We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropic Island Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Terrible stay, our medication was stolen. We tried to report it to the owner who then got very aggitated and said we were lying. He then, with all of his staff, retaliated and did not clean our rooms, empty trash or bring us fresh towels. He also made the experience very miserable because he started a confrontation every time we were near him calling us liars and being very rude. I would recommend staying somewhere else as this just happened in January 2012. Our only regret is not filing a police report.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyFishingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

This was an interesting incident. After they received room service for the first time, the guest informed us that various medications were so carefully removed from each of their pill containers. We explained, this must be a mistake, for you must have a key to enter the room. This lead to the accusations of our staff stealing from them. These medications, for one, are not favorable to anyone. After this, our housekeepers did not service their rooms, for they were afraid of being accused of stealing anything else from these guest. We did exchange their towels in the office. This incident must not have been as serious as they made it seem, because a report was never filed with the police as they told us they would proceed to do.
We are not responsible for any theft or loss of valuables of any kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is our second year staying here during the winter months. The resort is very clean. The restrooms and showers are clean and well kept. Everyone in the office is friendly and helpful. We always enjoy our stay here, and look forward to returning!!!! Thanks Ken and Linda, and staff for making this such an enjoyable place to stay!!!

David & Patti Simpkinson

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortstuff2657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The motel, kitchen suites, and RV park are clean and well-maintained. The clerk at the front desk was very friendly and gave us alot of helpful information on activities in the area. It is centrally located to all the shops and eating places. The swimming pool and hottub was clean. Kudos to the management. They greet you with a smile. This time we came without the rest of our family, but this place is great for everyone anytime of the year. We will be back.

Room Tip: The motel rooms 127-134 are extra big.Lots of room with the 2 queen beds. RV sites are big are easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your courteous review . Our staff here at Tropic Island strives to do the best they can, leaving our guest at ease. We have high standards staff must meet including cleanliness of rooms and entire facility, maintenance, landscaping, accommodations, and service. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us worry free as it should be and hope to see you again! Your review is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This place shows pride in workmanship and love of job were evident. Staff appear to enjoy their job, so service is given with a smile and enthusiasm. The weekly "Meet and Greet" is warm, friend. Don't miss it if you are lucky enough to be around when scheduled. We had problems with our on-going travel plans, they facilitated a solution, service way beyond expectations. Management of this hotel is excellent, cleanliness is impeccable. Loved the swimming pool and appreciated the "do-it-yourself" laundry. We made a return trip in March, friends and relatives have been given a detailed review and advised to stay here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicislandresort, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about our property and our great staff. We do our best to accommodate you, allowing you to relax and make the best out of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
2.6 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
1.9 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
362 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#16 of 20 in Port Aransas
169 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4218
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: ₹ 3,663 - ₹ 12,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing