx
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Online reviews didn't look good, but we were getting desperate so we took a chance. I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom could use a little updating, but overall, I was impressed. Its quiet and nicely staffed.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank mjj197363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#17 of 32 in San Marcos
342 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western San Marcos
Best Western San Marcos
#10 of 32 in San Marcos
239 reviews
1.3 km away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Suites Near Texas State University
0.5 km away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
5.3 km away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 32 in San Marcos
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Marcos

Property: Super 8 San Marcos
Address: 1429 N Interstate 35, San Marcos, TX 78666-7219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in San Marcos
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,044 - ₹ 9,693
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Super Eight San Marcos
San Marcos Super Eight
San Marcos Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing