We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Mansion
Nearby Hotels
US$ 83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 74
US$ 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Forest Inn(Belton)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 94
US$ 92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
49
8
2
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
8
2
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housethe inn keeperupstairs loftsummer kitchenbaked cookiesmy favoriteb b'swonderful bed and breakfasta great place to staywonderful weekendeach morningkaycabinhostesshistorygroundsalamo
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2009

4 couples and us take a trip each year and stay in a bed & breakfast. We all stayed at the Rose Mansion the Friday and Saturday night after Thanksgiving of 2008. This was not a place I would recommend to anyone. The rooms although rustic (two couples stayed in the main house and the other 3 stayed in the Chester House) were dirty and the bedding was very worn. The towels were dingy and the floors were not swept. None of us felt comfortable taking baths and setting in the tubs so we took showers. The breakfast was cold (two of us found a hair in our eggs) and it was not appetising in the least. We felt like it was under new management b/c one couple had stayed there before and said it was much better. We wrote them a note telling of our dissatisfaction but never heard from them. Also the rates were not as they were quoted on the brochure or website. We have stayed in some lovely places but this was not one of them.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank hawksofRockwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

I cannot comment on the quality of rooms here as we have not stayed here. We had reserved a room here and received a confirmation on a Friday for a very crowded weekend in Salado. Then at almost 9pm on Sunday night, I received an email, not even a phone call, saying that they were incorrect and the room that they confirmed on Friday was not available. Because of their error and two day wait to discover their error, we were unable to find another B&B in town to stay at and our trip to a certain extent was ruined by their poor service and amazing lack of professionalism. Just be forewarned that even if you get a confirmation, it's just words and may not stand.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Thank cmoore112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

I have just returned from a quick getaway to the Hill Country. On the way I spent a night in Salado at the Rose Mansion. I booked a room in the Main House and was quite happy with the accomodations. Very quite and relaxing in the beginning. I ended up leaving at 11:30 p.m. though do to very loud neighbors. Other than that the establishment is very quaint. I would recommend the outer buildings for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Prairie, Texas
11
Reviewed 16 June 2005

What a great place to stay. The hospitality was great, as was the food more than we could eat. We stayed in the Garrison cabin, it was like living with the Ingalls family, only with hot and cold running water. We would recommend the Rose Mansion to anyone looking for a trip back in time with all the conveniences of home.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mountain View, CA
413
Reviewed 3 October 2004

What a place! My husband and I were thrilled with Rose Mansion, with its beautiful old buildings and stunning grounds. Our room, the least expensive Travelers' Room, was small but clean and nicely decorated. We had no complaints about service and would certainly return if we visit the area again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews