We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lamb kabobs”

Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 479 Restaurants in Richardson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We are dinner, ordering from the menu, not the lunchtime buffet. Started with two kids of bread and hummus, which were good starters. Several ordered roasted chicken; several ordered lamb kabobs; and one ordered a gyro plate. Everyone seemed pleased with their food. Prompt, helpful service. About $20 per person, plus tip.

Thank CaliTexan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, General Manager at Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share a review for us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. It sounds like you all picked the best plates! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

We always plan a trip to this restaurant when in the Metroplex. Every dish we ordered was delicious: lamb kebabs, chicken kebabs (shish tawook), tabouli, eggplant dip (Baba Ghanouj), "golden chicken". We enjoyed it all. We have never been disappointed at Ali Baba. We highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NPBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, General Manager at Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share a wonderful and detailed review for us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed tour recent visit. It sounds like you ordered all the best items. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Delicious moussaka and gyro. Nice long grain rice. The moussaka is the biggest winner - there is a way to cook eggplant that makes it meltingly tender and delicious. Ali Baba did it! It's also a bit spicy, but not too much.
Portions are huge, enough for a couple of meals. The rice and moussaka are a little oilier than I'd prefer but I'd guess it's a good quality oil, because it doesn't taste greasy.
Watch out for google maps, although the marker is in the right place on the map, the map directions took me to the opposite side of a highway!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacobsen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, General Manager at Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Jacob-
Thanks for sharing a wonderful review for us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Thanks,
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Came here with high expectations since the folks on the radio raved about it. Truth be told...this was MUCH BETTER THAN I EVEN THOUGHT!!! I work in Dallas so this was a long drive but this was still well worth it!! Definitely come early or send someone ahead to wait for a table. IT WAS PACKED!!! The line was out the door and more people still coming. Everything I had from the buffet was amazing!! Pita, hummus, salads, MANY dips, rice, chicken, were truly AMAZING!! I didn't eat the lamb but my friends did and said it was top notch! The only thing we ate that we did not care for was the Rice Pudding. That tasted like perfume or flowers?? Buffet was $14 and worth every penny. I never saw a waiter, but it was packed. Not seeing staff didn't seem to change our experience. Drinks were also "self serve", which made it easier, but no one told me so I waited forever.

This is a MUST for anyone that likes Mediterranean. Will DEFINITELY BE BACK AGAIN!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stay717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, General Manager at Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share a review for us. The rice pudding does have Rose Water in it which throws some guests off. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

My husband has tried to replicate their recipe and after YEARS of trying he has gotten pretty close. He calls it SoulHummus because he put his soul into it. Lol anyways, AliBaba has an amazing buffet. It's a bit pricy but worth it.

Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, General Manager at Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share a great review. We appreciate your continued support! I did get a chuckle reading about SoulHummus! Ha! Thanks again!
-Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ali Baba Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing